We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Parisian-style haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Artista Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Artista Bali to your Saves list
Casa Artista Bali
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Jl Saridewi 17 | Sunset Village, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 77 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Parisian-style haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although I stayed here in February I can't imagine it has changed too much. This is a real gem and worth going to Seminyak just to stay one night here! Our room was gorgeous with a lovely comfy double bed and art-deco furniture. We were given a gorgeous fruit juice upon arrival. The bathroom was huge with a lovely shower and all the extras you would expect at a plush hotel. The breakfast was served every morning on the balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool area. This was amazing as you were given the choice of continental, pancakes, toast and fruit. Definitely have the banana pancakes, they are amazing. If they don't do them- have the croissants! The whole place has a very cool, art-deco style with Parisian influence and was such a treat after backpacking! Clean, luxurious and comfortable. Plus there was wifi which is always an asset!

Seminyak itself is lovely- very different from Kuta which is only a short drive away. Lots of boutique shops, trendy (albeit overpriced) bars (Ku de Ta and Potatohead) overlooking the beach and high quality restaurants. Try the high tea at 'Biku' Tea rooms! The food is delicious there too- but the cakes are the real incentive!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
41
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

After a few months of traditional Bali it was lovely to step into a fresh environment at casa artista. Beautiful clean villa, quite and safe location, walking distance to everywhere. Friendly staff - English a bit hit and miss however über helpful. Really enjoyed the stay. Would recommend friends to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Casa Artists is a something close to a villa but not chalet. it is located a 12 min walk from main street close to Oberoi villas. it has a small pool. the room is large and very nicely decorated. but the lighting is not sufficient at night. There is a balcony where the breakfast is served every morning. there is no buffet but you have to choose from a menu which you either go for a museli and toasts or go all american with egg and bacon.
the staffs are nice and attentive. the room has nice decoration from the owners.

the location is gd if you like shopping and eating in Seminyak, but be aware of dogs walking around at nights.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We got a great deal on Agoda and stayed in the relaxation room. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the beach but close to seminyak square. Ku De Ta is close by and you must pay a visit. The room was comfortable and spacious enough to relax in all day. The room service and food are very good. The staff are so helpful and friendly too. Although maybe they weren't used to backpackers checking in on a good deal!? Unfortunately the big bath didn't have the right sized plug and it takes a long time to fill up when we managed to plug it! Very luxurious stay and you don't have to do any dancing. Garden terrace was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

although i would rate the food and the service as the best i have received especially considering the price per night, i still thought the place was an absolute gem right in the heart of Semanyak but out of the craziness of mass tourism.
The rooms are divine and so is the pool, and the tango lessons they give.
My 4 starts are mainly due to fab decor and amazing location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, great service, tasty rich breakfast, big help in organizing your moving around Bali, quiet location close to everything ideal for those who don't mind walking to reach the beach or the restaurants, cafes and shops as value a refined quiet environment away from the many sounds of Seminyak night life but still close to it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First of all, I must say that the place is beautifully laid out and tastefully decorated. It has a feel of a colonial comfortable private residence. But the only reason my partner booked this was because I love tango. I would have liked to have given this only two stars but in the end am being generous because of the decor of the place.

It is however not 5 star, certainly not to European standard. The bed was comfortable, the decor was interesting, the swimming pool was long and right outside the room. But there was just one bath towel for two to share, no shower gel etc, and the breakfast was very basic.

The only reason my partner chose this hotel was because of the Tango and when he went to make sure there was a class and a milonga th enext night (the only night it would be on withinn our stay), we were told by the guy at the reception that because of a festival where the teachers danced the weekend before, they were a little tired and won't be organising a milonga this week. We were devastated as we would not have chosen this place if we had known this fact. We said this and asked if there was any possibility that they may have the milonga. He said there wasn't a possibillity. On the day the Milonga should have been, we left for the day out to another part of Bali leaving specific instructions to call if there was any chance we could have a tango lesson at least.

We didn't get a call and were heavily disappointed. When we came back late at night after dinner, it was clear thata milonga had taken place. We were even more disgruntled and asked about it. The guy who was at the reception previously wasn't there but teh milonga organiser said they decided to have it anyway and had decided the day before.

The lady who owns and runs the hotel was among the milongueros and the tango organiser pointed to her a few times. She saw but never came over. It was clear that she was told about us feeling upset abou thow we were handled but we received no apology, she didn't even come over for a chat.

We had booked ataxi for the next day morning for our flight to SIngapore, we checked twice to make sure it was booked at the right time but next day after waiting for a while realised they had booked it for half an hour later. Again no apology. Good thing we are normally good timekeepers and had built in enough time to get to the airport.

IT's a nice place, quiet, nicely furnished. However it's on a narrow road with no pavement where scooters especially ride around at break-neck speed. It's very very quiet and a little dark in the strete at night and although we never felt unsafe, we wouldn't recommend walking up to or back from the restaurants or the beach late at night

Room Tip: Take a room up the stairs because all ground floor rooms have only one opening and that's onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Artista Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Artista Bali

Address: Jl Saridewi 17 | Sunset Village, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Artista Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Artista, your home away from home. Enjoy exclusive Bali vacation in an outstanding ambiance, specially designed for singles and couples. Come and enjoy refreshing Bali holidays, combined with sophisticated entertainment. Experience a new exciting world when you come to Bali as our boutique style Bali residence opens its doors to people who are in passion. In passion with the arts, with Tango, this is what Casa Artista will cater to visitors with a discerning taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Artista Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Artista Bali Hotel Seminyak
Casa Artista Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Artista Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.