We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Seminyak to your Saves list
The Residence Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were in Bali for Christmas 2012. We had already had a bad experience with by booking a private villa just going through the looks of it online. In reality it turned to dirty and unkept. We decided to shift to The Residence Seminyak since we had already stayed at their property in Phuket. We had a great time at their property in Phuket, hence decided to move here although this was more expensive than the villa we booked earlier.

Nonetheless we checked-in and the villa looked gorgeous! We were there for 15 minutes or so and realised that the air-conditioning was not so effective. The engineering checked and said that give it a few minutes minutes more and it will work fine. We gave it another 30 minutes and it was still the same. The lady checking us in, did not charge our cards saying she'll check if some other room is available. Since there was no other room available, she suggested that we head out for Dinner (since we checked in around 7.30-8pm) and come back and see if the AC is cold enough. If not then we can choose to move out to another villa resort.

We agreed and head out for dinner at around 9pm and got back by 12am (we also checked a few villas, incase we had to move). When we got back, the cooling was still the same with no improvement. We decided to leave and move to another place. By this time the lady who checked us in was replaced by a guy the reception desk. We informed him that we are going since the cooling is still the same. To our shock, he said you have to pay half day charge since you're checking out after 12am. We told him politely that this was never told to us, and his colleague and herself suggested that if the room isn't cool until after we are back, we can leave. That is the reason she had not even charged our credit cards. This man here refused to listen to anything and when we said that we are not liable to pay since we didn't even use the room or stay in it, only our luggage was there, he refused to budge. Rather threatened us to call the police and get us arrested! We asked him he can feel free to call the police since we didn't do anything wrong, along with which we asked that lady to be called who checked us in. She came, and admitted not informing us about half day or about telling us if we were suppose to be back within a certain time period. However, when she called her manager he told her blatantly that since it was her fault so either she pays or we pay. We agreed to pay and told the RUDE man at the desk that we didn't pay because we were scared of the police, but because the poor girl would have had to pay and she probably didn't even make that much of salary. This was one of the worst experiences we came across, and we shall never recommend this chain of resorts to anyone ever because it's not just the rooms that make a resort good, it's the service and the attitude of the people. They might have extorted a half day rate from us, but they can be rest assured that they've lost a patronage and good recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I run a publicly traded company and travel extensively for business. This was the worst stay experience I have had in last 11 years, only a stay in India in 2001 was worst. We stayed for three nights from 28 December to 31st December 2012 in Villa #10. I haven't been so happy to leave a place since i flew out of Iraq in 2009. The villa was not suited to receive guests (cigarette butts left behind, sewage smell in upstairs rooms, no covers for lounge chair (what should we all sit on the tiles!!). Entire family bitten by mozzies (place hasn't been fumigated in weeks we suspect). This is not a "staffed villa" - any staff are 200 meters away. Breakfast arrives cold (last day we ate elsewhere for breakfast) as it is carried in open air down the road. Drunk people packed in the villa next door partying till 2am with motorcycles going in / out. We called the security and they did nothing; the "concierge" didn't answer the mobile - we had to scream at the neighbors for them to stop on the last night. Trash behind the villa (see photos); trash in the access road to villas (see photos). Five star price (US$850 a night !!!) for 2 star experience. Don't make the same mistake we did go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent days looking for a family villa in Bali. Endless options, opted for The Residence as it met our brief, despite some funny reviews. Expensive rates but saved money on early booking. Professional greeting on arrival and Nyoman an awesome driver. Stayed at Villa Senang. Huge villa, beautifully presented with the most sunning pool and garden. Im not the sit by the pool person but here that was easy. Breakfast in mornings with 4 options was very generous. Exceptionally quiet but hardly any walk to restaurants and not that far to beach. Staff very friendly and helpful but did have a little mess with bill. For the first trip with young kids (6 and 9) a villa is only way to go. Safe, quiet, luxurious and you don't have to fight for a space near the pool or in the pool. They need to add an IPOD or stereo and maybe a coffee machine, urn to make tea. Overall an amazing stay, my kids were blown away.

Room Tip: Cant beat villa senang. Huge pool, huge rooms and lots of space and privacy. Pool had sun on it from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Only positive things to say about The Residence. We were there in April and had a great time.

Staff we friendly and helpful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom delux which was perfect for what we needed.

Great location to all the action.

Will be returning when we get back to Bali and will recomend to all our friends.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom delux was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

First time at this property in Seminyak and had a very pleasant stay - having stayed at a number of villa style properties in the area so here are some comments.

Villa quality good, spacious. Staff friendly and helpful.
Pool & terrace location meant no sun for sunbeds at any time of the day - disappointing of course.
Amenties - good but lacking final touches - iPod dock, coffee maker, TV in bedroom for example.
Towel rail loose keeps falling off, annoying as must happen every time staff replace towels so fix it!! #9
Both Air con and fan in bedroom work well but make a racket so need maintenance..
Breakfast - service prompt and on time, average quality for this style of accomodation
Location - better than ancticipated - couple of minutes walk to Seminyak Square & "eat street"; 10 minutes or so to beach; also well located the other side for Jl. Petitenget restaurants.

Overall a good standard and a very pleasant stay. Would return so pros outway the cons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at this property from 31st March 2012 to 04th April 2012 with my family and found the property to be excellent. I would strongly recommend anyone travelling with family to consider this as one of the options for stay during their visit to Bali. Staff is very friendly and prompt to attend to all the guests needs. The property has everything as they promise in their website. The location despite being nice and quiet is very close to most of the facilities (restaurants, convenience stores, pharmacy, etc.). The property is also extremely well maintained and every requirement of ours was well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here with our 3 boys under 3 for four nights. The location is great for walking in to the main street of Seminyak close to "eat street" and shops. If you prefer to be walking distance to the beach I wouldn’t recommend these villas.

The staff were so lovely, we had to move to another villa in the Residence as the first villa wasn’t so good for our boys, and the staff we so helpful and understanding.

The breakfast was good and cooked in our room each day. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The pool was great, in the sun, very private.

If you are travelling with young children, my suggestion is to make sure all bedrooms are in the same building. We stayed in 4 properties in 10 nights during our stay as all the villas had the bedrooms separate to the living areas. This is great if you are travelling with other adults but not so good when you're with kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Seminyak

Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari No. 1A, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#55 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa estate is only 20 minutes drive from the International Airport and is nestled in the most fashionable district of Bali, called Seminyak. We are located within a minutes’ walk to Bali’s famous Eat Street with lots of popular restaurants, fashionable boutiques, prestigious art shops and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Seminyak Hotel Bali
The Residence Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.