We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanishka Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kanishka Villas to your Saves list
Kanishka Villas
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Discount Promo!
Ranked #84 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at Kanishka for one week in Feb 2012. The villa was absolutely beautiful and the staff provided excellent service. There was a wide range of food for breakfast and the reception was very helpful in arranging day trips etc. The private pool was a great treat and very well maintained. It was within close enough walking distance to some great shops and restaurants, as well as the beach (or a short/cheap taxi ride, or free shuttle). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All villas are two bedroom. We booked a one bedroom villa and so they lock the upstairs bedroom. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
We are absolutely delighted to read your review following your week at Kanishka Villas recently. Thank you very much for such generous comments which have been advised to our on site staff. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future, and, as an option, please may I suggest our Gending Kedis resort at Jimbaran Bay.
Warm wishes from The Island of the Gods from me and our Kanishka team, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    77
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
45
154
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Pros:
1. Great Location in the middle of Seminyak
2. Good service, butler to our disposal and brought us breakfast each morning
3. Very clean

Cons:
1. Bathrooms, living and dining rooms are in the open. So if you go to the bathroom at night, you need to step into the heat out of your air-conditioned room. The living room did not have an AC so it was uncomfortable to sit there for too long.
2. Internet only worked if we sat right by the router in the living room, bad reception in the bed room.
3. Due to the natural habitat, the place was filled with geckos and other bugs
4. Pool was small and in the shade, so didn't feel like getting in.
5. They provided free airport transfer with our stay. They organized it with a private tour company but when we wanted to change the time of pick up, they asked for us to call the tour company instead of them doing it.
6. Because of the openness, we could hear everything said and done in the next villa over.
7. It was very difficult to communicate with the staff on the phone before arrival. They did not understand me and vice versa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. And thank you for noting the positive aspects of your vacation at Kanishka Villas.
I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was not stable, we are taking action to improve this service which we know is important to our guests. I further apologise for the poor communication where you were led to believe that we use an external tour company for our guests' airport transfers. In fact we handle this service with our own cars and drivers. In this instance it was our mistake to ask you to call our Reservations; this should indeed have been handled immediately.
I am pleased to advise that we have now fitted sliding glass doors to some of our villas, whereby the living area is fully air-conditioned, keeping out those tropical bugs and external sounds of the night... Thank you again for your very helpful and informative review; we do hope you will return again soon. With warm wishes from me and all our staff, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Kanishka villa is a beautiful centrally located villa in the heart of seminyak with just super staff and amazing rooms with all amenities and beautiful private pool and super Balinese style villas making you feel at home with priavte butler service

Room Tip: Can't go wrong superb villa in seminyak
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
A most appreciative thank you from me and our team for writing your review. Great to hear from you and that you found the location of the villas to your liking and convenience. Our staff have been appraised of your kind words and are very happy for that, thank you!
We hope that when you need a break away from the hectic pace of life in Mumbai, you will consider a return to The Island of the Gods! We guarantee you a very warm welcome back to Kanishka, or please try our Jimbaran resort, Gending Kedis, for a few very peaceful nights. From me and all our staff at GK Resorts, best wishes, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Kanishka did not disappoint that so many other when the pictures inevitably looked much better than the real deal. All the villas are two-bedroom, so, if you are staying only in one, they will lock up the upstairs bedroom. That wasn't an issue though, since the bedroom is upstairs, you don't feel like there is anything missing or strange (having a locked door in the middle of the villa for example). The villa is well appointed and luxurious. The lush bed and the gorgeous outdoor bathroom are also major pluses.

The service is attentive and obliging, without being overbearing. And they offer a free ride into town at anytime between 11 - 1 (I think), which is very convenient, but may be less practical when the villas are very full.

The best part about the villa is the location. Right smack in the middle of Jalan Kunti and a short walk away from all the eateries and shopping. It is also directly opposite Bali Deli where we can stock up on snacks and drinks, and Word of Mouth, a cosy tapas place. It is also a 5 min walk away from Sip Girll on Sunset Road.

The only minor issues are:

1. there isn't that much sun - probably because the upstairs bedroom blocked out most of the sun;
2. the breakfast wasn't great, although the selection is good;
3. there are ALOT of mozzies, but being Bali, this is expected and no different from any other resorts we have been to;
4. there is a weird smell in the kitchen near to the bin (even though there is no trash in there). Not sure if this is like with all other villas or just the one we were in.

