We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a beautiful meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHANDI

CHANDI
Jalan Kayu Aya 72 | Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361.731.060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 376 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: CHANDI'S Kitchen, Wine Bar and Cocktail Bar, open daily from 12 NOON till 12 MIDNIGHT. CHANDI's Cuisine is Pan Asian with a focus on Indonesian Classics as prepared by Chef Agung Nugroho who comes from 20 years in some of the most celebrated New York City Kitchens. Locally sourced Organic Greens, Spices, Roots and Fruits mingle both in the Kitchen and its two Bars. 11 Wines by th glass are offered daily, as well as an extensive Wine and Champagne list offering over 80 Wines and 9 Champagnes by the Bottle.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a beautiful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A lovely restaurant with good food to match. We made a reservation, and were seated promptly. The atmosphere is simply beautiful- traditional Balinese with modern twists. It's a great spot for a romantic meal, but don't expect adults only (young kids were seated on either side of our table).

The menu is large and diverse, with plenty of seafood, meat and vegetarian options available. A great cocktail list pairs well with with the cuisine. Standouts were the entrees- we weren't blown away with the appetizers, but they were okay (slipper lobster, meh, and sate, good but not wowed). My husband had a steak and thought it was delicious; I had the miso black bass and found it fantastic.

Dinner for two including two appetizers, two entrees, four or six cocktails, and tip was about $90. Very reasonable given the caliber of cuisine.

The restaurant is in a great part of town, within walking distance of plenty of bars for a nightcap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bellalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We dined here on the last night of our 15 day trip. Ordered the mixed platter to start, it was delicious. Our mains were a bit hit and miss, but we would definitely try Chandi again, as the food quality and service were excellent. They don't have any kids meals unfortunately, but great cocktails!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BondiFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, great menu and the food was excellent. Awesome cocktails too. Favourite place in seminyak during my first trip, was here 9 days so tried quite a few places but this was superb.

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great venue, pretty good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ambience in this place was excellent. Food was a bit up and down, some food amazing, some not great. Well worth a visit though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Impressive - have you considered it for lunch?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently had a couple of lunches at Chandi and was really impressed with the quality of the food. Chandi isn’t as pretty during the day as it is in the evening, however its central location makes it very appealing. It’s a good place to stop off for a late lunch after a morning of shopping!

They offer a 2 course lunch menu for 125,000 rupee or you can order from the varied lunch menu – a couple of my favourites included the dumplings, dim sum and vegie stuffed indian bread with vegie chips.

The great thing about lunch is that you can order an entrée or two and enjoy a glass of wine and experience the excellent food at a fraction of the evening dining prices. We felt no pressure to over order.

Chandi has a nice selections of wines which they sell by the glass.

This isn’t a pretentious Seminyak restaurant (despite being high end) they are happy for you to bring the whole family and have a relaxed lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHANDI also viewed

 

Been to CHANDI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing