We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Des Indes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Des Indes to your Saves list
Villa Des Indes
3 Astinapura St, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in Villa Des Indes for our five year anniversary. We were blown away with the villa. The joglo was an amazing centre piece to spend most our time eating and relaxing by the pool. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and anything we required, whether it be a reservation at a recommended restaurant or a driver to show us the sights, was easily and promptly arranged. I found myself struggling with the fact we only had five days in Bali and with such beautiful and peaceful surrounds I did not want to leave the villa, but at the same time I could not come to Bali without seeing a little of the island. I especially loved that every time we were to return to the villa we were welcomed with a cold, wet towel to cool our face. I would recommend the villa to any one. I hope to come back one day with my family, it will be a holiday to remember.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This villa is unique in that it is a bit like the owners house where he just adds some more antiques every time he collects them! There are 4 villas actually in one enclosure and all extremely private. I walked into the very spacious bathroom and there was an old cabinet which took my attention. As I opened the lid I discovered it was an old gramophone player, amazing!

Ideal for families who want to get away from it all and the feel is a mix between classic mature and modern with lots of wooden walls and floors.

Staff are excellent and call you by name as soon as you arrive. They could not be more helpful and spent a lot of time making sure my daughter was being spoiled. The only thing was the noisy floorboards in the villa but all part of the traditional feel. A great place to stay and a great location with the beach accessible just across the street.

Room Tip: Choose the villa with the tiled floor if you think the floorboards creaking will annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

we go frequently to seminyak, l decided to las out and stay at villa des indes 2 with my husband and 2 teenage children, WOW!!!! is all we can say it was the most amazing place we have ever stayed.the layout of the villa is fantastic and all the beautiful antiques around the villa everywhere are facinating. everything about this villa is first class, the rooms , the huge pool, the best staff in the world and the food was amazing, it was all so relaxing in a great spot in seminyak.holiday of a lifetime. thanks to koman the manager and all the staff for giving us such a wonderfultime, even milo the labrador came for a visit, heaps of fun.

Room Tip: you will never regret spending time here you never need leave the villa if you dont want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Villa des Indes, Bali. We come to Bali for 2 weeks every February and always opt to rent a private villa over a hotel. Over the years we have rented some very large villas in various places such as Seminyak, Ubud and also a Canggu beachfront villa. All of these villas have had an abundance of staff and in general were gorgeous property's. We do travel frequently throughout the year and always travel first/business class, so we do get very spoilt and become very picky with our accommodation as we have stayed in some amazing places. We also have our own villa in Phuket that we also rent out to guests when we are not using it so it is always of great interest to see how others operate their own villas!

When in Bali we normally rent a villa for one week in the Oberoi/Seminyak area which we love and then a villa further out somewhere near Canggu, Echo beach or Tanah lot. This year we first rented Villa Devantas (see review) and then moved for our final 8 nights to Villa des Indes. We had originally booked the 2 bedroom villa, Villa des Indes II for our entire 8 nights but then we learnt that the larger villa was available for 6 nights so we upgraded to Villa des Indes I for the first 6 nights and then moved to the smaller villa for the last 2 nights.

I had found the villa whilst exploring on-line and I had also heard very good things about it. The reviews on trip advisor are excellent with it having a nearly perfect score from all reviewers. On arrival we were met by several of the staff, known as your butlers who presented us with cold towels and a welcome drink and a selection of canapés cooked by the in-house chef.

As you open the oversized antique doors and enter Villa des Indes I compound it simply takes your breath away. Before your eyes is the magnificent antique joglo, which is immense in size and a beautiful display of craftsmanship surrounded by multi tiered water features. Instantly you know your in for something special.

The villa is spotless and immaculate. The attention to detail is incredible and the staff and service are just perfection. The furnishings and décor are quite fabulous and the various antiques throughout the villa and bedroom suites are quite simply impressive!

There is a large lagoon style free form swimming pool that surrounds the main living pavilion as well as 3 master bedroom suites that are very large and incredibly comfortable.

The two master bedroom suites known as the East and West Master bedrooms are single level with a large living room with cable TV and a great selection of international channels. Comfortable sofas, books and a desk. The bedrooms have comfortable beds, excellent linens that are monogramed, oversized walk through wardrobes and large bathrooms with double sinks, huge soaking tubs and both indoor and outdoor showers. Lovely thoughtful amenities are provided such as drinking water throughout, band aids, cotton buds etc in the bathrooms and full sized body shop bathroom products in the showers.

The guest villa in Villa Indes I is a 2 storey pavilion complete with an upper open air relaxation area with day bed, kitchenette and various chairs and seating.

