We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel (if you can find it)!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Artista Bali

Save Saved
You added Casa Artista Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Artista Bali
Jl Saridewi 17 | Sunset Village, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 76 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel (if you can find it)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. The major problem with this hotel is finding it. The taxi drivers don't seem to know where it is and there is no sign at the end of the drive. The front door was locked when we arrived (at 7pm) so we had to shout to get in! Having said that, this is a really beautiful hotel, lovely size room, nice breakfast. The art work (which is what the hotel is named after) is dubious but inoffensive. If you get a cheap deal like we did (around 60 - 70 euros a night) stay here, don't pay much more thats my advice.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
37
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Pros
Lovely big rooom with comfy bed (downstairs with queen bed)
Gorgeous bathroom
Lovely clean pool in the courtyard
Free internet in reception area
Good healthy breakfast served on verandah
Friendly staff - especially the massage lady who gives the best massage ever (included in room price)
Cons
Signage not good and down the end of a lane which made it very hard to find at first
A bit of a trek to Eat Street for food and shopping
An occassional bad smell from the bathroom
The two pet dogs who barked way too much and were constantly peeing on our clothes drier on the verandah - not nice :(
We enjoyed our stay at Casa Artista but I am not sure that we would stay in such a small hotel again. It is like staying at a friends place ( the European owner actually lives in one of the rooms - but hardly saw her) and it sometimes felt like you were being a nuisance if you asked for too much

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at Cafe Artista with my mother (82) for 5 nights because the Villa Kresna Tropical Resort driver took us there when we were collected from the airport. The hotel I had booked as a Balinese compound type of resort had not completed it's renovations ( I was not told this during the numerous emails re my booking however they happily accepted my $100 USD deposit!) We arrived late at night and were advised that we would be staying at Casa Artista instead in an upstairs room.(difficult for my mother as she has trouble with her hip and I had chosen accommodation in a ground floor facility)Nobody offered an apology for the deception with our booking The owner was in full flight with one of her tango nights and neither introduced herself, or invited us to join the party. We felt like outsiders for the 5 days. I agree with the other reviewer about her being unfriendly because she did not speak to us for the 5 days even though she saw us every day. Her dog was given free reign of the facilities and often slipped into our room and I almost stepped in the dog poo left on the stairs. The massage was expensive and in an outdoor room with no fan or music to make it a relaxing experience. The sand at Seminyak was dark brown and the beach covered in rubbish.The room service we ordered was a schnitzel and was overcooked and tough. The toilet would not flush enough water to remove anything and the tiles slippery when wet. Luckily I had the fall, not my mother ! On the nights when there was no tango, the place was deathly quiet with no music at all. We did not seem to be welcomed or encouraged to eat in the dining room so all meals were taken in our room. It was too far for my mum to walk to where the restaurant and shops were.When my sister in law arrived on the 5th day we went to Legion and quickly found something friendlier, cleaner, cheaper and with better facilities and moved there for the remaining 7 nights. This was NOT the friendly Balinese experience we had booked and I still have not received an explanation for the deception when the booking was taken nearly 5 months previously!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayd for 12 days and had a lovely time. I could stay only at the hotel and have nice vaccation. The staff are realy nice and friendly. what I like most was that it was so quiet and yet convenient location. I can realy recomend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The hotel is simply perfect, just a minutes walk to the beach, easy to reach Kuta's shopping and night life experience but far away enough to the overcrowded tourist hotspots. It is the perfect combination of a wonderful quiet place to relax with still all options that Kuta offers in the neighbourhood. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the complex, a remarkable hotel lobby with inviting courtyard and pool behind it. Management and staff are very friendly and capable, willing to assist you with your small and big needs. A place I$felt like 'coming home'. Hope I'll be able to visit again quite soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

spend ten days in casaartista and were the best!
ls rooms, service, food and staff are fabulous.
made me feel at home.
I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

It's a nice place blend of culture and art, I experienced a interseting "ArgentineTango night" here, the room service is good. they have the best spot for my "cafe escape".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Artista Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Artista Bali

Address: Jl Saridewi 17 | Sunset Village, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Artista, your home away from home. Enjoy exclusive Bali vacation in an outstanding ambiance, specially designed for singles and couples. Come and enjoy refreshing Bali holidays, combined with sophisticated entertainment. Experience a new exciting world when you come to Bali as our boutique style Bali residence opens its doors to people who are in passion. In passion with the arts, with Tango, this is what Casa Artista will cater to visitors with a discerning taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Artista Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Artista Bali Hotel Seminyak
Casa Artista Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Artista Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.