We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Consider” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Seminyak to your Saves list
The Residence Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 114 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can Consider”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is my 4th time in Bali but the first time choosing a villa with 4 bedrooms. It was quite a tough choice but I settled on this as the price was reasonable and location was not too bad. There were total of 8 persons. It was a good experience staying in a huge villa. Rooms were tidy and clean when we came in. Staff was helpful and gave us all the necessary information. We also asked if we could rent motorcycles and she helped us with it , had the motorcycles parked in front of our villa. Wifi was good in the villa and housekeeping was very efficient and helpful. We had the Villa Senang, there were quite a number of Balinese statues which we didn't quite like it. Villa is near shops, about 10 - 15 minutes walk. One of the nights, one of us wanted to use the iron. Didn't realise that the wire was faulty and broken. Luck wasn't on his side, he got electrocuted for few minutes. But thank god, he was okay after that. These are small things which management might not notice or aware. Management should do a thorough check on the villas every now and then for everyone's safety. Overall, would consider to stay here again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have chosen the 5 rooms villa since we had 9 ppls to go with us. It was a memorable experience to us.

Rooms:
The rooms are tidy, clean enough, although not very big. Bubble bath, bathing salt were provided. Air-conditioning is good, however, the room was very dark. Anti-Mosquito sprays were provided in rooms since there were many in Bali villas. However, they were not really that useful and we were stung every nights.

Common area:
A clean swimming pool around 1.5m in depth with sunbathing chairs located by side. There was a kitchen, a living room, with a HD TV containing loads of movies. We had breakfast in the dining area with is comfortable, a Ipod with speaker was provided in the dining area for audible enjoyment.

Services:
Service was fantastic! We have got two butlers, one in day-time and one in evening time (Both were called Made). They were nice and caring. Whenever we had questions about our itinerary. They just helped us and helped us contact with the drivers, restaurants, trip company..etc. They served us with drinks whenever we came back to the villa, provided all the things we wanted.
We had a bad experience at the first night since one of our friends got his mobile robbed by a man on motorcycle. The butlers were disappointed and worried about us and contact with the manager. The manager came to us in the next morning and brought us to the police station the next day.
Overall, the area was clean and tidy, and the service was nice and we feel so warm in the villa with both butlers, Made and Made.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

WE have just returned from our second stay at Villa Siam, the staff are great, very helpful, breakfast was good cooked in the morning in your villa for you, only thing I would change is there needs to be a shaving mirror in the bathroom as lighting is poor

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a certain villa months ahead of our stay. It was to be a special holiday for my daughters, granddaughter and friend. When we arrived we were in a completely different villa. Nowhere near as nice as the one we had booked. When we queried this we were told that the villa we had booked (and confirmed) wouldn't be available for three days. As we were only there for five days this was not acceptable. We were eventually transferred to the villa we had booked but by then it was too late. Very unprofessional and disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The villa we stayed in was nice - not as "Balinese" as some of the others in the same complex - really we could have been staying anywhere, so that was a little disappointing. It was however clean, well maintained and well presented.

I read an earlier review which says not to bother about the breakfast - we couldn't agree more - it was very ordinary at no fault of the staff who prepare it, but rather the budget allowed for it. We were served "Jungle Juice" rather than fresh juice which is readily available and delicious in Bali. The pastries were extremely ordinary and delicious pastries are available at retail outlets nearby in Seminyak. We opted to have breakfast at nearby restaurants on a couple of occasions and much preferred the experience. We have stayed in villas in Bali before where breakfast has been prepared in our room at a far higher standard, so we know it is possible. The budget was just stingy.

The wifi did not work well in the lounge room/dining room of the villa. The only place where it was reasonably effective was out by the pool - this was okay, but just okay, as we were not there just to holiday, but to do work as well, and it can be exceptionally hot outside in the middle of a Bali day, so the wifi experience was particularly ordinary.

The staff were delightful. Overall we enjoyed the stay, but it doesn't take much to reduce the overall experience. These villas are not cheap to stay in and the very least that international travellers expect is wifi. Properties should not offer breakfast with the belief that they are doing the guest a great favour unless it is a really enjoyable experience. We certainly didn't need to walk far to find first class produce that could have been offered to us at breakfast or to find first class breakfast cafes.

I wish I could be more positive. If wifi and breakfast aren't an issue for you, then I am certain you will have a lovely time. Just don't expect your laundry back on the same day, despite what the laundry sheet says! And even if it comes back the next day, don't expect it to be white or crisply ironed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights over Christmas with my family. We had three villas in total, each as spectacular as the last. The decor was just amazing, the rooms were beautiful and the staff were so incredibly lovely. They came in every day to make breakfast and make up the rooms but were never intrusive. They also assisted us in putting together a spectacular Christmas lunch. I loved the location as we were in walking distance of Seminyak's main shopping street and trendy hang outs like Ku De Ta and Potato head were only a short taxi ride away, that said there were great restaurants within a 5 minute walk too. Staff were friendly and helpful in booking things and invited all 20+ of us to participate in a hindu ceremony to celebrate the anniversary of the establishment. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from spending 5 nights with friends at The Residence in Seminyak for my birthday. We stayed in Villa 10 (4 bedrooms) and we had a second villa for another 2 couples villa 7 (2 bedrooms). Everyone had a great experience the villas were clean and tidy and the staff were wonderful especially, the little fairy's that cook you breakfast and then come in later to clean up and make up the rooms. The location is also great, walking distance from restaurants and coffee shop. This was our second time at The Residence and we have had a great experience both times, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Seminyak

Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#51 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa estate is only 20 minutes drive from the International Airport and is nestled in the most fashionable district of Bali, called Seminyak. We are located within a minutes’ walk to Bali’s famous Eat Street with lots of popular restaurants, fashionable boutiques, prestigious art shops and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Seminyak Hotel Bali
The Residence Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.