We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Seminyak
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall I was very impressed with the hotel. The location was great, rooms were clean but thought they could use a scourer pad instead of just a damp cloth on the kitchen bench tops, staff were very helpful and polite (always said hello), walking distance to the beach (about 500 meters), shops and restaurants everywhere. If you wanted more shops or restaurants as per usual grab a so called "taksi". We had breakfast included and couldn't complain about the choice of food, the variety was spot on. Not sure about eating there for dinner as we never had a chance to. Only thing that let it down was the swipe cards to get into our rooms. The cards for some reason weren't activating the sensor on our room doors to open, which then meant we (I) had to walk over to the reception desk to get the cards reactivated. Happened about the first 3 or 4 days, it got very annoying but then they swapped the cards over and all was good from then on. So, would I recommend this hotel or go back to it again? The answer is definitely "YES".

Room Tip: We had a suite and was very happy with it. If and when we go again would try for a villa next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    337
    143
    55
    43
See reviews for
155
327
67
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled with another couple to Seminyak over the Christmas period. We had all been to Seminyak before so knew what to expect. Sadly, The Haven did not deliver. I read so many fantastic reviews so perhaps had higher expectations.

The location(borderline Legian) is convenient with everything at your doorstep, and anything that isn't just a short and cheap cab ride away.

Check in was terrible. Our suite was not ready at 3pm, we were double chaged, and our bedding configuration was incorrect despite emails with hotel prior to arrival. Service was not friendly at all.

Ground staff and Housekeeping were great. Polite, friendly and did a great job.

Staff in the restaurants for breakfast etc avoided eye contact and were not friendly. Barely a hello from anyone of a morning. How can there be so many people working that can't say hello!? Or even meet and greet where it states to wait to be seated.

Breakfast however was nice, a great selection including breads, cheese, cold meats, waffles, omelettes etc. Whilst I didn't eat most of this there was plenty for everyone.

The biggest issue of the hotel is the rooms. We paid extra money for the 2 bedroom suite. The rooms look great- yes they have lots of wear and tear, stains in the stone etc, but what hotel doesn't. The air conditioning doesn't work-- if you like sleeping in the heat of Bali without adequate aircon-- this is your place!! We spoke to other couples in the hotel all with the same issues.. Some had their doorways taped up by the hotel to try and help... The Haven needs to invest in some better airconditioning. We couldn't use out lounge dining area that we paid extra for as it was a complete sweat box.

Previously we stayed at The Kayana Villas. These are Amazing Villas with top notch service. Location is great, service is amazing-- yes, they cost a lot more, but I came home relaxed from Bali last time, and this time I returned exhausted and disappointed for terrible nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Aussie_traveller30,
Thank you for taking the time to write and shared your experience during your stay recently. We acknowledged all the concerns and certainly will use this to guide us in reaching the target in delivering better services to our valued customers.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of the AC problem. I do personally hope to welcome you back for another experience stay at The Haven Seminyak and truly will ensure that Excellent Service will be delivered in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards from Bali
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I just returned from two weeks in Bali. We decided to stay in Seminyak because it is a little removed from the craziness of Kuta without being as quiet as Ubud. A happy medium, which suited us.

Our travel agent, who is an old friend working at Flight Centre, recommended the Haven Hotel & Suites as a nice, family-friendly place to stay, which ticked all of our requirements boxes (not TOO expensive, classy, close to the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shopping, kid friendly). We were VERY happy with the decision.

Now, we stayed in the Haven Suites, which is part of the same complex as the hotel and the private villas, but has its own lobby and entrance. The suite was better than we expected; really it was a spacious one bedroom apartment. We had a big living/dining area with a kitchenette and a separate bedroom with a big bathroom. The hotel supplied a cot for our 19-month old daughter.

