We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Seminyak
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've booked for the hotel room online before my trip and when I arrived there, the rooms were unavailable thus they upgraded us to their suite room located in the Villa area. The Haven Seminyak consists of two entrances which the front entrance is the entrance to their hotel and is just by the roadside, the other entrance is at the back but also the entrance to the villa area. Due to this, they also have two breakfast dining areas.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the lively ambience in The Haven and the hotel looked amazingly pretty! While waiting for our room to ready, we had our free welcome drinks. It was a long walk from the hotel lobby to our suite room in villa section.

Staffs were very friendly and helpful. They would greet and start conversation with you to keep you occupied.

We had our breakfast in the villa dining area. The breakfast buffet menu included pork dishes. And there were so many food served which really spoiled our choices and I gotta say it's one of the best hotel breakfast buffet I've had so far!

However, one down side regarding the hotel is that there isn't any restaurants/eateries open after 10pm at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Blu3qu3en,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our facilities and also our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    338
    144
    55
    43
See reviews for
155
327
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Haven Hotel at the beginning of May this year (2012). The hotel was modern, clean and the staff very friendly. We stayed in a Haven room. The first room we stayed in had a balcony that looked straight out onto a brick wall. It looks like when they designed the hotel they decided to squeeze in a few more rooms by tucking them into the corner. I brought this to the attention of the bell boy. The hotel was at capacity that night but he arranged for us to be moved to a nicer room the very next day which was done with a minimum of fuss.

The included buffet breakfast was very extensive- pancakes, waffles, bacon, eggs (fried, scrambled, boiled, poached) , cereal, juices- just about every breakfast item I can think of.

The reason that I don't rate this hotel more highly is because it lacks atmosphere. It doesn't quite have the high quality of an upmarket hotel but it also doesn't have a the character of some cheaper hotels. The hotel is very simple and modern but this means that the shoddy workmanship is very obvious and the place feels a little bit slapped together. As other reviewers have noted some of the balcony doors don't close properly because the recess in the frame doesn't align with the locking mechanism properly. It also lacked those little touches that make Bali so great. No flowers in the room, no artfully folded towels, no swim up bar. The mini bar is very expensive and so are the cocktails in the hotel. It is a good hotel but there is nothing there to really make me want to go back.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you don't get a room tucked in the corner becausde you will look out onto a bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Danikajaye,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for taking the time to write and shared your experience during your stay recently. We truly value all the constructive feedback which you had kindly shared to us for our improvement

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in late April and we were thoroughly satisfied with the suite which is clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The pool is lovely and had big lounges that just made you want to swim, relax and sip cocktails.
We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Rajesh225,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our facilities and also our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed 2 nights.
the first day I got the Deluxe room on GF.
On GF Room you can hear the Construction just beside the hotel (almost day and night), the sound of motorbike on top of your room, and people voices outside of your room

than I requested to move,they put us on The Haven room 3rd floor but twin bed.
it's far more quite thanks God. still it's not really that soundproof at all.

the Breakfast at Front restaurant is more complete than the back one.
I love the ambiance and the design. but again not the room.

Double six is just a walk away. turn left and you're there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear CiptoJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write and shared your experience during your stay recently.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this.

I do personally hope to welcome you back for another experience stay at The Haven Seminyak and truly will ensure that Excellent Service will be delivered in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards from Bali
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

What the reviewers say is true - there is a construction site very close to the suites in this hotel. by "very close", I can pretty much say you can just reach out from the corridor and touch it!

The room:
Anyway, i can't comment on the noise from the construction, other than i can't hear it from where i was staying - a one bedroom villa, room 605. The villa is true to the pictures, very clean and very luxurious (for us anyway). It has an outdoor shower, and indoor shower, a huge bath tub, and an automatic toilet that is common in japan. For room facilities, there's a day bed by the main door, which we used to gather all our shopping, a kitchenette with a stove and 2 door fridge, and a study table located behind the master bed. The design is contemporary and not balinese, which was what we liked, but some people i guess would prefer the balinese design since after all it's a visit to bali. oh yes, and NO bed bugs were sighted, and the aircon worked fine (there were 3 for the whole villa, all different brands, and we didnt have the remote for one of them??? guess it's on for eternity...)

for in room toiletries where's soap, shampoo, conditioner, tooth brush, tooth paste, a razer blade, and even a loufa - so no need to bring any toiletries along! the bubble bath was supplied with generous amounts (3 ceramic "Balls") of bubble bath and even bath salts and aromatherapy! we most enjoyed all these little touches! truly pampered.

