We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the W standard, but nice manager” 2 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE UP TO 50%
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Naples, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not up to the W standard, but nice manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had booked a one bedroom villa with pool.
First of all, check in time was 3 PM and we got the room at 4PM, although we had requested an early check in.
The first room had a dirty pool, empty water bottles, spider webs and dirty cuscions all over the place.
We called the manager on duty and he moved us to another villa, whose status was pretty much the same as the first one.
Then we were upgraded to a WOW suite and offered a complimentary dinner, which was very kind and professional by the manager.
The hotel itself is beautiful and there are really a lot if people working in there, however it is not well kept, is somehow cleaned just on the surface, and not deeply as it should be.
After visiting many W hotels, I'm always more under the impression that what you really pay is the name, as these hotels are never so "wow" after all...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello DalilaMariaCarolina,

Thank you for sharing we take the feedback of our guests seriously and we value your points made we are always looking for ways to improve on our guests’ experiences. I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant heads of department to ensure that the highest level standards of service are maintained at all times.

We do hope you will choose to return to W Retreat & Spa Bali and depart having felt the wow factor. Do reach out to me upon your next visit so I can personally oversee your booking.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    331
    110
    52
    32
See reviews for
274
804
74
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This review is based on our very recent 11 night stay at the resort. This is my third stay at Bali in this area and the "benchmark" is other five star hotels in the area such as the Oberoi, The Legian and Four Seasons.

The resort is new and the design is modern and elegant. evrything is clean and tidy, but there is no Balinese charm. Interior designs are more modern-European (neon light lit up bars, etc) than the more traditional upscale hotels. This is a matter of taste, of course, but it comes across as "wanna be hip" more than stylish.

We sayed in a one bedroom villa which was fantastic. Nothinfg less. No flaws -- all perfect.

The music crancks up, Hotel Côstes / Cafe del mare style at 4 PM and will, for some be cool -- for others annoying, in particular since the different resdtaurants / bars plays different music cathing you in the middle. Röyksopp for your right ear and some other lounge music from the other side.

Service is very good, but since the hotel is rarther large it also becomes impersonal. Staff are well trained and know what they are doing, but if you want true personalized service this is not the place for you. It feels, and is, impersonal and cannot be compared to smaller five star resorts in the area.

Dirnks and restaurant charges are resonable for a luxury resort. Wine prices are an issue in all of Indonesia, but in many hotels and restaurants they have thus not chosen to cranck up the already stiff prices on wine three to four the price at the wine dealers. So not the case with the W resort. Food is overall of high quality, in particular breakfast. I will rate the resort's restaurants in separate reviews. (Woo Bar, Fire and Starfish Boo restaurants.)

All in all: A great resort, but a bit lack of the charm found many other places.

A final note: the beach is great for adults, but cannot be used by children due to the strong currents and big waves. Flags were red all 11 days during our stay and hotel staff did not recommend swimming or bathing. The walking distance to other slightly calmer spots on the beach is relatively short and thus not a big issue unless travelling with young children.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Jan_in_Oslo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your W Bali experience and found time to enjoy all aspects of our retreat. We do ensure that the volume of Woo bar is kept to a minimum after 10pm to prevent noise complaints and that the events are moved in Woobase.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went on a Sunday evening to chill at WooBar! Beautiful setting, perfect for couple of drinks after hot sunny day! Perfect for couples, family and friends! Sunset view amazed me! You have to come early or book a table, full house all the time ;) will be back for sure!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello FreyaShaari,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you chose W Retreat & Spa Bali as your sunset destination and sampled the W mixology culture.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our next happening at Woobar.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

What an amazing experience. From the service at check in to the cocktails at WOO Bar watching the sunset before we head to the airport. Every moment at W Retreat is a memorable one.

Staff are courteous and cannot do enough to assist you whether it be for a drink or restaurant bookings. The rooms are amazing with plenty of room and mod-cons. The pool is perfect to sit back and escape the busy streets of Bali. Buffet breakfast is a feast for your palate!

Will definitely stay at W Retreat on my next trip to Bali. Yes, it is not cheap, but at least you are getting premium service and surrounds to enjoy an escape.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Mamoosyd,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W Retreat & Spa Bali experience and found the time to enjoy our restuarants and bars, including our indulgent breakfasts at FIRE.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more relaxing wow moments soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

You really can't fault this place. Edgy and funky layout, design focussed, fantastic food and service. Granted, food and drinks are at Australian prices, but it does seem worth it. Sunday Brunch is a set up like street hawkers on the grounds by the pool - a nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Lara H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W experience and found time to enjoy our restaurants and venues including our Sunday brunch Hawker house, a fantastixc way to spend a Sunday.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel itself is absolutely amazing. Incredible driveway, lovely reception area with free juice every day and stunning pool area. We stayed in a Garden View Suite which was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom/wetroom was brilliant. Excellent free DVD service as well.

There were one or two small issues. slight issue was how impersonal it all seemed. Whilst the service was superb, the staff couldn't do enough for you, it felt a little bit anonymous. We were on our honeymoon and the other hotels we stayed in had little touches ackowledging that. Our hotel in Singapore made towel swans in the shape of a heart and gave us some flowers and a bottle of wine. In the Gili Islands, we were given a handwritten letter saying congratulations, it doesn't always have to be something for free. Often the token is enough.

We were asked when we checked in if it was our honeymoon but it was completely forgotten after this.

I also wanted to do some laundry whilst we were there. I inquired but discovered it was $50USD to have one small bag washed. This is extortionate. I ended buying new clothes which worked out to be cheaper.

Overall, the stay was excellent, the two issues I had were minor to say the least. Just small things I think could be improved.

I would highly recommend staying at the W Hotel.

Room Tip: You don't need an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Dominic S,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am happy to hear that you chose W Bali as your honeymoon destination and to hear that you enjoyed the retreat. I am disappointed to hear that you did not receive the honeymoom amenities we do arrange for all guests, I will make sure our Director of rooms is aware of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We started our Bali trip with a 5 night stay at the W Retreat. I was initially concerned about taking our 6 year old daughter but she loved it!!!

We were lucky enough to have a Pool Villa, which was perfect for the 3 of us. Even though they throw some of the best parties, they are contained extremely well, and the villas are not effected.

The food was great, probably not the cheapest in Bali or even Seminyak but great. In the morning there were options for everyone....from the super healthy wheat grass shots, green juices and fresh fruit to the pancakes, french toast and cheese omelettes. The dinners in both restaurants also met expectation ... Crazy Crab Friday was tip top, as was the Wagyu steak at Fire. Good selection of wine and beers but the cocktails, mocktails and iced teas were delicious.

Common areas are as modern as you would expect and cover all the amenities, spa, pool, gym, seating areas, lounging areas, smoking areas etc... they all worked well. Especially for the sunset, which was very special....seriously good sunsets!

The pool is great and has enough beds and gazebos for everyone. The beach is okay but high tide can be dangerous for little ones but as Bali is the Surfung Nirvana I assume the same of most beaches.

The staff were well trained, attentive and very helpful. Which must be a credit to the management...especially Daniel Pasquali and his colleague (who I sadly cannot recall his name) who gave us a brilliant start to our trip.

Have fun at the W Retreat .... We Did!!!!

AOB .... if you are not surfing mad, a trip to Ubud is a must and I would suggest the Viceroy.

Room Tip: Pool Villas are great. Good to get one close enough to walk to main hotel....not that anything is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Kevin H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W Bali experience and found the time to enjoy all aspects of the retreat including our restaurants and bars. I will pass your thanks onto Daniel and our talent, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.