The hotel (by this I mean the entire complex) has four swimming pools including two which are about knee height on an adult, so perfect for littlies. If you like to laze in the sun, it is best to get a spot early, because the pools are in shade for a lot of the day, due to the hotel shadow, and the good spots will go quickly. The pool areas are quite beautiful, with fairy lights at night time.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and quite taken with my blue-eyed, blond-haired daughter. They would go out of their way to wish her a good morning and say hello whenever we walked past. I have been told that past guests have complained about the level of English the staff have, but I did not find this a problem and I know the hotel runs twice-weekly language lessons for the employees. The General Manager is an expat Aussie and really made us feel very welcome - even inviting us to dine with him at one of the hotel's two restaurants, Sabeen. The food there was excellent and a credit to the Head Chef, an expat South African, whom the staff adore.

Breakfast was included in our package and I was never disappointed with the selection. Bali being predominantly Hindu, rather than Muslim, I didn't go without bacon each day. When the hotel is full, it can be tricky to get a table for breakfast, but that is pretty normal.

Internet WiFi was free, although your log-in is only valid for three days; you just have to ask the desk for another code.

Mozzies were a minor annoyance, but it IS a tropical country and we went in the wet season. The hotel fogs for mosquitoes once a week and there was a noticeable decline following each fogging.

The hotel is situated right on the main street in Seminyak, and a short walk to a supermarket called Bintang, where you can get all your supplies. Next to Bintang is a row of ATMs, including a Commonwealth ATM. As I mentioned, it is not far from the beach. We walked, but the hotel does provide a shuttle bus to its private beach area, which has sun lounges and umbrellas and is ony metres away from a bar and the lifesavers pavillion.

We checked out a villa too, and they are absolutely fantastic - waterfalls, private pool, epic bathroom, etc...

We didn't use the spa, but it offers all of the treatments you might expect at a cost you would expect of a hotel.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Haven Suites and will definitely look to return on our next trip to Bali.

Room Tip: The AC will turn off if you open the balcony door, so keep that in mind before you ring the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Sth Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I, our 21 year old daughter and my parents (83 and 84) have just returned from staying at the Haven Hotel. Checking in and checking out process is very quick and easy. We got upgraded to a suite room each, which are nice and big. The beds are super comfy and mod cons available, including a reasonable laundry service where your clothes come back smelling divine.Staff are friendly, breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of variety. Quiet and relaxing place to return to after being out in the hectic pace of Bali. Location is good for shopping, resteraunts, massages etc. We didnt get to the beach which is only 10-15 minutes walk away (i believe) mainly due to my parents mobility, but the pools were nice and had relaxing loungers to sit and read on. Overall, pleasant stay with no issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Friendliest of staff, comfortable beds, huge towels, fantastic breakfast in a hip cafe spot, lovely pool, and terrific location with shops so handy. We found it was very quiet in the room, yet a buzzing, lively atmosphere in their cafe. My 15 yr old daughter loved it, so did I.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed for 9 nites in deluxe room , rooms are spotless with great bed linen and large white towels, all rooms had a balcony overlooking pool.breakfast was fresh and plentiful with different choices each day , and the Danish pastries baked in-house were delicious.staff were attentive and helpful, really enjoyed our first stay here , have booked a two bedroom suite for next stay, the pool area for the suites has sun most of the day ,where the deluxe room pool is mostly shaded.also checked out the villas, they are really nice , and very private, highly recommend this hotel, it's very close to supermarket and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel provides a shuttle for the short trip to the beach where there is a private area with loungers provided for Haven guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have just come back from 4 days at the hotel with a mate and our sons. We booked it as we wanted a hotel in Seminyak and we all agreed it is a great hotel. Location was spot on in that there is a Cirkle K mini-mart across the road, good massage places, shops and bars nearby. Check-in went smoothly and our bags delivered with the rooms functions and operations clearly explained by the staff member.
Both of the breakfast buffets were good with a good selection of food. The pools were large and well catered for with lounges which surprisingly were easy to get.
We found the service excellent, with any requests acted on promptly with a friendly smile. We were also lucky enough to have a look in one of the 2 bedroom villas they have on site - these are outstanding and priced quite reasonably.at $US458 per night.
We want to make this week-end an annual boys trip to Bali and all agreed we would go back to The Haven.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the rear of the hotel in the Suites area and found the location to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#47 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven provides a privileged sanctuary that brings together outstanding contemporary design, tropical landscaping and high levels of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.