We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We looked at lots of hotels and villas in the seminyak area and read 100's of reviews and i must say we definately picked the best place to stay!!

The Haven was excellent in every way:

The Haven is split into three areas, it has a hotel area with a pool and a suite area with another pool and inbetween are the villas. It offers two entrances, one for hotel guests which is located on a busy street and the other located in a quiet side street is for suite and villa guests but both are accessable for all guests. There are lots of shops, resturants and money changers in the area. Across the road at the front of the hotel is a circle k (like a 7/11) The security even stop the traffic for you to cross the road. Its about a 15 minute walk to the beach but they offer a shuttle to and from their beach area which has sun lounges and umbrellas. There is construction next door but it didnt affect our stay.

Staff: They are what make the Haven a very enjoyable place to stay. The staff were very friendly, polite and very accomodating. Nothing was ever too much trouble, whether it was adjusting the menu to suit our children requests or organsing a doctors visit when our daughter got sick, they were always very helpful. We were always greeted by name and with a smile :) A very special mention to "Bagus" who is a definate asset to this hotel.

Rooms: We spent our first night in a two bedroom suite. It is a very spacious room, two seperate bedrooms, two bathrooms, 3 tvs, kitchen and lounge area. Huge balcony area with day beds. All the suite rooms overlook the pool area. The bed was very comfortable in this room! The only thing about this room was that there were two entry doors into the suite one being in the second bedroom. For the remainder of our stay we had a villa ......WOW ...... spacious, huge bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower, huge bathtub and best of all a private pool. Its very luxurious and private and conveniently located in the centre of the resort.

Food: breakfast is offered in two areas, in the main resturant at the front of the hotel and also near the suite lobby and pool area.The breakfast offered heaps of variety ..... cereals, fruit, bacon, eggs any way, pancakes, waffles, cold seafood, indonesian choices too.....pretty much anything you could think of. Food was always fresh and of good quality. We had a few meals at the hotel resturant which offered variety by having a different theme every night. We also had room service and food by the pool and at all times the meals were all really good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear BAJAM5,

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at The Haven Seminyak and our facilities as our guest satisfaction is our top priority.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    399
    161
    60
    44
See reviews for
168
374
78
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First things first: we stayed at a magic little place on Gili T directly before this.
So the Haven is a big, typical resort with no suprises and nothing special.

First problem: booked as a twin room. This may have been down to an error from our travel agent - but inexplicably the hotel didn't have ANY double beds left. Seems weird with a billion rooms or so. They made us pay for the upgrade, after a cursory discount - just to sleep together! Thing is, that's a recurring pattern with this place. The value is not there.

The room itself was huge and really open and light (a studio room). Good aircon. Bathroom fittings were getting a bit tired though.

The building site next door was a friendly bit of company from 6am to about 10pm each night. Helpfully the local builders would shout out "housekeeping" as a joke. Funny, except when you had to pay for the upgrade room just to hear them banging around.

Food service was disorganised - especially breakfast. Actually - room service on the first arrival day was good.

The breakfast isn't amazing, fairly typical hotel buffet fare but on the studio side you have to line up in 3 different places to assemble eggs, bacon and pancakes (this means your eggs get cold if you want the combination of bacon and eggs).

The DVD player didn't work (we had a massive day and bought a dvd, looking forward to watching... but no such luck). The WiFi is very poor and cheaply logs you out every couple of mins. That sums up the haven nicely - any chance to grab another $5 from guests seems to be taken. Food was really generic and fairly pricey. With so much great food around, you can either be cheap and cheerful or expensive and brilliant... haven is neither.

Keep in mind the pool photo on the website is attached to the villas rather than the main rooms (although there are two pools so you can walk down).

