We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECIAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Save Saved
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE 20% ON RETREATS
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Seminyak
toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SPECIAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent the last 4 nights in a pool villa for 2 fabulous room every last member of the staff has a smile on their face while providing excellent service

Food in both dining rooms great

My wife was ripped off by one of their taxi drivers but not the hotels fault 50 vs 5 dollars for 3 kms

Our only complaint . Who was the idiot who designed the pathways to the villa rooms. The cobblestone pavement so uneven difficult to walk even in running shoes. my wife wore heels had to walk barefoot on the grass along side. Desk said they would shuttle but it's only a 50 yd walk.

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and this is easily one of the best ever

Room Tip: 1 bedroom pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    313
    103
    46
    28
See reviews for
259
747
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

it was a nice hotel, access to the beach, the buggy was friendly. the hotel reception was friendly and always there when you call.
the service was excellent.

but I need to agree that the hotel has lost its Bali feel, its too modern. the interior the uniform it's all too modern and makes you feel that you are not in Bali. It feels like sanya.
The full resort was actually so crowded, full of young teenager ordering beer and sat for hours smoking, wannabes who wanted to be seen.

the room? you dont ask, they have anything there, beside a plate and cutlers. and for a villa, I really wish they should have it. the room service was slow, s l o o w, really slow. and I don't ask why because the hotel was so crowded.

but comparing W to samaya and many hotel along the area, I still prefer samaya. they have that Bali feel, for a tourist like me who want to feel different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed at W Bali for 5 nights.
Great rooms. Big & spacious.
Comfortable beds. Amazing wet room. Lots of cupboard space.
But no real sense of Bali in the design anywhere ...

Service was excellent as well throughout most of the hotel ... comes down to the great Bali hospitality and the lovely infectious smile. (a small note to mgt ... check in experience could have been a lot more informative ... we could have been told what facilities the hotel had to offer, breakfast or dining info and where everything was)

Food and Beverage. Was only above average. Expected a lot more from this brand.
My main disappointment came from the lack of healthy eating options throughout.
Poolside menu was burgers, pizzas and fried foods. Trying to find a healthy salad was hard.
Bloo always made us feel uncomfortable. Especially on the first day when we tried to have breakfast there and was told this was only for villa guests. For the amount of money we paid we should have been able to eat wherever we wished! (whats with the segregation!?!?!)
... Saying that the breakfast overall was pretty good. As was the afternoon tea in the lobby ... fun!

The WooBar was never really full ... not sure what the issue is here (especially with Potato Head next door & KuDaTa both packed, esp during sunset hours) ... its a great space but lacks a real vibe.

Lastly. The sound.
Every outlet seemed to have different music playing and this at most times crossed over throughout the hotel. I think the hotel needs to look at its sound strategy.

All said.
It was a pretty good experience. Just missing some of the finer touches one comes to expect with the W brand .. last comment ... there was an extremely high percentage of young families at the resort ... some people may find this a plus or a minus.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean View top floor ... fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Generally very good weekend stay here at the The W Seminyak. Agreed the first thing you say on arrival is WOW and WONDERFUL. The resort has been designed superbly well with real eye and attention to detail. Probably not the most peaceful of resorts - lots of loud lounge/clubbing music pumping around the whole resort. We had a pool suite villa. Large, spacious, greeted by blaring music which after about 5 minutes we worked out how to turn it down and off! The pool was very cold for most of the weekend and was underused by us. Room service and wine selection was very good. Staff a little over-bearing at times. Breakfast at Star Fish Bloo was a bit underwhelming with not a huge range on offer in the buffet, a la carte options were a tad tasteless, nonetheless, views overlooking the beach into the incredible waves and surf was pleasant! The website mentioned, as the staff at villa check-in did upon arrival, that, if and where possible, late check-outs of no additional cost until 4pm could be granted, which would have been ideal for us as we had a later flight... We asked several times and quoted and directed staff to the website regarding this, I think in total, it took five phone calls to struggle to negotiate only a 2pm check-out. Staff claimed no knowledge of offering a 4pm check-out. This was disappointing, even if we had been told, that no, there is no availability to extend to 4pm due to the next occupancy. Staff clearly unaware of the product and website knowledge. 2 for 1 cocktails at the icebar on Saturday evening - staff had to be asked and reminded about this, they then brought out a significantly reduced cocktail/drinks menu for the offer. Complimentary tapas was also meant to be included in the deal. We were there at 6:30pm, we were told it had run out and that the offer ended at 7pm. There was still 30 minutes... Hmm! The Spa is beautiful and possibly had the best treatments in Asia in a number of years here. Concierge for luggage reasonably helpful, although did create confusion when he was told that we DID have an airport transfer booked and it was due at 5:45pm, instead he wanted to go and book one for us... The usual lost in translation, part understanding/listening in countries like this. Hotel location is good - Seminyak has a lot of nice boutiques - clothing and furniture, along with what appears to be a nice range of restaurants. We also took a trip out to the Bvlgari resort for lunch which was stunning, very peaceful, resident monkeys (!) and stunning beach/cliff views. Bali - not sure we'd return... Traffic makes it difficult to get anywhere in the island, service can be a bit over-bearing and over-eager to please at times. The airport is, at best, functional and wouldn't like to see it at full capacity! Long queues at gate security. Pleased to see they are building a new one, as they certainly need it!

Room Tip: Villas are peaceful and quiet. Rooms in the main part of the hotel would definitely be disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went to bali to learn to surf (kuta, odyssey surf school) and I choose w hotel.
The hotel is recently renovated in a very modern style and everything is quality made.
The service is beyond imagination, but not in a saint regis style, posh and formal. On the contrary is very cheerful and friendly.In the breakfast they will prepare whatever you like, just ask for or describe it.
The big surprise was the music: the hotel has at least 5 different DJs playing every day(depending on the site and the time of the day different style) and when there is a party even more. House music at its best!
The sushi restaurant is probably the best on the island and the fire restaurant is also very good.
The gym is just state of the art either for traditional training or functional (boshu, life fitness functional tower with chin up, boxing bag, medicine balls).
The rooms are very spacious and the design is fantastic.
Ask for a Balinese massage (around 60 Euro, one hour) an experience at the spa , but for 4 Euro you can have one outside the hotel.
Don't expect to swim in front of the hotel, only surfing because of the currents and the waves.
Overall, if you are young or feel young DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Room Tip: Don't take the back rooms. they have an ugly vista, a semi finished cement building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at the W last week, my second visit to this hotel - this is the only hotel i would stay at when staying in Seminyak.! What i love about this hotel is:

1. You do not need to take, toothpaste, body wash, sunscreen, mozzie spray, any toiletry you can think of, everything is supplied to you !!!!
2. Breakfast is amazing
3. the location is perfect
4. LOVE the pool area
5. The gym is perfect and clean
6. Service is good
7. Food is good

I love this hotel :-)

p.s we were upgraded to a ocean view room, it had amazing views of the hotel and ocean! Highly recommend this room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family of two adults and two kids (9,4) visiting the W hotel in August. We are writing this review while lounging at the most comfortable round sofa by the pool. It's simply heavenly here.
As others already mentioned, the beach is not that great. Huge waves, dark sand and dogs running around. It is great though for walking around or jogging.
So far the food at the hotel was amazing. The breakfast offered many choices that suited westerners and Asians. The coffee was excellent, which is so important to me, and the quality and presentation of the food is very good. We checked in to a garden view room, but decided to upgrade to an ocean view as there was some unsightly construction visible. The ocean view room is amazing - modern, large, and a great view from the balcony. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.