We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the not so good, and the determining factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SAVE UP TO 50%
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The good, the not so good, and the determining factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We just came back from our 5 nights stay in W bali. It is our second trip to Bali this year, previously we stayed in Samaya Ubud and had a wonderful experience. We booked 3 nights stay in their retreat room and 2 nights stay in their newly opened 1 bedroom private villa. This turned out to be the most correct decision as it gave us the opportunity to experience both and make a comparison.

The good:
- This trip was to celebrate my wife’s birthday and we requested for a room with nice view in advance. We were upgraded to Ocean Facing Retreat upon check in, which had a beautiful view of the pool and the ocean. We never expected the retreat to be so close to the beach, it was quite stunning when we watched the strong waves from our balcony. When my wife ordered for room service after we settled down after the check in process, they sent my wife a birthday cake together with the food she ordered. And the chocolate cake was so yummy, it is one of the best we ever had. There was a birthday greeting card hand written by Irma. My wife still keeps the card although we never met Irma in person during our stay. We appreciate this arrangements made by W and its talents.
- The ocean facing retreat is well designed with good facilities as a lot of previous reviews had already mentioned. There are some fine details too, like the heart shape reflection on the skylight bathroom wall and if you take a close look of the toilet wall, you will find a cupid love arrows on it, cute!
- The pool side talents will bring small sized drinks from the Fire restaurant for you to sample while you laze by the pool, which is nice and generous.
- The DVD is free for hotel guests to rent.
- We went to the Woo bar one night. We are not party animals and we don’t drink alcohol. We went there just to experience it. We chose one of its sofa bed which is closed to the beach. The ambience was simply amazing. We lay down there, listening to the waves and watching the stars above, while our son busy tracing those airplanes taking off/landing from/to airport. It was an experience not to be forgotten.
- The villa facilities are top notch, full size Bliss products, Bose audio systems at the villa and the terrace, and the huge inviting bathtub.

The not so good:
- Villa
On day 4, we transferred from our ocean facing retreat to our one bedroom villa. We were told the villa would only be ready for check in at 3pm, the standard check-in time, so no problem. At 2.30pm, we received a call to notify us they need another hour to clean the villa. So we went out for lunch, and told the Whatever/Whenever team our luggages were already packed in our room, once the villa was ready they could just send the luggages to our villa first. When we returned at 5pm, we were told our villa was just ready. And nobody was sure where our luggages were. It took us more than half an hour and a few calls to locate our luggages and get them delivered to our villa.

The villas generally provide less privacy due to their close proximity. They are literally next to, or back to back, to each other, separated by thin and short walls. For some villas, this privacy issue are worse than others. Our first villa (no. 39) is very close to the main building (about 20 meters) and facing the main building. So those people walking by the 4th or 5th floor of the main building can just take a clear look of our villa, right at the bed. We had to keep the blinds down all the time while we were inside the villa, to avoid becoming the leading roles in “The Truman Show”. This defeats the purposes of staying in a villa and defeats the design of their full length glass wall. After all, most people choose to stay in a villa because of privacy and exclusivity, right? So, if privacy is an issue for you, remember to request a villa further away from the main building and east facing. Actually, this issue can be addressed by building the surrounding walls taller or adding some plantations on top of the current walls, well, leave this to the management and their brilliant architects who had made the main building so chic and beautiful.

After we requested for a change of villa the next day, we were assigned villa no. 3 and when we inspected the villa, we found the bathtub was leaking. So Isa, the talent who helped us to transfer immediately called their technician to fix it. The two technicians took more than one hour to do it and just when they were about to finish, we found the Bose DVD player was not set to the correct region code and the DVDs we got from the hotel couldn’t be played. It took the technicians another 30 mins to solve the problem. All in all, it took us 3 hours to shift villa and finally settled down. However, not only the talent, but also the technicians were very apologetic.

- The daily newsletter
As previous reviewer mentioned, we too, missed the daily newsletter/activities list. It was only given on our arrival day. On day 3, my wife requested for a copy to be sent to us on daily basis so that we could know what are the happenings. We were told the request was put into their system, but the newsletter never came. Our 2.5 years old toddler didn’t participate in any activities during our stay as we didn’t know what are the available kids’ activities. He did enjoy playing in the main pool though.