At the Haven ... the people don't elevate an unremarkable hotel. From the front desk argument about a bed, to the breakfast staff in a daze.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear benandjeff,
Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!
I am so sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you due to our fully-booked situation. We hope you understand that we do not guarantee any bed type upon booking, however we do our best to accommodate our guest with their request.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon
Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just got back yesterday from a 10 day stay at The Haven in Suite 917.
Pros
- I was impressed with the suite on many levels. The rooms were modern, spacious, furniture was comfortable and amenities were well thought of and considerate. (e.g shower caps, toothbrushes, loofah as well as shampoo, conditioners and bodywash were complimentary!)
- Robes, slippers and plenty of coathangers are available. As well as inhouse safe.
- No cooking implements (pots, pans etc) are included in the kitchen except glasses, plates, bowls so if you wanted to make your own dinner etc you'd have to request this.
- Fridge was well stocked with beers, soft drinks and water (although I would strongly reccommend getting all this stuff from the Bintang Supermarket just up the road as it will be 1/4 of the price!)
- Breakfaxst buffet at the suites end of the hotel was great - lots of fresh fruits, pastries and juices. Eggs and bacon etc are cooked to order, as are delicious pancakes and waffles!
- Check in/out was a breeze, staff were helpful, polite, friendly and willing to assist with all requests inc replacing missing or broken credit card style room keys.
- Room Service was tasty, quickish but I thought the menu could have been more extensi ve
- Location is fabulous; walking distance to restaurnats, shops, supermarkets, Circle K, beach etc - entrance to the suites is down a laneway style street just off Jln Arjuna (Double Six) with good signage where as hotel entrance is off Jln Legian (main street)
- I used the laundry service outside the hotel located in a shop in the laneway and apart from misplacing a bra, it was 10,000 Rupiah for 10 peices which is WAY cheaper than the hotel prices and came back smelling fresh and clean.
- I rented 2 scooters in the same laneway to the entrance to the suites and paid 40,000 rupiah per day for 7 days - helmets are included but petrol is extra but very cheap! Parking is just under the hotel and is maintained by 2 security guards.
- Located near 2 spas - Putri Bali and Eden Green that were great and so much cheaper than the inhouse spa which is all in US Dollars. For 1/3 price you can have the same treatment just outside the hotel.

Cons
- Sunny areas by the pool are limited as there is lots of shady trees - only 1 or 2 sun lounges actually get the sun and these were always occupied when I wanted to sit in the sun!
- Shower is over the bath and the bath is HUGE so getting in and out is a stretch! There is a pole for you to hang onto (which I coined the stripper pole!) so you don't slip over but if you have short legs, be careful as its gets slippery with any water on the floor!
- Air con in the room was ok but never really felt cold - lowest setting was 18 which I know is low but it just didn't feel like it got cool enough.
- TV reception was very fuzzy regardless of chanels
- Lighting throughout the suite is dim. I'm all for flattering light, but for crying out loud, have a dimming switch so one can choose to make it brighter or not.
- Loud, misbehaved children yelling and being obnoxious in the pool area with no supervision made relaxing hard. A stern word and a few raised eyes quickly shut them up but if you want an adults only hotel this is not it I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Request a room AWAY from the construction or the front of the hotel area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Missdaksie,
Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at the Haven Seminyak from 7 June to 10 June 2012. Before booking, checked the reviews from different websites and decided to book it with the understanding that it is a hotel suitable for couples.
Stayed in Room 4001 (the hotel has only four storeys) while my other couple friends stayed in Room 4024. Where we stayed was above the restaurant, lobby area and near the road. As you guessed it, it was rather noisy with loud music at night and loud voices from the lobby area.
Avoid these rooms or thereabout but request for rooms overlooking the swimming pool. Our rooms had very poor views.
We had requested for better rooms as we were there for our honeymoons.
Anyway, there is much to see and walk about near the hotel area. As you come out of the hotel, turn left and walk along the shops. Quite a number of money changers around too. Good to walk about to decide on where you would want to have your meals.
Buffet breakfast was so-so and not that fantastic as described in the reviews we read. However, the staff spoke good English and were very polite.
Overall, an OK place but there are many hotels to choose from if you have the time to browse through the websites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Holiday of a lifetime, trip with my cousin, we stayed here in Bali for our first week and spent the second week in Singapore. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were incredibly friendly, poilte and helpful. The street outside the hotel is a little busy with what appears 100 scooters for every car! Quite difficult just to cross the road although security outside are more than happy to step out in the road for you and flag everyone to stop, a little embarrassing actually, yet funny too!! We stayed in a suite and it was absolutley huge. Very modern, clean and tidy. The sun loungers are the most comfortable I have ever tried, wicker with a big puffy cushion! Only a short walk to the beach perhaps about 10 minutes. Local supermarket and cash machine within a 2 minute walk (if you can cross the busy road!).

