We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever, whenever and very very cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Whatever, whenever and very very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just enjoyed a wonderful four night stay with a girlfriend as a quick getaway. Arrived at 6pm - just in time for sunset tunes, day beds and probably the coolest beachside vibe you could imagine. A DJ mixing uber trendy lounge music at a huge W with the sun setting behind. Yippee, holidays have begun! Room was terrific- we had an ocean front twin - great bathroom accessories and all the trimmings. The ocean is noisy though - not much you can do about that :) Breakfast was included and the service and food fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble during the entire stay. Classy and upmarket throughout ... lots of beautiful creatures and very few children- which suited us perfectly but if you were holiday making with kids you might feel conspicuous- and a little anxious. Such an oasis after chaotic shopping in Seminyak. Loved every minute and counting the days until the next trip to the W.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello Joanne B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali experience and found the time to enjoy our restaurants and bars with your friends.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    373
    121
    57
    33
See reviews for
311
893
86
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

If your looking for a cool relaxing day out with friends and family then this is the place to be.

A fun clean atmosphere where 3 huge pools will provide hours of fun!

Many restaurant to choose from mean a great variety of flavours. Sunday usually provides a buffet lunch like no other.

Prices are average to high for Bali standards but definitely worth it

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Matty T,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali epxerience and enjoyed the perfect way to spend a Sunday with brunch and relaxing moments at WET.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent a week in this fab hotel and were delighted, mostly with their great, friendly staff and excellent service. Beautiful hotel, nice pool, a lot of green, great view of the sea (first row to the ocean), great pool service (snacks and cocktails), nothing better than chilling at the pool, looking at the ocean and drinking a cocktail. Just great for relaxing. Also spacious and nice bedrooms, great room service, delicious breakfast with variety of food... I'm trying to think of something bad; maybe the fact that you can't have your breakfast in room without additional charge, but even that is ok.... My favorite in Bali.

Room Tip: I always prefer rooms that are at the end of the hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello tami09,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali experience and found the time to enjoy all aspects of our retreat including the vast range of culinary delights on offer during breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The W Retreat is very highly regarded in Bali, and I can see why.
From the main street of Seminyak, you enter a beautiful bamboo driveway and feel instantly separated from the street, even though you are no more than $3 USD taxi away from anything in Seminyak. The architecture is most interesting, a little 60's modern, paired with the typically Rockwell designed W vibe. We stayed at the main building so cannot comment on the villas. From what I can tell, they seem quite far and might require a buggy to bring you to the main building, where everything else is.
We were in a ocean facing guest room which was beautifully appointed, all tricked out with ipod docking station, free wifi, glass shower, free standing tub, etc. It was a little annoying that the toilet itself was also behind glass, which made using it a little, well, uncomfortable. Also of note is that since the W has a party vibe, the music from the Woo bar is pumping well past 11:00 p.m. So, if you have an ocean facing room and have children, you are not in luck.
The staff was most helpful. Even in high season most of them remembered us by name. Service is wonderful, although perhaps just a small tad less gracious than some of the other Balinese experiences we had, if we were to be super duper picky. The hotel is super cool and certainly has all the works in place.
The resort itself is beautifully designed, with large multi-level pool, cabanas, three restaurants (I think), and lots of rocking spaces, if you like that sort of thing. The beach is pretty and quiet, but not swimmable because of the surf. All in all we were happy with it, but imagine it is more suitable for a younger crowd without children.

Room Tip: Beware of noise on ocean facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello NYCJenny,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighed to hear that you enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali experience and found the time to enjoy our restaurants and venues.

We do look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Bali for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This place is really lovely, the rooms are really special, well more so that bathrooms... we were luck enough to be on the top floor and had a retracting blind on a glass bathroom ceiling so was great to have the sun streaming in. Double vanity and powder table as well. The room was a good size, enough for two people. The resort grounds were beautifully manicured and the pool area kept very tidy. The pool staff were so lovely (although the kitchen could be pretty slow) and happy to help you out with what you needed. Although the general staff were nice and helpful, I would put the standard a little below 5 star. Would recommend for a relaxing kid-free stay. Walking distance to main Seminyak area

Room Tip: higher up to get a open ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello sydcarnie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted the hear that you enjoyed your W experience and found time to enjoy our restaurants and bars whilst staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you love a quick holiday in Bali then the W Retreat will make it a good one. We have stayed in many hotels and villas around Seminyak and rate this the best around.

I cannot comment on the villas as we did not stay in them however the main complex, restaurants, bars and the pool are 5 star. You could stay here for 3 nights and not leave the retreat, although you should get out to some of the local bars/restaurants which are amazing.

It is in true W style - colourful, chill out and dance music, great staff and expect to arrive with their custom chill out sound track playing in your room.Yes it steps away from balianese style but I love this (go out to the street if this is what you are after) - it gives it a great edge and has stepped up the accommodation mark in Seminyak.

Rooms are very clean and spacious and have amazing sea views (if you choose this option for +$). These rooms have great size balconies also.

It is at the higher end of pricing for the area and drinks, food and treatments are priced at this end but any of the high end cocktail bars and restaurants near by will be priced the same or higher.

You feel safe here and while the staff don't crowd you, they will assist whenever you need.

Tip: if you like shisha, W has the famous Meduse pipes offering cocktail shisha which is amazing - they have a dedicated team of staff just to look after this.

If you don't stay here when you will go past and be jealous you didn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and go for the ocean view - worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Jamie S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is helpful to gain such insight from our guests to continue to improve on our service culture.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W experience and found time to sample the culinary delights on offer within our Restaurants and Bars.

We do look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had booked a one bedroom villa with pool.
First of all, check in time was 3 PM and we got the room at 4PM, although we had requested an early check in.
The first room had a dirty pool, empty water bottles, spider webs and dirty cuscions all over the place.
We called the manager on duty and he moved us to another villa, whose status was pretty much the same as the first one.
Then we were upgraded to a WOW suite and offered a complimentary dinner, which was very kind and professional by the manager.
The hotel itself is beautiful and there are really a lot if people working in there, however it is not well kept, is somehow cleaned just on the surface, and not deeply as it should be.
After visiting many W hotels, I'm always more under the impression that what you really pay is the name, as these hotels are never so "wow" after all...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello DalilaMariaCarolina,

Thank you for sharing we take the feedback of our guests seriously and we value your points made we are always looking for ways to improve on our guests’ experiences. I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant heads of department to ensure that the highest level standards of service are maintained at all times.

We do hope you will choose to return to W Retreat & Spa Bali and depart having felt the wow factor. Do reach out to me upon your next visit so I can personally oversee your booking.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.