- The dining experience
We had all of meals except one lunch in W Bali, a few room services, dinner in Starfish Bloo, Breakfast and lunch in Fire, Sunday Brunch in Starfish Bloo. We enjoyed the food in Fire more than Starfish Bloo. There is an egg station in their buffet breakfast; however, there was no list of what they make there. On our first day there, my wife asked what they had there and were told they make eggs (scrambled or fried), and Egg Bennies, full stop. On day 2, we tried to ask for waffles, and yes, they did make it too. One day 3, we figured out they actually make pancakes too. And FYI, their waffles and pancakes are very delicious and well presented. We just wish we had known it from day 1. Throughout our stay, we were never told that there is an à la carte menu for the included breakfast too and we were never given that menu. So we simply didn’t know there was such an option until we read one of the latest reviews just now.

We didn’t find the Sunday brunch at Starfish Bloo very attractive although it is highly recommend by some previous reviewers, maybe we are not sushi person and we don’t drink wine. This is very subjective. And as a vegetarian, I actually feel the selection was quite limited.

- The coordination between talents
We felt this needs to be improved. There were several occasions that we needed to repeat our requests a few times to different talents to get it done. It was like our requests were lost in transit, they were deleted or wrongly communicated somewhere in the process chain. However, this is a new hotel anyway, so we think it is normal and will improve as time goes by.

There are other minor hiccups, but since we bear in mind the hotel is only in operation for one month plus, it didn’t bother us much.

The determining factor

Now comes to the determining factor. After our perfect stay in ocean facing retreat and not so perfect stay in villa, how will we judge our stay in W Bali this time? This was ultimately decided upon the attitude of the staff. All of the talents we met during our stay were very friendly and helpful, I won’t say their service was excellent because there were hiccups, but their service attitudes are definitely great. Among all, there are some who provided exemplary services.
- Upon departure, Franklyn, the welcome relations manager, helped us to do check out. When he asked us how our stay in villa was, we took it as a casual question and as a way of saying hi or hello. But after we briefly told him our little disappointments, he immediately offered us some solutions to make up for our inconvenience. It is his fast reaction and his problem solving skill that impressed us and made us feel our feedbacks and opinions were truly listened and valued. When we mention we emailed the hotel for a child seat to be put in the car for airport pick up and called again to double confirm on the day of our arrival, but it was not there, he immediately asked someone to place a child seat on the car although we didn’t put prior request this time. This again shows he was really listening and he was able to address guests’ concerns quickly. This is very impressive! Thumbs up, Franklyn.

- Our son likes to play their bathroom toy, the little frogs. When I asked whether we can buy a new set home, Solikin, the welcome relations manager, told us he would prepare one set as a gift to our son. And upon checked out, we were given the little gift, nicely wrapped. No need to say how happy our son is. When we requested for late checkout as our flight is in the evening and our toddler needs an afternoon nap, our request was granted by him too, and this happened even before the delay in our check in to the villa. Very accommodating and understanding man.

- Isa, from welcome team, who helped us to transfer from villa 39 to villa 3, was very patient and friendly. When the DVD player was not working and the technicians had not figured out a solution, he volunteered to get the DVD player from our previous villa. We never saw him frowned once. When we asked for extra shaver, he gave us a follow up call to make sure we had receive it.

- Agung, who is from Starfish Bloo was very attentive. When it was about to rain, he helped us to move quickly inside and he always asked whether we needed anything else and always with a nice smile.

These are the people who made us feel we are so welcomed and made us ignore those hiccups and still enjoyed our stay there. There are the people who made us add the final star on our ratings without further hesitations. After all, hardware can be easily built and imitated; it is the software, the people, who can make the difference.

Will we return? Sure! We hope to stay in their ocean facing retreat again soon! And in their villas once they sort out the privacy issue.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    331
    110
    52
    32
See reviews for
274
804
74
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I stayed at Bali W Retreat & Spa for 3nights from 1st Apr ~ 4th Apr 2011.

At first it wasn't easy to decide to reserve W
because it was just impossible to find any review on W Bali
since it's newly opened hotel.
But I just trusted the brand 'W' and booked 3 nights at
One Bed Room Pool Villa.

Some parts of the hotel is still under construction
meaning that it's not fully opened yet.
Though pool areas, dining areas, woo bar are open and
no inconveniences using the facilities.

<good side>
1. Very nice interior
I really liked the ambience of the W hotel.
If you are looking for hotel with more Balinese style,
'W' would not suit you.
But if you want modern hip stylish hotel 'W' would be your perfect choice.
Lobby, swimming pool, rooms you will notice that they put
a lot of effort in every detail of the interior.

