We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you want to be in busy Seminyak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Seminyak to your Saves list
The Residence Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location if you want to be in busy Seminyak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed over the new year period and the villa was located in the heart of Seminyak, juts a couple streets off the main drag of Seminyak/Oberoi area. 5 mins to all the popular haunts.

Its was a very busy time of the year being NYE and all, so we hope that the service levels sufferred as a result. The villa was severely understaffed and unless you book early or in advance for transfers, breakfast...etc, as staff tend to need reminders, and attention to details were a bit of a challenge.

The villa is not too child friendly (we had a 2 yr old) so keeping an eye so that nobody goes tumbling into the pool was a full time job.

The driver recommended by the hotel was "functional" but could not suggest if prompted for suggestions, and certainly did not offer information about the places we were heading, it costs US$50 (incl taxes) per day for 10 hours, which we subsequently found out was probably on the high side.

Overall ok, location was central for those wanting to be in seminyak/oberoi, but a bit planning and would've got a better place for the money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

They gave me a great service with familiar staff. They help anything what they can do. Thanks a lot. Great hotel for your business

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We spent 3 nights in the two bedroom deluxe villa 105. The size of the villa is definitely amazing. Big swimming pool and hugh bale upstairs. The manager is very nice, she upgrade us to deluxe villa for free with one guest bedroom locked, and romantic set up was in place when we checked into the villa. The rate she offered is also good.

However, the facility is more of a serviced apartment type villa, you don't expect hotel level service. Room service doesn't replace the toothbrush and toothpaste. The towels are clean I guess, but the color is not very pleasant. My wife and I got about 20 mosquito bites from the first night. There is no mosquito net and the bathroom is outdoor and there is big gap between the sliding doors. We ordered breakfast one night in advance for the next morning, but the staff still forgot to show up. We had to call a couple of times to push them. The free WiFi is available, but it doesn' t work when you turn on your laptop. You need to manually reboot the wireless modem located by the swimming pool every single time. The manager explained to us that such defect is caused by unsteady Indonesian infrastructure. But the free WiFi in Royal Pita Maha where we're staying at now seems to work all the time. The service here also overide The Residence Seminyak by far.

All in all, if you're traveling with friends or family, and don't expect high end service, I do recommend this villa since the value and size are very good. But if you travel with your girlfriend or wife and expect perfect experience, I do not recommend this villa.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed at Residence Seminyak 5 nights last september.

The hotel and its facilities:
Actually it's not a real hotel but rather a residence with a dozen villas.
That's not a concern as you get housekeeping, in house breakfast and phone numbers for home delivery if you want to dine in your villa.
However we were very disapointed by the in house breakfast.
At first it seems top chic: you have your own cook preparing breakfast in your kitchen at the hour you reserved.
But they were never on time (early or late), the food would arrive pre-cooked and was only warmed up in the kitchen.
In fact the eggs, toasts and pancakes were always cold when served.
The juice was not real fresh juice and they even charged me when I asked for an extra (cold) pancake.
Also if you reserve thru a travel agency you get a cheaper rate but then there are a few amenities that are not included, like airport transfert.
That was no big deal.
The manager is a young women from Singapor and is really friendly. We talked a lot and she gave us good tips on restaurants and place to go out nearby.

The villas:
The smallest was a 2 bedroom villa witch was HUGE! Actually clearly oversized for the 2 of us. The private pool was also huge.
The villas were nicely furnished though there were a few spots on the chairs and a weird smell of mould in the bathroom.
You have high-speed wireless internet access. There's also a flat TV with DVD player and you can borrow DVDs at the reception.
We were in villa n°9 witch is the closest to the road so you hear noise from traffic (especially motorbikes).
Go check their website: you can see a map of the resort and a few pictures.

The surroundings:
That's the major problem. Seminyak is a strange place full of wealthy expats and luxury resorts but with no proper roads!
Walking out there is uncomfortable and unsafe. There are no pavements and when they are, watch your step they have big holes.
At nights these roads get completly dark -especially the ones leading to the Residence- and you'd better take a flashlight with you.
You can always take a taxi: they're cheap, but they sometime forget to turn their taximeter on, or try to drive you to another place...
The regular fare for a short distance drive is RP 15,000.
You have to walk a good 15 minutes to get to the beach from the Residence, under the sun and in the middle of traffic (remember: no pavement).
Then you access the beach and can bargain for a beachchair. We payed RP 50,000 for 2 beachchairs for the day, but I'm sure you can get them for less.

Overall:
I score it 4/5. Though location and breakfast were unsatisfactory it's a very good ratio quality/price and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Seminyak

Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#52 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa estate is only 20 minutes drive from the International Airport and is nestled in the most fashionable district of Bali, called Seminyak. We are located within a minutes’ walk to Bali’s famous Eat Street with lots of popular restaurants, fashionable boutiques, prestigious art shops and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Seminyak Hotel Bali
The Residence Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.