We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Space at Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Space at Bali to your Saves list
Space at Bali
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Drupadi 8, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Margaret River, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were so excited to be returning to Space as part of our stay in Bali - it was like coming home!
The villa and pool are just as we remembered and the stay as lovely and helpful as ever.
Of all the places we have stayed in Bali, Space is the only one we return to - and be doing so again!
Thank you Tn. Nono and your team for a wonderful holiday, Sampai Jumpa Lagi!
Rachel, Gilles & Mathilda

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    27
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
79
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We have been renting villas in the past and Space is definitely the one I would recommend. The pool are the biggest in this category (check with googlemap!) made with lava stone, the villa are very well laid with everything you need. Staff is very attentive from breakfast to BBQ parties for 15 people with decor and candles!! The value is tremendous for this location which right in the middle of where the hype happens. Wayan and Nono are very concerned about the confort of their guests and although this is a private villa compound the service is like a hotel. Privacy is ultimate and staff knows what it means. Booking was super easy with all cards welcome while a lot of villas require bank transfer, e-mail answered promptly and no surprise at check-out. One advice: do not look any further, book Space!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I've been to Bali several times and after having stayed at other villas, Space lacks in comparison. I had high expectations after reading all the wonderful reviews here. However, we were disappointed with a few things.

1. Lighting in the villa and garden was quite dark. With such a beautiful garden, I feel there should have been more lighting within the plants to illuminate the place at night. We found it difficult to find get our key in the door as there wasn't much light and we had to fumble to open the door.

2. Kitchen wasn't very clean. Lots of ants and the floor was very sticky. We wanted to boil some water to make noodles but there wasn't a pot in sight! So we had to make do and use one of the pans to boil noodles!

3. We stayed in Villa 1 and every morning at 5am, a rooster at the residential area just next door kept crowing till about 8am. We really wanted to get some rest during our trip but obviously this wasn't possible as we were awake way before the sun came up! We called the front desk the first morning at about 6am to complain and no one even picked up the phone. So we spoke to someone later in the day and she just listened and said "Oh, ok", without suggesting any resolution. On our second night, we were woken up again by the rooster. Tried calling the front desk and yet again, no reply. I was concerned that no one picked up the phone, even though it was early. What if there was an emergency and someone needed urgent help? Anyway, we called later in the morning and the receptionist said she'd send the villa manager. 1 hour passed and no one showed up at our villa. So I called again and finally the manager came over and he was very nice. He said sorry and that he couldn't do anything about it except to move us to a different villa, which he did. So for the last 2 nights, we stayed at Villa 5 which was quiet.

4. Breakfast was below average. Lots of flies around our food, dishes were cold. I even opened one of those mini jam jars and was shocked to see that it was already used and had bits of foot in it! Even the Indonesian breakfast was disappointing.

Overall, as mentioned above, a disappointing stay. The staff were very nice but not attentive and spoke very little English (compared to the staff at other villas). I wouldn't recommend this place as there are plenty other villas with much better service, food and cleanliness elsewhere. Some other places to consider would be Villa Sakti and The Kayana.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We recently spent 9 nights at Space and everything you have read about Space before reading this review is true. Our villa and garden was immaculate and exactly how it looks on their website. The lap pool was perfect for our 2 children (12 and 10) as so many villas on Bali seem to have plunge pools. We were a 10 minute walk from 'Eat Street'/Jalan Laksmana where most of the great restaurants in Seminyak are located. Most evenings we took a taxi to the restaurant which cost no more than US$1 and we tended to walk back to the villa, stopping off at the various boutiques along the way. Many of the shops stay open until 9 or 10 pm. We had a couple of massages and reflexology in the villa which were good value and excellent. One day we arranged for a car and driver to take us to Ubud to go white water rafting. Bali is a busy place and it was so nice to be able to come back to such peace and quiet (not to mention luxury) after a day sightseeing. The staff at the villa were so friendly and made sure that we were well looked after at all times. We don't have a bad word to say about Space and would definitely stay there again. 'Terima Kasih' to everyone at Space for ensuring we had a great holiday!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Beautifull VILLA with private POOL and big beautifull Garden .
The service is perfect , the bedrooms are really nice and comfortable , beautiful bathrooms ...
We will comeback

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Whether you're travelling with friends, on a romantic holiday or wanting somewhere suitable for the kids without having to deal with the hustle and bustle of Bali this is the place for you.
Space Villas are nestled in a lush green area about 10 minutes walk from the main street of Seminyak. It is exceptionally quiet, no traffic noise and no tourists or locals wandering through the complex, all you can hear is the birds chirping to wish you good day! It also security guarded 24 x 7 so there is no concern about your safety what so ever.