2. Very New and clean.
Since it opened last month on 1st March 2011,
everything is so new and clean.
Rooms are nicely organized, all the facilities are intact
very pleasant experience.

3. Nice location.
There are good hotels with nice views in Jimbaran area
overlooking the Uluwatu cliff.
'W' doesn't have the great VIEW from the villa
(Ocean view room had nice view though)
But instead of the nice view 'W' has good location.
'W' is in Seminyak area which is great location
to move around and dine.
There are nice bar 'Ku de Tah' very close to the W hotel
and Seminyak Square and great restaurants
just 5 min away from the hotel.
Location is very very important in Bali
because traffic jam is very very heavy and
takes forever to move around.
But W Retreat and Spa is easier to move around
to Seminyak and Kuta area.
So if you are not planning to stay just inside the hotel
W will be a great choice.

4. Kind staff
Staffs were kind and trying to please at the lobby.
There were some inconvenience experience with
few staffs at W because they were slow and not responding.

We had to move the villa once because of
bathroom problem so we requested for the move
but it took so long getting back to us.
But after all they were willing to make up for
inconveniences aroused by slow reaction.
Except for that staffs were smiling all the time
greeting us asking us how we are enjoying Bali
giving us travel feedbacks.

5. Dynamic
I will say W is perfect fit for all ages.
You can enjoy quiet relaxing vacation at the Villa
with privacy and nice music flowing out.
But for young people I bet they'll enjoy Woo Bar
Especially on weekends Woo Bar plays
great music lots of young people visiting to have fun
and party.

6. Love Bliss amenities.
As many of you might know 'W' hotel chains
use Bliss spa products for bathroom amenities.
I really enjoyed using Bliss products.

<bad sides>
**Serious Bathroom Problem.
This was the only reason I took points
off the rating of W.
This wasn't just a minor problem.

First, on our second day of stay
the entire villa had no water supply for hours.
we received a letter from the management that
they are sorry about inconvenience caused by
water shortage due to water pressure problem.
So we had to go to the spa facility to take a shower.
This was understandable considering
it was newly opened property and still making adjustments.
But this wasn't all.

Second, on the third day of stay at W
there was water leakage in the bathroom floor.
Due to heavy rain, rain leaked inside the villa
and made water flood on the bathroom floor.
Engineering crew were coming in and out of the room
trying to fix the problem all morning.
But they couldn't fix it after all and concierge told us
that we will get moved to a new room.
But had to wait hours for another villa to be vacated.
And still no water supply because they locked
all the water supply pipe in our villa because of
the water leakage.
I got so frustrated not being able to wash in my own room.
After waiting for hours we were finally moved to a new villa.
Here, water was finally available.
(But they moved us to a villa with smaller swimming pool
than our previous villa. kinda disappointment.
Expected an upgrade, but rather got a room with smaller swimming pool)
Yet new villa still had problem with bathroom.

Third, our new villa's toilette wouldn't flush!
I was just to exhausted to complain this time
so just used the bathroom by the lobby area.

It would have been wonderful stay at W
if it hadn't been for the bathroom issues.
No water supply, rain water flood, toilette not flushing.
continuous problems with the bathroom.

Though the management was willing to
offer us courtesy treats after hearing our problems.
So I was pleased with the hotel's efforts
to make up for any inconveniences caused by the bathroom.
Very supportive.

I hope they fix the bathroom problems asap
and stablize the building maintenance.

I would highly recommend W to the ones who are
planning a trip to Bali.
But still I guess it will take some time for
everything to settle down since it's still baby hotel.

for more pics check out my posting
http://pinkberry6.blog.me/50109017351
http://pinkberry6.blog.me/50108991566

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We feel obliged to revise our original review of the W Retreat at Seminyak and raise our rating after Management responded quickly to our concerns raised in the last review, addressed them with more than generous offers to counter any previous inconvenience, and showed us 5-star level attitude that will bring much promise to this resort.

The W Retreat has been open for a month so far and appears to be a upmarket, luxury Club Med, complete with Cirque de Soleil style pool-side performances every evening, which we loved, daily activities, and a wonderful afternoon "T party". Its sprawling and chic facilities include a very well equipped gym, funky and upscale 24-Hour spa, 3-story hip club, beautiful architecture (stylish is the word that comes to mind when describing the decor), a load of great sit-out-and-chill areas such as the lobby (with great coffee books, free chilled mocktail), the library (quiet, well stocked, coffee corner, cosy seating). The restaurants serve excellent food at reasonable prices. The staff is warm and friendly mostly, and eager to please.

