We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor room layout, design and location but a 6-star service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak to your Saves list
Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak
JL. Drupadi No. 28, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Ranadi Villa, Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor room layout, design and location but a 6-star service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I couldn't agree more with the most recent review given on this property. It isn't suitable for a family with young children. We travelled in 5 pax and this includes one toddler and an infant . We stayed in a one-bedroom pool villa.
The biggest downside to this property is the separation of the living room / kitchen from the bedroom. When it rains ( 5 straight rain- pouring days out of our 6-day stay) having to travel between the 2 rooms is extremely annoying. Constantly opening and closing doors not only meant inconvenience, also risked mosquitoes invasion, frog or lizard coming to the room .
The second foremost downside is the kitchen. Poor design, limited bench space, can't even fit a plate on the benchtop. There's also no dining sets or a designated place for dining. There's one small table and chair so each person has to take turns eating. The other downsides are the deep sunken bath (dangerous for kids), one washing machine to be shared by 18 families (when full house), poor functioning air conditioner, and poor location. You can walk for around 15-20 min to reach some real shops but the walk is unpleasant. The road is narrow so cars or motorcycles will splash water on you from the puddles.
The only upside to this place is the service, it is a 6 star service. Despite being fully booked, the service is extremely prompt and accommodating. We made quite a lot of requests from housekeeping, each time our requests were received with smiles and patience, and items were delivered within 5 minutes .Staff members were extremely friendly n helpful.
Our stay has been unpleasant due to the extreme poor weather and disappointment with the room itself, but the excellent service and helpful staffs made our day everyday.
The rating of Poor is given based on the price of this accommodation vs what it has to offer. Disregarding the price, it would deserve an Average rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for a week with 7 pax with a mix family profile of grandparents, a toddler, an infant.

Stayed in a 2-bedroom villa near to the entrance/deli. Was initially worried about possible noise from outside, but it was very private. It is also near the gym and laundry area (villa 5). It is also near the main pool which has a children shallow pool area. This is good for us as the pool villa does not have area suitable for young children.

Villa design is not suitable for families with young children. There are three main buildings/wings separated by outdoor space. Two bedrooms are to the east and west of the kitchen/living room. So, when it is raining heavily, we will have to carry an umbrella when we commute between rooms or we will be struggling to juggle carrying several items (eg an active infant and milk bottles) while opening and closing doors. It was also dangerous to leave our children (infant & toddler) sleeping in the bedroom alone and rest/watch TV in the kitchen as it is too far away to hear any cries. The toliet is also dangerous for young children as it has a deep sunken bathtub where they can walked into it easily. The design is more suited for couples rather than families with young children.

Was also disappointed to find out that it had a common laundry area with only one washing machine and two dryers. Spent half a day doing laundry for 7 pax. It didn't help that there was a power trip and we had to restart the cycle. So do bring sufficient clothes. Was probably spoilt by other anantara vacation club facilities in Thailand where there is in-villa 2 in 1 washing machines and we could just throw our laundry into the machine and travel out.

Service was excellent. All staff were very professional and friendly. They were also very prompt in repairs when given feedback. I also enjoyed the refreshing cold water served when we go to the common pool.

For service. I only have issues with the quota of two 1.5L drinking water bottles per villa, which is very challenging for 7 people (including two milk drinking children). On good days, I could get 3 bottles after 'begging' for more. Anyway, we had to buy much more on our own. I just felt that they could ration the water according to the number of people living in a villa, rather than just standard 2 bottles per villa.

Deli food was tasty and nice. It is reasonably priced at around 100k to 150k for each main. For cheaper options, you can just take a short walk just outside (restaurant selling pizza, pasta and local food). There is also a mini mart just outside.

There are 3 shuttle timings to go to the beach club starting at 10am which is very hot at the beach. We called a cab to go there earlier in the morning for around 25k. It was cheap and recommended if you want to avoid the afternoon sun. Beach club for AVC is a good 5-10 min walk from drop off point and only comprise of 4 beach seats and an outdoor shower. We decided it was not worth the walk there but rather pay for the facilities nearer to the drop off point.

Generally, feel that AVC in seminyak is more suitable for couples instead of young or large families.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After being pampered from other Anantara Properties, this one is really very disappointing. Firstly this property is invaded by mosquitoes. I stayed for 4 days but i don't see any fogging on mosquitoes. Adults being bitten by mosquitoes is still bearable but not for kids. The room lights are very dim and the room aircon is under designed.The bathroom is a sauna with no ceiling fans or aircon. But one plus point is the F&B which does serve good food. The staff is very experience and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Summing it - exceptional stay. Great service, attentive staff, nice villa.
They'd offer you to attend a presentation which will not be a compulsive sell. You say no, and that's it. They won't force you unlike other time share...
Service was excellent which really condones everything else. But if they could improve on the following, it would become exceptional:
- Breakfast should be continental and should have more options especially for vegetarians. Currently very limited.
- Private pool should be bigger - too small currently

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I revisited this hotel , after a nine month renovation project. Wow!!

Its gone froma three star local hotel to a beautiful boutique villa property.

The staff were great, so friendly and helpful.

The villa was spacious, with all you could want. Cooking facilities, private pool, free wifi.

The restaurant, for a small hotel like this was amazing. The Chef is a great cook, and you must try the Chocolate Fluid Cake. More like self saucing pudding , full of chocolate warm sauce . Yum

Whilst not on the beach , it is ten minutes walk, its very conveninetly located near eat street and the famous Seminyak shopping strip.

Must visit.

Room Tip: Take a group of friends and stay in two bedroom or three bedroom. Big enough to live in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

i knew the certain rooms are under renovation, but we were not aware that they neither had swimming pool, gym nor a restaurant. Which was very disappointing. entrance of this place is also not at all impressive. Though our pool villa was very nice but rest of amenities of a good hotel was missing. Stay was comfortable but not memorable!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As this is my first villa stay,this place got my "wow" feel.Me and wife stayed at a one bedroom villa,which comes with a huge oversized king size bed.Love it.The pool is sizeable enough to get me jumping in every morning during our 6 day stay.

After being long in city living,the villa space,it's grass area,pool,outdoor shower certainly give me a feel of back to nature.Love the morning walk along the grass patches.

As we have lots of friends in Bali,the villa is really suitable to invite friends for drinks or coffee.The open space and pool enhances the great views for outdoor chatting too.

The kitchen is great for cooking too,as it is equipped with utensils for simple cooking.

The Surrounding is quiet and great for relaxing.

However,the room light is a bit too dim for my liking.We have difficulties trying to search for our belongings.Otherwise,everything else is great and we are looking forward to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak

Address: JL. Drupadi No. 28, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Ranadi Villa, Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide away in a boutique pool villa retreat that takes inspiration from a modern colonial plantation. A collection of 18 one, two and three bedroom private pool villas blend enchanting Balinese style and Anantara’s luxurious approach to an exotic home away from home. Each self contained villa is thoughtfully designed to offer a high degree of privacy, a sense of openness and a feeling of being at one with nature, so that you can experience the ultimate island lifestyle. Located only a 25 minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport, Bali’s jet setter lifestyle awaits you in trendy Seminyak. Discover one of the island’s most sought after destinations, characterised by a charming laid back vibe, great restaurants, gourmet cafés, chic bars and designer shops. More than a favourite haunt for the rich and famous, your stylish Seminyak escape can easily be combined with exploration of the island’s rich artistic scenes, spiritual heartland, traditional rural culture, and of course endless stunning beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranadi Villa Hotel Seminyak
Ranadi Hotel Seminyak
Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Vacation Club Bali Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.