Each individual 2 storey villa (6 in total) includes two Queen size bedrooms with on-suite, large open plan living area with dinning room and lounge, chillout area with a day bed on the second floor, and state of the art kitchen facilities. The villas themself are fenced in, with your own personal swimming pool, deck with daybeds to relax around the pool, Gazebo and a wide open outdoor area/back yard surrounding the pool to let the kids run around safely (should you have them).

Every little detail has been conisdered in the creation of this luxurious oasis and no expense spared. The villas are fitted with state of the art fixtures and finishes in an 'Morrocan-esque' style theme, you truly feel like your in paradise and it becomes extremely difficult to pry yourself off the lounge or away from the pool so you can get out and about to experience the sites of Bali. If you're in need of a serious de-stress and find it hard to switch off it will take you all of 10 minutes to forget the life you left back home when you stay here!
The staff and the service are oustanding, extremely friendly, always attentitive and will make a point of learning your name so they can greet you personally everytime they see you. Breakfast is cooked in your Villa for you personally every morning (a wide selection of choices available including Asian cuisine) and if you feel like eating in during the day or evening you can simply choose something off the extensive menu and the staff will either cook this for you or arrange for something to be delivered from one of the local restaurants (see what I mean about not wanting to leave).
Why not have a massage or a facial with your own personal masseuse as the kids watch TV in the next room or play in the pool in front of you.
Another added bonus, if you're wanting to organise a group trip and would like somewhere that accomodate both space and privacy the 6 villas have the ability to each connect and open up on to one another with massive wooden doors at the end of the yard or you can just keep them shut and maintain your own little coocoon.

Honestly, I've been to Bali 6 times and stayed in many resorts but Space Villas has taken decadence and pure relaxation to a whole new level. You know that saying 'you get what you pay for' well at Space you do and it's worth every cent!
You will not regret the investment, and you will be recommending the place to anyone who will listen....Trust me, I am!

Natalie S (Sydney, Australia)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Amazing villia locally in Seminyak which is far away from the noisy streets and crowds. Big clean private pool is our favorite especially my daddy's. The kitchen is fully equipped with all needed machines, snacks and drinks. The bedrooms are huge with cloakrooms and semi-open bathroom which you can enjoy your bath under the starry sky.

The service is very impressive and the dinning choice is plentiful. As we spent most of the time staying in the villa, we ordered lunches and dinners several times. All are satisfied especially the BBQ in the villa we ordered at the last night.

The only little problem we've met is that almost all the taxi drivers have no idea about this villa maybe because it's pretty new.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Space at Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space at Bali

Address: Jl Drupadi 8, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Space at Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden just behind the exciting Seminyak beach, restaurant and shopping district is an exclusive villa property that introduces a new level of holiday vacationing. Be one of the first to experience this boutique complex of total 11 (6 two-bedroom and 5 one-bedroom) spacious private pool villas all with interconnecting Balinese carved wooden doors.Great attention to detail has been given to ensure Space at Bali Villas will captivate guests imagination and create a tropical ambience which combined with the Moroccan flair will surely be a villa holiday that will be long remembered.With soaring roof lines and clean symmetrical lines with an exterior colour combination of warm desert sand, Space Villas stands out from other villas. Every effort has been made to ensure our guests relaxation with modern comforts and conveniences.Space at Bali is positioned at either side of the main living quarters to overlook the pool and garden. Air-conditioned for nights of restful slumber, both bedrooms feature tasteful furnishings built in flat screen TV and Entertainment systems with designer lighting to create that perfect mood. FREE Wireless internet is available.A walk through wardrobe space with plenty of area to unpack and spread out during your holiday is situated between the bedroom and bathroom. Enjoy double vanity units and a spacious bath tub all set in a lovely indoor / outdoor landscaped area. With a large shower featuring a raindrop shower head and lots of soft large towels ensure your bathing time at Space Villas will be another pleasure to be savoured.For guests needing more bedrooms Space Villas are able to open up the 1 or 2 bedroom villa which easily converts into a connecting 2 or 4 bedroom villa via the Balinese doors found at the end of the pool. Groups of friends or families can still enjoy privacy but have the added advantage of being connected with their traveling party. With ample outdoor space for social gatherings, pre-dinner drinks or dining by the pool, we offer many options to our guests. Space Villas has been designed as a modern retreat to replenish the body and spirit from the effects of a hectic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Space at Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Space At Bali Hotel Seminyak
Space At Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Space at Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.