Here are the things we expect will improve over the coming months to make this a very competitive resort at Seminyak:

1) As mentioned in our previous review, some of the villas may not be ready for occupancy. Our first villa had no hot-water, and the staff didn't seem equipped to respond to our request to fix it or change villa for quite a few hours, resulting in us going to bed at midnight upon arrival the first night. When we were checking out, we overheard another guest raising the same issue, saying no one had come to fix his hot water the night before. The resort will probably have to quality-check each of its villas fully (the heating, water pressure, air conditioners especially), or mark out the villas that have already been highlighted by guests as having defects.

2) The activity list- the resort has great activities such as yoga, aerobics, kids' volcano making.... however, the Daily List was not made available until the 3rd day (of 5) of our stay. We expect it will be made available everyday because there was no way to find out what was available to do without that list. The first we spent was a Sunday, which is Kids' Brunch Day where they host a lot of activities for children. However, the Spa person told us Kids' Brunch had already happened on Saturday and my child missed a highly anticipated range of activities as a result.

Here are some things that may not be so easily changed but people considering this versus another resort might want to be aware of:

1) There is no view from the villas, and less privacy than in other resorts. The villas are built in a grid-form, rows and rows of villas separated by a very narrow path, looking into each others' roofs. We could hear our neighbors, and they could hear us (especially our shrieking child in the pool).

2) If it rains, one would have to call a buggy because some of the villas are a long winding walk away from the main lobby. This takes about 15 minutes to arrive....which is OK, but the ride is highly uncomfortable (especially for me- I am 4 months pregnant). The rocky path made for a very bumpy ride. This also goes for the entrance way driveway. We are still puzzling over the choice of material for the path.

All in we truly enjoyed ourselves and appreciate the effort the W has made to make this beautiful place for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taichung
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Our group took two rooms. One was an ocean facing room and the other was a one bedroom villa so I will review both. First I must say that the W can arrange for a fast-track visa process after landing at Bali airport and it was totally worth it and I would highly recommend it. Overall the W is one of the best hotels on Bali but there are some issues I would not have expected from a hotel group as established as W and Starwood.

After check-in together ,we decided to see the ocean facing room first ( Room 530 ) and we were very impressed with the large bathroom which had a skylight, the sitting area which had a good view of the beach and the balcony with a daybed and table and chair. If we knew then what we know now we would have gotten an ocean facing room too. So afterthat we went to the villa (43) and the pool pump was roaring and the two aircons were loud as a monster truck rally and there was no water in the villa for the first hour and half. And when the water finally came on the water pressure was miserable. A rain shower looks good but not when it only manages to drizzle. I liked having a private pool but I would have preferred to stay in the main building with proper running water . And whenever one flushed the loo, water leaked out from somewhere all over the floor. I am not sure if the problems were only in our villa. The paths around the villas are bumpy so if you have a baby in a push-chair or use a wheelchair you will have to call for a buggy to pick you up and drop you off everytime and sometimes the front desk did not answer the telephone.

As for their much lauded "whatever/whenever" slogan. I guess it is pretty much that...a slogan. In the rooms there are DVD players , but they only play DVDs from within the region so noticing that there are the facilities to link up your laptop with the TV screen we called down to the front desk for a cable. They said that they would check for us and get back but two days later there was still no reply when we checked out. At the gift shop I asked for a piece of scrap paper to write something down and the "talent" looked at me like I asked for a kidney. And having no rupiah on me I asked the front desk to post some letters and post cards for me and put the postage onto my account but no that was too difficult and I had to change money first and give them cash.

The hotel is isolated from Seminyak with a long access road that isn't meant for walking down and the beach is so filthy it resembles a rubbish dump so we stayed in the resort for the entire stay. The Away spa is great and the staff are friendly and always have a smile on their faces. The gym is quite big and with new equipment. The pool is large and beautiful but there is not much shade at all. The library is well stocked with books and magazines and it was pleasant to stop by when the sun made it too hot to be outside or it was raining. Breakfast is at Fire and as other reviewers have said it is a fantastic experience. Dinner at Fire was also great with local food on the menu and a wonderful bread basket. Starfish Bloo on the otherhand while having a better location and great interior design and friendly service offers the most underwhelming food I have ever had at a SPG hotel.