The staff:

they were all friendly and helpful and always greeted us with genuine smiles. Guys, keep up the good work. We have truly enjoyed our holiday!

the check-in crew got us our room by 2.45 (as promised, the 3pm guaranteed check-in) and showed us the room. However, no one mentioned to us about the lounge where we can go to to get some free tea time snacks and drinks until we checked out! Anyway, we visited the lounge to enjoy the air-con while we waited for our cab to the airport. The lounge had TV, magazines, and was next to some changing rooms and shower stalls to allow checking out guests to have a shower and a change of clothes before flying off, which i thought was quite nice. The staff at the lounge were very friendly , helpful and polite. I think they were worried we felt out of place waiting in the room, and they kept urging us to have a bite of the tea time snacks despite of us declining a few times (my husband and i were too full from late lunch!)
A lady with excellent english proactively shared with us how to catch a taxi to the airport, for which we were thankful for the advice, and felt very welcomed even as we were leaving.

Vicinity of the hotel:
it's across the road from a mini-mart, and a walkable distance from a little shopping mall that have cafes and shop selling really good coffee beans which they can ground to powder for you (exit hotel, turn left, and walk till you see "cafe seminyak" and enter that compound). The walk to the hotel beach is quite long and dusty...i walked onced and didnt bother to go to the beach again (we had a private pool. enjoy the luxury!)

complaints:
The only complaints on the villa would be there are a lot of mosquitoes inspite of the inroom insect repellents, so bring your own repellents. it's the tropics, there's bugs, so not unexpected, but i would advise my friends to bring their own repellents, and use them especially during breakfast, i was thoroughly attacked when i forgot.

Also, there's no shades in the glass room with the toilet bowl...and on a hot sunny day.....well you just couldnt sit there too long. hah hah.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Phweet,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and enjoy our villas and also our service and facilities. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I can highly recommend THE HAVEN we stayed for 13 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The resort has three pools two restaurants. The staff are extremely friendly and the food delicious.
It is situated close to everything and they have different entertainment every night.

Room Tip: There are rooms, suites and bungalows. The suites and bungalows have cooking facilities all have te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear GoldCoastWanderer,

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic experience and enjoy our facilities.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at the Haven for 4 Days for a girls weekend. We were told we were upgraded to a suite on arrival so were quite excited. When we got to our room we noticed the glass on our shower door had a massive crack in it so we pointed this straight out to the staff. Maintenance came up 20 minutes later and put masking tape over it, and that was the last we saw of them!!!
The Haven was reasonably new when we stayed however the floor tiles in our room were cracking and appeared well worn. The balcony was quite narrow and small, it did not make it desirable to sit outside. The room itself was neat and comfortable with good air-conditioning. Breakfast was not that well prepared but I put that down to inexperienced staff, again it was a newer hotel and staff were still being trained.
The swimming pool was cold, but this is due to the shadowing of the hotel, there is another larger pool but unfortunately we were unable to swim as there were no sunbeds nor was there free space to sit. I asked to look at the Villas they have there on the property and thought they were exceptional, all have their own pool. After seeing the Villa’s I would only go back to the Haven to stay in one of them. The location is great and is right in the heart of Seminyak, the bar at the front of the hotel is great to sit at in the evening for a cocktail however it very noisy as it faces the main street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Bonpar,

Marvelous Spirit from THE HAVEN... Naturally Elegant.
We have received your concern regarding some issues. We acknowledged all the concerns and certainly will use this to guide us in reaching the target in delivering better services to our valued customers.
Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500 | Jl. Arjuna Gg. Raja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#47 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven provides a privileged sanctuary that brings together outstanding contemporary design, tropical landscaping and high levels of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haven Seminyak Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.