We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHANDI

CHANDI
Jalan Kayu Aya 72 | Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361.731.060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 292 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Dim Sum, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: CHANDI'S Kitchen, Wine Bar and Cocktail Bar, open daily from 12 NOON till 12 MIDNIGHT. CHANDI's Cuisine is Pan Asian with a focus on Indonesian Classics as prepared by Chef Agung Nugroho who comes from 20 years in some of the most celebrated New York City Kitchens. Locally sourced Organic Greens, Spices, Roots and Fruits mingle both in the Kitchen and its two Bars. 11 Wines by th glass are offered daily, as well as an extensive Wine and Champagne list offering over 80 Wines and 9 Champagnes by the Bottle.
Bunbury
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Another good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Managed to walk in Saturday night at 7pm, loved the atmosphere big open dining room very tastefully decorated.
The ginger, lemongrass Mojito big thumbs up and I rarely drink alcohol?
There was a full moon set dinner on for 300++ which looked amazing but we went a la carte and had the pork belly which was very good! the surprise was the black rice pudding with coconut ice cream and toasted flakes of ginger with diced mango cheeks, heaven on a stick and bumped Scratch Restaurants desert of the trip into second place!
Coffee as per usual very average.
Great attentive staff, clean restrooms and a good dining experience even though are daughter fell ill whilst we were dining ( long day at waterbom and too much chlorine water me thinks)
Was not a lot on the menu for children I would have to say.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    476
    114
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited Chandi for a friday night dinner and absolutely loved it.

For appetizers we had the lobster and the dim sum, which were both perfect. The grilled lobster was juicy and the soy based sauce had that special twist. The dim sum (sea food, beef) were creative and better than any dim sum I have tried in Europe so far. As main courses we had the Sate Platter (nice dish that comes with 6 sambals but scallops and beef sates alone would have been a better choice) and the grilled black sea food which was everything you want from a fish dish: fresh, juicy, well prepared, lovely combination of flavours in the reduction.

The dessert platter was only average. If you stick to the fondants and/or the homemade ice creams/sorbets you can't go wrong though.

Cocktails are above average but can't keep up with the best bars of Europe/US.

Service was good.

Make a reservation to get one of the "better" tables.

In a nutshell: Great asian fusion cuisine in a lovely ambience. Expect relatively high prices for Bali but a great deal if you're used to European/US/Aussie prices. We'll definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food, good service nice drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

very large menu to choose from, a lot of seafood and a very cosy atmosphere, filled up me and the mrs on around $80 aud, which is very good for the amount of ood we had, definatly going back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Impressive not outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

On my last 2 trips to Bali over the last 3 years I raved about Chandi. Here is Balinese and Indonesian food done with exceptional quality and imagination. Chef's inventiveness was the point of differentiation: not fish with sambal, but fish with 9 different sambal; not duck but duck done 2 ways, etc.

Chef has now changed the menu. What remains is Balinese and Indonesian food done with exceptional quality and imagination - but old favourites have gone and new replacements are not as exciting. This is entirely personal, and I still recommend Chandi as a must-do restaurant to others, but it has lost its gold medal to another place.

Decor and ambiance are superb; service is attentive; cocktails (and mocktails) delicious and different. I will return but I miss my 9 sambal.

Go, enjoy and have great night out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great pan asian selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Dined here with friends and it really hit the spot.
It has a great mix of pan asian dishes ( as well as many Balinese dishes with a slightly modern twist), good cocktails and a decent priced wine list.

Service was great and the ambience good.
Dinner for 4 with a few alcoholic drinks was around 3 million so good value for great quality food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHANDI also viewed

 

Been to CHANDI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHANDI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.