I would stay here again but in the main building and I would make more of an effort to eat outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I love W hotels. I always feel way more hip than I really am when I stay in one. The W Retreat and Spa in Bali is no exception. This hotel recently opened on March 1 so we had the pleasure of being one of the first few guests to stay here. For those of you not familiar with the W, it is the "trendy" brand of the Starwood family. Everything here is done on a lavish scale that oozes coolness. From the entrance to the bathrooms, no detail is left untouched by the W feel. I can say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. For those of you considering a stay here I offer a few nuggets of info to help you make your decision.

One Bedroom Villa Retreat
Our room was fantastic! Technically this isn't a classic one bedroom. The bed and living area are one big room with only a wall separating the bathroom facilities. Not a deal breaker, but be aware that if you are expecting entirely separate living and sleeping quarters you won’t have it in this unit. The unit was stocked full with free Bliss Spa products. Small versions in the shower, full size versions on the sink counter. The bed was large and the duvet and pillows cozy but I found the bed to be a little uncomfortable. Generally W hotels use the same "Heavenly Bed" concept as the Westin but for some reason this resort did not.

In addition, the AC unit is loud and cold. This is because the Villas aren’t connected to a central system. Each room has its own freestanding AC unit located in the wall between the bedroom and bathroom. The room isn't that big so it cools down fast. There are no extra blankets to cover yourself with so you have to either crawl into the bed or turn off the AC. There is a ceiling fan but it doesn’t do much good to keep the room comfortable when the AC is off. Again, not a deal breaker but something it would have been nice to know in advance.

The hotel also doesn’t supply you with more than two bottles of water to start with which isn't much. That said they are more than happy to bring you more, simply call them and they will be there. They also bring more water with the turn down service each evening. If you decline turn down service at the very least ask them to leave you the extra water.

The real gem of the Villa is the terrace. Each Villa is equipped with a private pool, lounge chairs, dining table and Bale Begong. There is no reason to use the common pool area if you have a Villa. You are also so secluded that you can sun and swim completely naked if you choose. It also makes a great setting to enjoy in room dining. One of the best things about staying in resorts in Bali is that in room dining services cost exactly the same as in restaurant dining. There are no added delivery fees or service charges. First time Bali travelers should note that all resorts and restaurants on the island will add an extra 21% service fee to everything to cover taxes and staff gratuity. Sometimes this fee is included in the listed price and sometimes it is added in at the end.

Resort Facilities
From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special. The lobby bar is wide open and there are plenty of seats overlooking the ocean and pool area. This being a W, everything is appropriately stark white, bright pink and vibrant purple. Drinks aren't cheap and the bar menu is so-so but the view at sunset is great. Grab a couch and relax, it is worth it. There aren’t many to go around so I suggest getting there early, especially during busy season. We were there during low season and arrived around 5:30 and had no trouble finding a spot. By 6:15 though, it had started to fill up.

As far as the restaurants we only tried Fire. We are not sushi eaters and couldn’t find much we would enjoy on the Starfish Bloo menu. All of the restaurants are pricey, as you would expect in a luxury resort of this type. Breakfast at Fire was buffet style with a small a la carte menu. The price is 300,000 rupiah no matter if you eat off the a la carte or buffet. We also stayed at the Intercontinental and St. Regis, both of which have stellar breakfast buffets that are included in the price of the room. Out of all the places we have stayed in Bali, this was probably our least favorite breakfast experience. The food was just okay and the buffet selection was minimal. I would expect more for the money. However, they do let you choose a whimsical coffee/tea cup before you sit down which is a nice quirky W style twist. We also ate dinner here once and had a nice experience. We weren’t blown away, but the food was tasty if overpriced. We chose in room dining more often than eating in the restaurants because it was more intimate and we just loved our villa so much we never wanted to leave.

The spa is really nice and the services are fantastic. They are open 24 hours, which is really different. In addition they have a full bar inside. I had to laugh when I saw that. Every time I have been to a spa one of the first things they tell you is no alcohol before or after treatments. Here they actually encourage you to drink before and after treatments.

