We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the ambience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE UP TO 50%
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

You cant expect a Balinese decoration here. Everything is so modern, art deco and cozy. Love the beach and the swimming pool, where we can watch the sun set. The breakfast was great and so was the service. Kudos!

Room Tip: Pool view would be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hello mommyjared,

Thank you for your post. I am glad to hear that even though our design is modern you still found it very cozy.

Hopefully we can welcome you back sooner than later since you are just in Jakarta.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    332
    110
    52
    32
See reviews for
274
806
74
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited the W Hotel in December for a site inspection to bring a group booking, I stayed 2 nights and was very impressed by the branding and feel of the hotel. It's modern, trendy and very 'cool' - the type of place you would go to be seen. It's not your traditional Bali feel, I would recommend for people who like luxury with a fun, playful feel.

The rooms are great, fresh, immaculate and all the mod cons you need, the pool area is the feature and is a great size, making you feel like there are not a lot of people even though it was high occupancy. The spa - perfect - and love the 24/7 hours! Not cheap but it is the W so you get what you pay for.

Unfortunately though, there were a few disappointments, the Wifi through the hotel and in room is not stable and cuts in and out a lot, not convenient as I was on a work trip. The service was also a let down with a few different instances from various depatrments. Long waiting times in what was a very quiet dinner service and as I was there for site inspection, I got the feeling that the events team were too busy for me and not organized.

Other staff however were just excellent, went above and beyond to really make my stay so it was a mixed experience.

Overall though, I would recommend this hotel as it was great and I am just being very picky as I am looking for a large group event.

Room Tip: Ocean facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hi TravelBug_83Sydney,

Thank you for posting your review and considering W Bali as the destination for your group.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities even though you were here for work. Can you please contact me directly as to what your needs are for your group. We would be sincerely happy to have them here and I assure you our Events Team is top notch. gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com

Hopefully, you will get some time to play when you come back to W Bali!

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

It is impossible to enter nor to exit by foot to the hotel !! For the very simple reason, the access is very narrow, there is no space at all for pedestrians (and it would be extremely dangerous to do so, especially at night, not much light). And when you wait at the entrance for the buggy to the lobby, you have no place to wait securly and properly, and at same times, many cars enter the same path... Dangerous and annoying.

To our taste, the architectural design of the hotel is not "wow". Rather a nice standard modern building. The major complain: you could be anywhere in the world... it would be the same. Not a single local touch of Bali island... Not at all.

Even in the dress code of staff...

Rooms are excellent. Except the shower, where the water was not been evacuated rapidly...

Refuelling excellent.

Service a bit too invasive (american style?).

A key drawback: the pool is not deep at all !! Is it really a swimming pool or reserved for children only?

The beachclub is overcrowded with equipments.. We barely enjoy the sea view.

One major drawback: on the website, before the booking, why not mentionning clearly that the sea there is so rough that we can not swimm there!!!

Expensive & over prized spa, compared to Bali nice spas.

Fitness room is nice and well-equipped. No partular view (sea view would have been a wow here).

We choose W for party on Xmas eve, but the WooBar was nearly empty... Too bad, since the bar is georgeous, and well equipped.

Room Tip: Amazingly enough we found the rooms on the garden (with no sea view) better & quieter. At night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hello camok,

Thank you for you posting your review. It sounds like you were able to experience all our facilities and we appreciate all your feedback.

The design for our Retreat is not meant to portray traditional Bali, but does incorporate several aspects of this beautiful island, with W’s contemporary twist. In regards to the Talent’s wardrobe – this too is inspired by traditional Balinese dress and created by a local designer.

WET, our pool area, is very popular and there are several options for lounging and sunbathing. There are several levels to WET, so for the most unobstructed view of the ocean choose from any of the cabanas situated along the retainer wall. Also, the depth of the pool is 3.9’ (1.2M). The layout resembles the stepped rice terraces of Bali and does not allow for different depths.

Please let us know if you would like to discuss your other comments directly by emailing me at gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We just returned from a one week stay in Bali, stayed at the W resort, it was the hype this
year as its the new resort there..
We took the second most expensive villa in the resort, the 2 bed room villa (Villa no 15) which cost us 2100/= usd
per night only to realize we were sleeping with RATS in the room

one would think a BRAND LIKE W would be able to control rodents in their resort, APPARENTLY NOT !!
on our second night at the resort while we were asleep i heard some noise in the room and i turned out the lights
to see a rat running around in our room, we got out of the room and went to sleep in the other room and next
morning complained to the manager, they said they will get the villa fumigated and gave us complimentary spa
treatments and free soft toy for our son... we were not very happy but we came in a group and thought it would
not be nice to just leave the resort, and they assured us that the problem was taken care of, so we decided the stay..
BIG MISTAKE !!

