We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at W Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Weekend at W Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Excellent hotel and a great example of the W brand at it's absolute best . Wonderful position right on the beach with a great modern pool with lots of private places to lie and soak up the sun . The hotel is fairly new , rooms and lobby , restaurants, bars and other areas are simply stunning . The service at this hotel is fantastic , no matter where you are , they aim to please . If you looking for a 5 star break this is the best you'll do .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hi John S,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. You certainly sound like a W Fan and thank you for all your nice comments.

I’m sure you are also looking forward to the W Sentosa opening, but as you are from SIN, luckily your escape to Bali is only 2 hours aware.

Let us know when you are ready to come back!

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    373
    121
    57
    33
See reviews for
312
893
86
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A new property and indeed, no one can predict no construction or equipments failure while being occupied by guest in the first few months.

Two thumbs up for GM and his team in being responsive to issues encountered by guests! W Seminyak should be the benchmark of guest relations for all W, which is well-known of lacking in core guest services.

My room had an issue with the toilet seals which makes the room has an unpleasant odor. Frank responded quickly eventhough it was very early. W moved me to a villa which later on the air-conditioner malfunctioned. However, Byang took care of this issue personally and handled the issue very well.

What important is, the hotel’s management take a good care of its guests and make us important in their agenda when some issues come up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello Partick0001,

Thank you for your post and acknowledging Franklin & Byang. They are true examples of Whatever/Whenever. We also appreciate your patience while we handled the situations with your room.

Our Talent do take a lot of pride in living up to the guests’ expectations and I am proud of them when I see them being personally recognized.

Do let us know when you plan on returning.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Loved it. Great staff and excellent service. Only down side was that breakfast was not included given the daily rate ...... Nevertheless, loved the place and would go again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello bullyos,

Thank you for your quick post. There are packages available that do include breakfast. We have also opened breakfast at Starfish Bloo for those guests who book our Suites or Villas.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the W hotel twice during Aug 2011. One with girlfriends and the other with my husband.

Both times, the hotel did not disappoint. The hotel is beautiful, modern and nicely laid out. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are very big as well. Bliss toiletries. iPod dock in the rooms. Free wi-fi in rooms and throughout the hotel. Hotel spa is AMAZING and the bar and restaurant are pretty good too. Breakfast is fantastic! The hotel is in a great location, a short taxi ride away from Seminyak shops. You cant use the beach in front of the pool; however, there is no need for the beach with the gorgeous pools around.

The only annoying thing is getting constantly asked by the staff what room I'm. Not just when you order food or drinks, but just randomly. Perhaps it's because I look Indonesian and they think I'm local. In any case, it's completely unnecessary. Also, as my friends and I were leaving from breakfast one day two waiters came up behind us and started saying "I love you" thinking we couldn't hear. Completely inappropriate. I was going to tell them to get lost but decided to ignore instead.

Overall though the service at the hotel was great - warm and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello Corky,

Thank you for your review. To come back twice in one month is a fantastic! That is truly a sign of a W Fan!

I do not like hearing that the Talent were making inappropriate comments and I will be sure to address this with the Restaurant Manager.

Please be sure to let me know when you come back again, so I can say hi (gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com).

See you soon and all the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for six nights. As a frequent traveller and someone who spends a lot of time in upscale hotels I have to say the W Bali fails to hit the mark. The villa was spacious but the fabric on the day beds and sofa were badly stained. The bed cover had staining and the water for the bath tub was barely warm. Despite the friendliness of the staff they are hap hazard in their service standards, failing to return calls for reservations and general lack of attention to detail. The buffet breakfast has a good choice however the quality and presentation of cooked breakfasts is disappointing. All in all the W is fine if you don't have too many expectations, but for the price there is far superior hotels nearby offering much higher standards.

Room Tip: Villas are overpriced. Haven't seen the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello Jamie R,

We appreciate you posting your feedback. We are sorry that W Bali did not meet your expectations. Weather does play a factor when maintaining the outdoor furniture, but we will be sure to speak to our Style & Welcome Department so that other guests will not encounter the same the issues.

Please feel free to contact me if you have anything else you would like to discuss: gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We only booked one night in this hotel because we dis not really know what to do in Seminyak.
We were amazed by the otel, the staff, the pools, the restaurants...everything was breathtaking!
We regreted having booked only one noght. We will definetely come back!

The lobby is amazing, een more in the evening, the walk in bathroom: wow!

We will definetely go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello Rikipok,

Thank you for posting your review. One night is definitely not enough time at W Bali, but I have no doubt that you will be back! There is so much more to experience.

Hopefully, you’ll be back sooner rather than later.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I first want to start out by saying that the reviewers who say the hotel isn't Bali like, your right to some extent. But honestly what did you expect. This is a modern up scale hotel chain. We stayed here for 3 nights to end our 2 week trip to Bali, we stayed in villas and bungalows throughout the trip and this was the perfect way to end it.

The hotel is stunning. It's brand new, and everything is clean and ultra modern. The lobby, the restaurants, the pool, and most of all the rooms are designed to perfection. We were here on our honeymoon and we upgraded to an oceanview room. The view was amazing. Nanik, one of the managers showed up around and basically made sure our stay was perfect the entire time we were there. We met the GM Craig Seaward at the managers reception and he was equally as nice as Nanik.

The entire staff is attentive and always helpful. We spent most of our time hanging out by the pool. I can honestly say this was the nicest W I've stayed in anywhere. Its more pricey by Bali standards but it's worth it. The breakfast at the fire restaurant is outstanding, and the sunset at the woo bar is mind boggling.

If you come to Bali go to Ubud and experience the culture, then come to Seminyak and feel like royalty at the W to end your trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Hello ACSOUP,
Thank you for choosing W Bali to end your honeymoon. We agree that guests who come here will experience Bali, but with a W twist. It also helps that our location is centrally located and you can leave the resort to the northeast is Ubud and to the south, Uluwatu; both less than an hour away.

We also appreciate you recognizing Nanik. She does a fantastic job making sure all our guests enjoy their W Experience.

Have you thought about where you’ll on your anniversary? We hope we can welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.