Things to be aware of
Overall this is a beautiful resort on a beautiful stretch of beach. I really have no complaints. If you are staying in the villas be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes. The villa area is stretched over a very large area and you may be faced with a long walk to the lobby. The pathways are paved in uneven cobblestones that can be difficult to walk in if you are wearing sandals or heels. Elderly and children should especially be aware. If you fall down, you will certainly do your body damage. The stones are uneven and some are very sharp. I suspect that within a year the resort will rip these out and replace with a more practical flat surface. It looks beautiful, it is just a bit difficult to navigate without the proper footwear.
There is also no on site convenience store. There is a hotel shop that sells clothes and W branded gear along with sunscreen but nothing else. I had the unfortunate luck to come down with a terrible cold while on vacation and was unable to purchase any cold medicine or cough drops at the resort because they do not sell it.
If you want to see the island, you will need to rent a car and driver. Do not attempt to drive yourself. The hotel can provide you with their car/driver or book one for you through a private company. Both are viable options however, as an alternative I have the contact information for a fantastic private driver who will provide you everything you need to tour the island. He is reliable, safe and extremely knowledgeable. Full disclosure: he is a family friend so I am a bit biased but this was our second trip to Bali and we have used drivers from tour companies and the experience we had with our friend was hands down far superior. In addition, he is his own business so he keeps every penny you pay him. Unlike the tour companies or hotel where you are giving your money to the company and not the driver, I felt better about helping out a local resident support his family. If you are interested in his contact information please send me a private message.
If you are at all on the fence about giving this resort a try, I say go for it. We had a fabulous time and were made to feel welcome by everyone at the resort. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in the Fantastic 1 BR Villa for our honeymoon as the 2nd half of the trip (1st half staying in Kayumanis Jimbaran, see my review if interested). This is really a chic and brand new resort with lots of potentials. Villas are good for couples. the resort overall is also excellent for friends to hang out, as there're many areas to chill out, have drinks, music everywhere...etc

I walked around the villa area and found that many villas are actually still not completed, i think they only open half of the 1 BR. Most of the uncompleted ones they're still working on the furnitures and decor, also cleaning up the private pool, etc. Only one 2-BR is fully completed, probably for showroom and pic on their web. 3-BR ones are far from completed, still under construction. Having said that, there's no problem of noise from construction during my stay coz as mentioned they're mainly doing the final decor work, but do expect to see some workers in the villa area, we''ve no problem with that.

OK now about the Villa:

Like:
- Villa is excellent, chic & modern and most importantly comfortable. Green-tone decor is eye-catching
- Loved the BOSE speaker in the pool deck area (also inside villa), which means sunbath with music in your own villa - fantastic!! So I recommend you to bring some CD/DVD if you plan to spend most of your time inside your villa. They've a DVD movie collection in lobby front desk for borrow as well.
- Public pool is nice and long. Good for swimming. Pool is also great for kids as it has some shallow parts.
- Loved the huge daybed in Ice Bar!! It's the perfect place to chill after pool time, or watch sunset with iced drinks & snacks.
- Yummy food. Recommend grilled jumbo prawns & wagyu beef pizza in FIRE; miso glazed cod with foie gras & the scallop appertizer in Starfish Bloo.
- Spa open 24/7, can go even at 3am if you've problem falling asleep. The spa room we use has a little spaceship feel...
- WooBar grand opened during our stay. It's a huge bar with outdoor rooftop (total 3 floors). Cool place, hard to find in another Bali resort!

Dislike:
- No water for twice, can't blame for new resort.....quickly fixed so only minor problem
- Whatever/Whenver (the service frontdesk). During my stay there're more than 5 times I called but no one answered even after long rings....so i guess it's Whatever but NOT whenever. (but for my in-villa dining calls everytime was being picked up quickly...)
- Villa wall is not too high so you can see top part of the structure in the nearby villas (don't get me wrong you can't peek into your neighbor villa)
- All villas have no seaview as it's located in the inner area behind the main resort building. If you want seaview, go for oceanview room
- Services are great and accruate, but not that kind of excellent personalised service you can get from some boutique villa resorts. Afterall, this is a >200-room property.

Despite the dislikes (which are pretty minor), we still had a memorable great time staying in W for our honeymoon. I'm glad I chose to stay there. If you're planning your Bali trip and want a cool place to stay, this is it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend from the 31st or March to 3rd of April. Resort building is beautiful, food is good, and the staff were very friendly. We got upgraded to a sea-view room because my girlfriend has SPG status, which was nice. The beach is uninspiring, but perhaps that was mostly the weather's fault (a bit on the cloudy & rainy side)

However, our stay was marred by very poor response from management to a significant problem- our fire alarm kept going off. One mistake like that in a new hotel is understandable, but the problem happened 3 times. At no time did management offer us anything, except a change of rooms (on the last night of our stay after 3 alarms) to make things better. Management never got back to us despite promises to do so. I would not return. For the price we paid, we could stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.