All in all, a fantastic 5 star experience. In fact, me and my girlfriend will be going back again and taking the 2 bedroom villa this time! Can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your very positive and detailed review. We have taken careful note of your helpful remarks and pleased to advise that some of the villas now have sliding glass doors to the pool area, keeping mosquitoes outside! Pleased to read that you found the new Sip Grill on the Sunset Road, and hope that you enjoyed their excellent selection of wines.
We hope you will be returning to Bali in the near future and that we may have the chance to welcome you back to Kanishka or as an option, our Gending Kedis villas at Jimbaran.
With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Kanishka Villas were everything we were hoping for. The pictures on the website are exactly what you can expect in real life. We were VERY happy with the level of accomodation and service. The staff were obliging and polite, and nothing was too much trouble. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, and the 2 bed pool villa gave us enough space for us each to have our own privacy. The bedrooms were huge and well aircondtioned. Both rooms had luxurious en suite bathrooms with baths big enough for two! There is a flatscreen TV with DVD in the lounge, and both bedrooms have flatscreen TVs too. We were able to use the WIFI within the Villa at no cost. The location of Kanishka is great - it is only a short walk to the famous Bali Deli, and lots of shops, spa's and restaurants.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying there and will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the Villas appeared to be of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your glowing review following your stay at Kanishka Villas with your 2 teenage children. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and have taken advantage of the villas' location, for all your shopping and other holiday activities. Many of our guests agree that the close proximity of the very popular Bali Deli, 2 minutes by foot, is a great convenience. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff service, always very much appreciated. It is great to read that you intend to recommend Kanishka to your family and friends, most helpful to our marketing efforts.
On this occasion please allow me, on behalf of our staff, to wish you all the best for a very Happy 2012! Looking forward to your return to Bali and Kanishka Villas... Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This place is amazing. Perfect location. Just <5 mins strolls to Seminyak main shopping and eating belt. Few houses away from the Warung Italia and Warung Made.

The villa its self was breath taking. We took 2 bedroom villa and share it with another couple.
one of the bedroom is downstairs, a bit smaller but have direct access to the pool. The other was upstairs. Have bigger bedroom area and bath room was outdoor.

Pool was smaller than expected but its enough.
Huge TV in each room and common area. Bfast was fantastic!!

the only thing thats bothering us was the shower upstairs.
For some reason the shower was spraying super hot water and in super strong stream.
in both the shower area and in the bathtub.

we have quite a tight schedule, because we were in Bali for a wedding so we really dont have time to complain and so...
Were in villa number 1 at that time.

That was the only downside. Other than that we have a more a pleasant stay at the villa.
Staff was helpful and friendly. And we dont really experience high street noise that some of the other reviewers was saying. Probably they improve the wall... Or we are just 2 very heavy sleepers.

Anyway this is highly recommended if you want a villa but still in the city area.

Oh another thing, they have sun chairs next to the pool, but since the wall was quite high you have only a very small chances of catching the sun itself.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask to look at room blueprint as one villa to another have a pretty different shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write so comprehensively. We have noted your very helpful comment relating to the shower which has been fixed by our engineer, thank you for that.
It is really rewarding for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the proximity of the Kanishka Villas to popular restaurants like Warung Made and Warung Italia.
All the best from all our Kanishka team, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Loved the interior plan of Villa 4. When you open the door, you are are your own private sanctuary with full kitchen, dining room, living room and direct into the pool. The bedroom is so comfortable and the open bathroom with bath and shower was exotic! Went and stocked up on yummy imported food just up the street at Bali Deli, Bali's best supermarket. Then took a short walk up the street to my favorite Bali restaurant - Made's Warung for dinner. In villa WIFI made it easy for me to keep in touch with my business back home. Free shuttle was great when I had to go to a meeting, and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Kanishka for me was such a treat and first class in every way. Having your own private villa and pool is much better way to enjoy Bali, then staying in a 5 star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your informative review following your short break in Bali from the pressures of the city life. We most appreciate your kind mention of the location of Kanishka Villas, and pleased to hear that you took advantage of the proximity of the Bali Deli for your shopping and the legendary Made's Warung for an exciting dining experience, these 2 venues each being a 2 minutes stroll away from Kanishka. Thank you for your kind mention of our guest service as well as the complimentary shuttle service around Seminyak.
We all hope you will return again as our valued guest, warm regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanishka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanishka Villas

Address: Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kanishka Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanishka Villas comprises 23 private luxury villas located in the heart of Seminyak, Bali most popular tourism enclave. With 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom villas with their own private swimming pools, and 1-bedroom Jacuzzi Suites, honeymooners, couples and families are all welcome at Kanishka. Located down a quiet lane off Jalan Kunti, the villas and suites have immediate access to a wide range of restaurants, bars, boutique shops, spas and the beach is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kanishka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanishka Villas Hotel Seminyak
Kanishka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanishka Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.