The most outstanding feature of the villa is the all male staff. That are trained to such a high standard. Our first butler was Komang (might have the spelling wrong) who was an incredible asset to the villa. His attention to the guests requirements is outstanding. We went for a dip in the pool and before we were out he would appear with pool towels. My partner lit a cigarette in the garden and he suddenly appeared with an ashtray. Our champagne glass would finish and somehow he would just appear to refill it.

We had lunch on arrival and he set up a lovely round table by the side of the pool complete with linen and silverware. We had friends over for lunch and dinners several times and canapés were served from silver platters with tongs for our guests and one night we had a BBQ that was probably the best meal we ate in all of Bali. The steak was definitely the best we had in Bali. The fish was so enjoyed by one guest that normally is not a fish eater and he had three pieces.

Your butler is there till very late around midnight or basically when you go to bed and is just a ring away. You have little bells all over the property that you just ring and they instantly appear from an unobtrusive staff area.

On our first night Komang was there till midnight and back at around 6.30am, quietly polishing furniture in the living pavilion before you wake up, rolling pool towels, preparing sun beds and changing flowers etc.

The villa is filled with a wonderful selection of books and fabulous magazines on interiors etc that we loved flicking through pool side.

We then moved to the 2 bedroom villa for the last 2 nights and has a wonderful huge garden that they have obviously maintained to be able to hold large events here such as weddings and dinners etc. I think it would also be great for young children to run around in. I believe it is about 900 sq.m but for us it remained unused.

The 2 bedroom villa again is very comfortable and well thought out. My only problem was the staff kitchen and office is very close and often we could hear them chatting in the evening and doing the washing up etc. This seems trivial but after the sheer perfection of the 3 bedroom it was very noticeable.

All in all we had an incredible stay and we are looking at returning next year to stay again. The villa's are in a very exclusive complex of maybe 12 villas but all individual in style. We actually had a look a couple of the other villas but they did not even come close to Villa des Indes.

Room Tip: Worth the extra if you can afford it and go for Villa des Indes I
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Ahh, beautiful villa DES indes this is our second time we have stayed. We have stayed the villa 1 last year and came back and stayed with our friends in villa 2. So beautiful the service from staff the lovely way that the whole villa has an awesome ambiance. Having Milo the Labrador there felt just like home. As we have a Milo too.The chef is fantastic all our meals were superb . I think villa 1 has a special feeling of luxury being in a very special place it just sits with you very well.
We went out to Sarong amazing restaurant and just ate entrees I think if you wanting somewhere special for dinner make an effort and go.
At sunset on the couch at Samaya with a cocktail in hand is a very special moment. Then wander back to the villa and dinner ready all set out beautifully .ahh the life of Reilly

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Amazing!
I stayed at Villa Des Indes II with my husband and another couple for 5 nights. We all loved it.
The staff of young men were friendly, warm, obliging and always happy. They couldn't do enough for us. Meli, the driver, took us on some wonderful day excursions. Thank you Meli. Koman, the manager, was very helpful, and always available to assist us in any activities we wanted to do. We all fell in love with Milo, the golden retriever, which is the villa dog.
The villa itself was fantastic. It was definitely built as a labour of love. It had two suites - one upstairs and one downstairs. Both were luxuriously appointed and very spacious. Everywhere throughout the bedrooms and Joglo were Indonesian artefacts which were beautiful and original.
Words can't describe the villa and the website doesn't do it justice.
Thank you to all the staff - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We loved Villa Des Indes so much the first time that only three months later we were back! We stayed at the smaller villa the first time and the larger one with a group of friends the second time. Both stays were flawless. The houses are both incredibly comfortable with every imaginable luxury. The staff are warm, friendly, discreet and efficient - the perfect combination of there when you want them and not in your face when you want privacy. No request flusters them, no matter how big or small. The beds are superbly comfortable, the pools gorgeous, the food incredibly well priced as well as delicious. No complaints at all except that the villa dog, Milo, was sometimes not allowed to stay with us and we missed him when he wasn't around! What a phenomenal property!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Des Indes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Des Indes

Address: 3 Astinapura St, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA DES INDES are two ancient Javanese ‘Joglo’ Villas in Seminyak, Bali, steeped in luxury with personal chefs and butlers. Directly across from the beach, VILLA DES INDES is made up of two colonial villas which can be rented out seperately as a 2, 3 or 5 bedroom residence. The Joglo of VILLA DES INDES I (3 bedroom) is surrounded by a 21m pool. VILLA DES INDES II (2 bedroom) is a two-story pavilion with pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Des Indes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Des Indes Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Des Indes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.