We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay elsewhere. run down, overpriced, gone downhill.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sarinande Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarinande Hotel to your Saves list
Sarinande Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Jalan Serinande 15 | Champlung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 78 Seminyak B&B and Inns
nj
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“stay elsewhere. run down, overpriced, gone downhill.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

i stayed here two years ago and chose this place because it was close to the villa where my friends were getting married. it was charming and much value for the money.

this is my second time in bali, and this place has gone downhill a bit. this will be the last time

- i was quoted twice the amount i paid two years ago.. i assumed it was because it was high season and we were getting a "superior room". well - it's not high season, we didnt get any room superior to the last one i stayed in, and we also got shuffled to different rooms as if we didnt make reservations prior to our arrival.
- over email it was stated that we would get airport transfers, even though we were both leaving on different dates. today, they said they would charge us for one transfer.
- the bathrooms were not that nice last time either, but in one room, we had to keep the bathroom door locked shut at all times because of the sewage smell, and had to buy incense to cleanse the other strange room smell away
- this place just looks run down, no fresh flowers and charming accents like last time
- for what we paid this time around, a dark room with no windows is not acceptable
- minor complaint, but the walls are thin and you can hear everything everywhere

pros:
clean comfortable beds
fast wifi
great pool (until the last day when it turned green because the filter broke)
friendly staff

in the past two years since ive been here, there have been a TON of new places that mushroomed in the area. we checked the rates and they are much cheaper than what we were quoted here (double the rate of what i paid last time) with newer nicer facilities.
sorry sarinande, its over.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    21
    17
    4
See reviews for
17
66
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We walked over from our villa. They only have about six tables but they are all poolside. One of us raved about his fish, the rest had a good meal of fish and chicken. They were kind enough to let us bring our liquor from our villa and not charge us corkage fees. That really helped keep the dinner price at $22 for the four of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Significant other and I decided to make a last minute one-night stay at Seminyak. This being the peak season, it really wasn't easy to find accommodation at this really popular tourist destination. And when we did- it came with a 25% peak surcharge. So to be fair - last minute = no choice = didn't get the best room in the house.

We got room #7 in Sarinande Beach Inn. First, the pros
1) free and fast wifi internet
2) sheets were clean and crisp - you may think this is a minimum but after quite a few disappointments, this stood out as a plus!!
The cons:
1) Room was dark and as good as windowless (high narrow windows opening to street noise, and windows behind the bed that open to......a storeroom?)
2) Bathroom was musty and smelly - shower drained into a suspicious looking un-grated hole)
3) Breakfast was messy - staff did not know whether tables were available and kept you waiting. 6 tables was probably too small a facility to serve breakfast to perhaps 20-odd rooms.

All in - stay only if all else is unavailable or too expensive. Try to avoid our room at all costs!

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid our room - #7. Given its placement, probably the worst room to have. Can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is close tot he beach; reception when we came not very friendly.
When we wanted to check out the reception people ware 1/2 hour to late in the morning (overslept, sorry).
The bathroom is old, problems with the toilet that did' not flush (they tried to repair several times).
Room was okay, new curtains and flatscreen television.
breackfast oke, little buffet of fruits and toast; and choice of egs, pancakes.
Laundry to late and almost to late before we left. We really had to push to get in on time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here on and of for 3 years. The staff ate always polite and friendly. They make you feel welcomed everytime and even leave you a bouquet of flowers with a "welcome home sign" even when I'm gone for a week on another island"
Bed sheets and towels are changed everyday so the rooms are spotless everytime.
Breakfast your typical Indonesian breakfast where servings a little small but they make up for it with their unlimited fruits :)
The pool is very nice clean with bar stools in the pool.
The place is nice and quiet and only 2 minute walk to the beach (excellent location) the guards are pleasant and always helping you with shopping bags.
They even have free airport transfers which is a bonus, also drop offs in kuta and near by places for dinner Which sweet of them.
Every year I come I see the regular loyal customers so they have a following of travellers which I understand.
Management is lovely and so are the owners of the hotel. Always helpful and listening.
Bathroom is average, aircon always works.
I travel in between my stays and they leave my bags in storage for me so I don't have to carry them everywhere I go.
I recommend this for anyone traveling to
Semiyak or Bali in that matter. Its the best price for the location and service.
Happy and will be a regular customer for years to
Come.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night before returning to Denpassar airport. Our room was on the ground floor and seemed a bit dark and gloomy. The bathroom stank like something had died in there. This was reported to staff who made attempts to rectify this, but to little avail. It was not that the bathroom was dirty, but probably just blocked drains. The aircon was noisy, the bed a little uncomfortable with a damp smelling pillow. The pool wasn't bad, though a bit run down with broken tiles as others have commented. Because this was the last night of our holiday before heading home, we didn't really shop around for accommodation in Seminyak. If we had, we would probably have found something a bit less shabby for our money. That said, the general atmosphere of the place was quite pleasant, and it was a bonus to be so close to the beach, albeit quite treacherous while we were there. - We used the airport pick up service and it worked well; the guy was there waiting (with the wrong name on the card) despite our plane being delayed by around 45 mins. I am reluctantly recording that I recommend this hotel, but it would certainly benefit from some modernisation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Found this hotel from random internet browsing and booked it immediately without having too much expectation. It turned out to be a nice little budget hotel with really nice ambiance - a rare treat in Seminyak that increasingly overstuffed with posh buildings and boutiques. Rooms are basic but clean. Bathroom are also pretty basic but large and clean, too. The swimming pool is a bit old, but that's alright. The whole vibe of the hotel was warm and relaxing, very ideal for older folks or those who are looking for a laid-back, peaceful place to stay.

The only drawback is, it;'s pretty far from where the action is going, which are Kuta and Legian. But the hotel provided shuttle car service to Kuta two times a day for hotel guests, which is quite helpful. The hotel is only a minute walk from the beach, but mind you. not the best part of Kuta/Seminyak beach that you probably hoped for.

But despite the small drawbacks, I'd definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarinande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarinande Hotel

Address: Jalan Serinande 15 | Champlung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarinande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarinande Hotel offers the most convenient location for exploring the fascinating Seminyak Beach. It is only five minute walk to the beach front, conveniently close to Seminyak’s horse riding activities, temples and to the exotic surfing places of both Legian and Kuta. Ngurah Rai International airport is only 25 minute drive away and Seminyak’s shopping center is within minutes walking distance.Find yourself at the Sarinande Hotel a charming holiday retreat that invites you to experience the warmest of Balinese hospitality in friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarinande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarinande Beach Hotel Seminyak
Sarinande Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarinande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.