We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ultimo

Ultimo
Jl. Kayu Aya 104X Oberoi-Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 738720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 276 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ultimo may be one of the best restaurant in Seminyak-Kuta, Bali. It is one of three sister restaurants of Balinesia company. Enjoy a nice fine dining experience with excellent Italian food at value for money prices. Garden and air con settings and intimate dining area in the rear section. The perfect place for events, wedding, gathering, indoor or outdoor outside catering. You will experience a completely different atmosphere while dine in the night, guests can enjoy a dine at lounge area or open air garden. The Chefs use only the freshest and finest ingredients, to create one of the very best Italian fine dining experiences. Ultimo is the kind of restaurant that makes you feel comfortable as soon as you step in the door, and leaves you fully satisfied upon departure. Regular live music from Tuesday to Friday keep the atmosphere more romantic with jazzy tunes. Good Food, Good Music, Good Services, and Great Prices. Everything's Excellent.
Manly, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to ultimo our last night in Bali for some delicious Italian food, we were not disappointed the portion sizes were perfect. Pricing was good, only fault were the cocktails weren't the best tasting. Other than that it was amazing and we would definitely dine there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    520
    174
    80
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my husbands second visit, I missed going last year. He insisted we come back and the food was really good. This is a very busy restaurant and I suggest booking if you are going any time after 6.30pm. They are amazingly fast setting the used tables up, but in no way hurried us in our eating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful value dinner once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited ultimo in 2012 and twice this trip. Good food, great value and nice and clean. Drink service a bit slow but all else fantastic. For 4 adult meals, 2 kids size pasta and 1 pizza, 1 salad, 6 deserts, 4 bintang and 4 cool drinks approx $80aud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We dined here four times during our recent stay in Bali (we were staying close by and can't get enough of it!). We've also eaten here many times over the years. It has a casual but classy vibe - linen tablecloths and napkins, candles, professional staff etc but is very relaxed and inexpensive.

Ultimo was pumping every night. We always asked for a table out the back which was a little quieter (very different vibe to inside near the bar or street side) and there was live music. Generally if you arrive before 7 there should be tables available. Otherwise you can wait at the bar until a table is ready. We never had to wait long.

Our favourite bits
- Very professional and efficient service. It seemed quite formulaic but always friendly (repeating the order back, checking how your food is, asking if there's anything else you need, checking for more drinks etc). We didn't realise till towards the end of our trip that service is not automatically added to the bill (unlike most other places of 5-6%)
- Complimentary fresh bread and garlic butter on arrival
- Very reasonable prices for high quality food. We stuck mainly to the pastas (lobster linguini, squid ink and prawns, seafood risotto-they confirmed whether al dente was okay). Pizzas were fine, dessert was generous.
- Food arrived quickly and piping hot despite the restaurant always being packed. The waitstaff would check if we were ready for mains i.e. we didn't feel at all rushed

Can't wait for our next Bali trip and visits to Ultimo!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth going to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were staying in Legain and went based on reviews to Ultimo. I loved how the restaurant had several sections and specifically had an area for non smokers which was also airconditioned. The restaurant is really nice with white table cloths and fairy lights in the gardens. Service was exceptional. It certainly isn't fine dining as it is a very busy if not a chaotic restaurant but amazingly very efficient. The menu is very extensive which would be hard to not be able to find something to suit everyones taste.
The Food; You are given a selection of breads and cheese sticks complimentary which are nice. We had a brushetta which was very tasty. My husband had the pizza and thought is was ordinary, the beef caparcio on a pesto base yum, seafood pasta was good. The food was of a reasonable serve which was enough for us and the price is reasonable although just a tad higher than other places but well worth it. They have a very extensive wine list and quite modestly priced given the price of wine in Bali. Their margarita was the biggest I had in Bali and the best even better than what we had at many mexican restaurants.
I really enjoyed this restaurant and for a $2 taxi ride was more than worth making the effort to go to. We went back a couple of times whilst in Bali.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimo also viewed

 

Been to Ultimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.