Room Tip: Book furthest away from main street. Second half of hotel to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Quel88,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Let me qualify. The Haven is quite a big property straddling two roads, the main Seminyak road and the smaller Double Six road. It is divided into three sub-properties: the common hotel with entrance at the Seminyak road, the suites with access from Double Six road, and the villas in the middle of the two worlds. We stayed in the common hotel side.

There's nothing wrong with the hotel per se: the rooms are clean and trendy, beds are comfortable, pool area fabulous. Price is very reasonable too for this location (in the heart of touristy action, 15 min walk to Legian-Seminyak beach). However, there is awfully something wrong with the acoustics or the lack of soundproofing. I can literally hear techno music pulsating from somebody's room (with Adele squeezed in the middle), children and guests shrieking from the pool deck, and from 7pm to 10pm, a blaring live band playing at the bar (I've almost memorized their set composed of Maroon 5, Sade, Adele, etc). I tried getting some sleep before our midnight flight but it was impossible. Every nearby door opening and closing, every furniture moving, every guest walking and talking through the hallway could be heard in our room.

As far as I can tell the suites and the villas do not suffer from this malady, so I suggest you get a place there if you need some peace and quiet. The hotel is probably for guests who can sleep through noise or who love mingling with boisterous guests.

Room Tip: Insist on a floor at the highest floor (probably less noise) or just go for the suite or villa for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I knew and heard about the Haven many times, and whenever I went to Bali and Seminyak, I saw this hotel. But, I never thought that I would stay there, because it looked like a bit hectic with the hotel from Seminyak street. As normally I like less hectic hotel.
Anyway, then I had a small trip with my family, then we tried Seminyak, as all of them prefer Seminyak area. We booked for 2 bedroom suite for 3 days.
Well, we came to the hotel, and it was great to have separate Lobby with the normal one. They do have special lobby for Suite and Villas. The room was spacious, huge, we were all 4 of us, but we still had lots of spaces to run. We had big living room, Big TV (we had 3 TV's), fully equipped kitchen, Huge bathroom, and private balcony. I mean, we had 3 balconies. Three!!! And 3 separate entrance doors. So, you still have your own privacy.
Since you are in the middle of the seminyak, do not expect for the best view. Please enjoy other houses and properties roof.
Breakfast, best part!Plenty of food. I mean, super generous food. The do have 3 live cooking stations, egg, pancakes, and even bacon and sausages. It was not very crowded, since the restaurant is special for Suites and Villas guest only. So, no long queue.
Swimming pool is the best place to relax too. They do have 2 swimming pool for suites and villas block, and another 1 for hotel room. So, again, no more fighting for sun loungers or sun.
Only some couple things that we found not really perfect. The Housekeeping sometime took long time for them to clean our suite, even one day they cleaned it at 2 pm, after we called them twice since morning. But they did clean very good. And if you go to swimming pool, and bring the towel to your room, they will suspiciously ask your room number etc. Most probably, most of the towels were missing before. And last, sometime they were not too flexible for the place to eat. For example, I was in the pool, and would like to order food from the restaurant, we had to extra request them to give us the menu from restaurant, not from the Pool bar. In fact, the location only next to other. And Spa staff, if they were able to work efficiently, it would be great!
Anyway, in general, they were GREAT,,and really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose 4th floor suite, and stay at the suites of Villa. It is worth of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear ChloeJenna

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic experience and enjoy our breakfast. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#49 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#52 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven provides a privileged sanctuary that brings together outstanding contemporary design, tropical landscaping and high levels of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.