We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pantarei

Pantarei
Jl. Raya Seminyak 17 A | Kuta, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62361732567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have stopped here in the past for a drink but never a meal. We decided at the spur of the moment tonight to go and eat and we were not disappointed.

We had many mezze dishes - spanakopita, Greek spring rolls, baked aubergine/cheese and the beetroot salad, all delicious. Our daughter had the lamb shank and my husband had the lamb gyros, they said both lovely.

Sadly we missed Christos as it was not a Tuesday or Saturday night, oh well there will always be next time..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    63
    19
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food, unattentive, rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Atmosphere not great and the food average. Staff couldn't wait to get rid of us when they realised we had two young children - not child friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a Greek Australian, I was a tad cynical about a Greek restaurant in Seminyak but was surprised at the quality and authenticity of the food, except for the saganaki which is not saganaki but rather, fried cheddar/tasty cheese. The interior, food and service were excellent as was the band who played and sang Greek songs to perfection allowing me a chance to dance the Zorba which is the last thing I expected to be doing in Bali.

The grilled octopus, stuffed mushrooms, half chicken and barramundi are worth mentioning as are the sweets - baklava and the best loukoumades I've ever had.

It was my best restaurant experience in Bali this time around and am looking forward to another round of Greek food and music next time I visit Bali. Just make sure you go on Tuesday and Saturday nights when the band is playing - the band definitely adds to the night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic & great value moussaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't think I'll ever try anything else at the Pantarai as the Moussaka is just so good, the best I can remember having outside of Greece. My husband enjoyed the fish & vegetable soup (also on both visits!) & complimentary fresh bread which comes with olive & green pepper dips. Prices are really good for the quality of the food & compared to other higher end restaurants in Seminyak. Service is excellent & the setting is attractive & very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't go on a Tuesday or Saturday when there's live music. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Greek flavors in Seminyak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Reasonably priced Greek food in the heart of Seminyak. The meze plates are good to share and are a goodly sized portion. We tried the meat platters, but for us, the meat was overcooked a little too much. We were hoping for the meat to be grilled over charcoal, but they were just done on a grill.

We enjoyed the food, and the prices were reasonable. Not outstanding, but worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pantarei also viewed

 

Been to Pantarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantarei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.