then, our 1 and a half year old son broke out into allergies all over his face, his eyes and ears swollen up, which
was very upsetting and dampened the whole holiday spirit... we couldn't understand what was going on..
on the last day when we were packing our clothes we saw the rats had eaten through our clothes and we
have holes in our clothes
so we take one top and show the manager and all she says is sorry and she will comp one night... that seems to
be their solution for everything.. either spa treatment free or one night free... we then realized that rats we
all over our clothes, including our son and thats the reason he's got this allergy on his face and had to rush
him to the doctor as soon as we got back home

when we spoke to the lady and told her that you assured us the problem was taken care of but apparently not,
then she's saying what guarantee we have that the problem wasn't solved and that the rat/rats didn't eat ur
clothes before they fumigated our villa, what took us aback was that she actually thought she's in a position
to be cheeky and answer this way and not take the problem seriously, but to shut us up she can offer one night
free stay at the expense of hygiene and our sons health

despite this terrible ordeal, we complained so much about the service, which was so slow and horrible, our
in room dining plates wouldn't get cleared for 2 days till we would keep calling them to clear, they wouldn't do
turn down service in our villa half the time..
most of the time simple items like yoghurt would be out of stock in room service...
our friends would have certain items in their villa and it would be missing in ours and vice versa, when we all were
paying the same price..
ALL IN ALL, IT WAS A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AND NEVER WOULD BE STAY IN ANY W RESORT IN THE WORLD

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The W Hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed at in Bali.. being a regular to Bali for personal and business. I found the W to be sensational. The service of the staff was excellent. The food / breakfast in particular was out of this world with staff reguarly bringing tasting plates to the patrons to sample new and different foods. Over the 7 night stay the staff got to be familar with our likes and automaticly suggested that we try a dragon fruit smoothie at breakfast.

THe pool area has the best lounges and it is nice to be able to move around dependant on if you feel like socialising or just lounging quietly on the day beds.

The Whatever Whenever reception were extremely helpful at arranging transportation and suggestions for dinner / outings...

i stayed in November 2011 and have already booked to return in Feb / March 2012

Room Tip: dont skimp and go an oceanfront room... beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hello Jomer,

Thank you for your taking the time for your post. As a seasoned traveller to Bali we are very proud that W Bali exceeded your expectations and even more delighted that you have already booked your next holiday with us!

We love that you are now a W Bali fan and look forward to your return at the end of February.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I soooo wanted to give this place 5 stars. When you arrive you are amazed by the grand driveway entrance and typically shiek lobby. The pool and lounge are great as is to be expected at a W. Also the shower and bathroom were amongst the coolest I've seen with a skylight that you can open and close.

The bad:

- the wifi was REDICULOUSLY slow all over the resort. We had 3 rooms in different wings and all had the same speed. Worse than dial-up used to be. This is unacceptable in this day and age when average hotels in desolate parts of 3rd world countries have better wifi.

- I mentioned we had 3 rooms. The first room had the wrong bed arrangement - we booked 2 beds and when we got to our room there was 1 king. They offered to switch the following day but that was not acceptable. After protesting they finally prepared a room for us with 2 beds while we ate dinner. The 2nd room had horrible construction noise right next door. It's not the W's property so it's not their fault.

- the nightlife was non-existent. I've stayed at many W's and there is always a decent crowd at least in the lobby bar. Not here. It was dead all 3 nights.

- the handrails that line the hallways are already rusted out.

- no A/C in the elevators. The humidity was very oppressive so riding the elevator was like getting into a sauna.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hello OC_Adventurer,

Thank you giving your feedback. We are glad that you chose to stay with us.

Our complimentary wireless connection we are always striving to improve this as everyone as at least one device to stay connected. We have recently acquired more licenses and significantly increased the bandwidth.

In regards to your bedding, I am happy to hear the Welcome was able to sort you out.

For nightly entertainment, we like to focus on our Sunset Sessions at WooBar & Ice. On Fridays & Saturdays, we have headliner entertainers at WooBar.

Understanding your issues – we do hope you find your way back to W Bali some day. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to share more feedback.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

As an SPG Platinum I was made to feel very welcome at the W, which is a spectacular oceanfront hotel. Personal check and accompanied to a sea facing room by the SPG Manager. Similar treatment from the rest of the staff during my 3 night stay. I found the entire W team to be friendly and effective at their jobs and great praise for the waiting staff around the pool. This was my first experience of W but I enjoyed it very much, the rooms/beds are comfortable and the hifi system with Ipod docking made my day. I wanted to eat a restaurant meal on a table overlooking the pool, no problem. Internet access on big screen iMac in the library, excellent too. Invited to the 12 Nov fashion show at the hotel too which was fun.
My one comment as to how the hotel could improve its offering (and there isnt much) but I think that its private car tour service is overpriced versus whats available from private tour companies outside the hotel. I understand making money but there is a price point where many more people will take up the offer versus looking somewhere else. This aside, a superb experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hello tim898688,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you chose to stay at W Bali for this trip. We hope this experience has made you a W fan for life.

In regards to the private car tours, we offer well serviced, clean vehicles & professional driver. Though there are other outside options available for a lesser rate, the Retreat does not guarantee their services.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.