We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay with lots close by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanishka Villas

Save Saved
You added Kanishka Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kanishka Villas
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Brisbane-Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay with lots close by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Four of us shared a Villa for the last few days of our stay in Bali. We were greatly relieved to see that not only were the bedrooms aircnditioned, but so was the main lounge/living/kitchen area. (Often in Bali, these areas are not airconditioned and are also open to mossies etc). We had our own private pool which was refreshingly cool after the lukewarm pools in other hotels. Spring Water is supplied free of charge so you don't need to wander to the shops to pick it up.

We had the master bedroom upstairs which was enormous with it's own sitting area and TV. The 2nd bedroom is also a decent size and has TV too. Both bathrooms are 'open air' which gives a lovely tropical feel but make sure you close the door to the bedroom at dusk otherwise the mossies will invade! (Mossie coils are provided)

Staff, housekeeping etc were lovely and very accomodating. There is a shuttle available that can take you anywhere in the area so make sure you pre-book and get in ahead of others. We booked it to take us to 'W' in Seminyak one night and to the airport on another evening. Villas are close by to shops, restuarants etc and only a very cheap taxi ride to 'Eat St' in central Seminyak.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Many thanks for your review and for posting your excellent photos. We are very happy to read that you found the accommodation spacious and accommodating. Thank you also for your very kind comments relating to our staff service, which are always very much appreciated.
All best wishes from myself and our team at GK Resorts... Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    58
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
116
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had wonderful service from the staff when it rained and the bathrooms were flooded. No hassle in giving us another villa They supplied free suttle service around Seminyak. It was a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your understanding and cooperation to move your villa after heavy rain resulted in minor flooding. We very much appreciate your good humor! Pleased to hear that you were able to make use of our free shuttle service around Seminyak. All best wishes from all our team at Kanishka Villas... Douglas wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The staff at Kanishka Villas are wonderful. They offered wonderful service and always with a smile. The staff at Kaniska even help us get our money back when we were cheated by some money changers close by and even sent security to check our roof when we called in about a noise that we heard in the middle of the night. The stay was great and they have beautiful villas especially with the private pool. My only pet peeve was the mosquitoes and other bugs, since villa is pretty open to the elements we were having breakfast with the ants and gekkos and sleeping with the mosquitoes. They gave us complementary bug sprays and incense but it gave us only temporary relief. They should really consider installing mosquito netting to block off the living areas from the outside world. But if you don't mind the bugs the place is a must stay if you visit Bali.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are bigger than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for all your complimentary words pertaining to our service at our Kanishka Villas. We very much regret that you experienced some problems with local moneychangers, but pleased that it was sorted out to your satisfaction. We recommend to use PT Central Kuta moneychanger which can be found very close by, within the Bali Deli supermarket, or beside the gasoline station on Jalan Kunti.
Wishing you a speedy return visit to Bali and best wishes from all our team at GK Resorts!
Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This Villa is very close to the main street in Seminyak (from Kuta). Very easy walk from the Villa. Also close in the other direction to the airport (less traffic).
The only problem is the mosquitoes (however, they do fog twice a week) This may cause issues if you have asthma but otherwise not a problem. Mosquitoes still in plentiful supply but the dining/lounge is air conditioned.
Very nice Villa for a couple as the rooms are quite separate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments on the location of the Kanishka Villas and the service from our staff. I am sorry that you had some difficulties with mosquitoes but thank you for your understanding in this regard.
From all of us at GK Resorts, warm wishes... Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We LOVED Kanishka Villas.. From the beauty of the villa to the extremely kind service, we had such a pleasant experience. Free shuttle service around Seminyak was quite convienent for a quick ride to the beach or restuarants / pool bars - W / Potato Head. The front desk was extremely helpful when making local reservations or if we needed to query things around town, they took it upon themselves to sort it out for us (cabs/ reservations/ random questions).

The villas are exceptionally luxurious, open air living room with a private pool in the middle of our lounge!! Minor detail - the pool gets minimal light between 11-2 and only in certain spots. That was the most of our problem.. Exactly MINOR detail! Both bathrooms were open air, my favourite was the upstairs open air shower - you could take a bath at night and look at the stars! The attendants would come clean everyday, plus came back around dusk to light mosquito coils (which smelled like incense).

The location was brilliant - 2 min walk to great restaurants (tacos/ Japanese/ Italian) 5 min walk to the famous Made Warung (highly reco'ed to eat Balinese cuisinse and see Bali style dancers. Dancers only at dinner on certain days though). Villas are just off the main street in Seminyak, so very close to the shopping, restaurants, and beach (10 min walk - but again can take shuttle).

Breakast was great and delivered on time every day. Food was good - great selection of American and Indonesian style breakfast.. Favourite was pancakes, croissants and watermelon juice! We ordered room service for lunch - BBQ prawn pizza was delicious!

Thanks so much for the amazing experience - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: - Upstairs bedroom is quiter and colder and bathroom is better (w open air shower to see stars at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so very much for your very descriptive review, highlighting all that you enjoyed at Kanishka Villas. Our staff are all delighted that you appreciated the service and enjoyed your breakfasts! Thank you from myself and all our team, and we do hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back again on your next Bali holiday! Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

still in the middle of our week @ the Kanishka villas, but so far everything is awesome..
the rooms, the full size fridge is a nice bonus, then pool in the middle is just lovely & the supermarket 5 mins away makes drinks & nibbles easy ... No complaints from us ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Many thanks for writing your review during your week at Kanishka Villas. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the villa and pool and that the proximity of the Bali Deli made it easy for you for your shopping.
We hope you will come back to again enjoy Bali... Warm wishes, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from my first vacation after retirement. Kanishka Villas was
recommended to us by a friend from Australia. What a property! We thoroughly enjoyed
ourselves at the 4 bdrm villa with a pool right outside our bdrm door. Everyone at the villa
made us feel so welcome and the service was excellent from the time we arrived until we
departed. Looking forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thanks from all of us at Kanishka Villas for staying with us on your first trip after your retirement. Hopefully you will return again when we guarantee you a very warm welcome! Best wishes from The island of the Gods, or "Aloha!" Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kanishka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanishka Villas

Address: Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 295 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kanishka Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanishka Villas comprises 23 private luxury villas located in the heart of Seminyak, Bali most popular tourism enclave. With 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom villas with their own private swimming pools, and 1-bedroom Jacuzzi Suites, honeymooners, couples and families are all welcome at Kanishka. Located down a quiet lane off Jalan Kunti, the villas and suites have immediate access to a wide range of restaurants, bars, boutique shops, spas and the beach is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kanishka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanishka Villas Hotel Seminyak
Kanishka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanishka Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.