We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope it would be better next visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Save Saved
You added The Empire Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jerudong, Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hope it would be better next visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stay during the CNY long weekend. 31/1-2/2. Check in was fast although lots of tourists. Served by Hafiz, he also assured me that my room was by the Pool view. Sadly it's Pond view instead. Called for a change of room and was rejected "Sorry Sir, our rooms all fully booked,cannot changed". But when I looked the pool view rooms,actually the rooms was empty. Quite upset. Breakfast for the next 2 days was crowded but the staffs handled us proffessionally. Kudos to Shawn, Halimah.
During checkouts, served by Sanda. Quite fast and polite. Hopefully I can see improvement on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr Rashid,

Thank you for posting your TripAdvisor comment and I am sorry that we were unable to meet your request for a room change on this occasion.

I hope you will return to stay again and please do let us know your room preference at the time of booking and we will do out utmost to meet this.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    203
    60
    22
    17
See reviews for
141
180
37
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The resort is on a large parcel of land with a grand palace type of a feel.
The pros are
* great grounds - large open spaces, pool
* nice facilities - gym, pool, sport fields, golf, bowling and the cinemas
* good sized rooms albeit a bit dated - showers are large and the water pressure is good
* staff are friendly
* Transfers were carried out nicely


Areas that should be better for a hotel of this grade
* overall service is inconsistent
* the food selection is fairly poor - most dishes were not hot, buffet meals were not replenished often, overall dishes lacked taste
* internet connection is available in main buildings around the hotel which is of a good speed - however staying connected was not easy - password needing to be entered multiple times - given the internet is meant to be resort wide would be more convenient with a standard connection
* number of facilities are charged for - which is fine however the charges can be better done eg - badminton - payment for the court a separate cost for racquet and a further cost for the shuttlecocks

Overall staying at the Empire is definitely a unique experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Freq,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced.

I have followed up on your concerns with those responsible. I agree that we should simplify the pricing for the leisure activities and will do so shortly.

Your comment concerning the WIFI is noted and we are constantly working to overcome the challenges presented by this large property.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Empire Hotel is an experience all on its own. A WOW factor from start to finish. Classy, comfortable, affordable, spacious, friendly, excellent food and service. Thank you for a great holiday. Jen

Room Tip: I actually don't think you can go wrong with any room here but if you are in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Ms Jen,

Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcome you both back to the Empire.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
1,048 helpful votes 1,048 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is well worth the short drive from the main part of the city to this secure and wonderfully groomed grounds hotel. It is really a remarkable place to stay and bordering on a palace type atmosphere. The rooms are 5 star and entire hotel is throughout. This is a great place to stay for a few nights and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you had a relaxing stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

It's a beautiful hotel, no expenses spared hotel. If you have been to other 6 stars hotel, I went to one in Brisbane Versace hotel....it gives a different vibes. Nonetheless I enjoyed my stay and didn't stop clicking my camera especially at sunset over the sea. It was just simply beautiful . I have been here twice .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My prejudice runs in favour of snug comfortable country inns with friendly proprietors, good food and wine, and a roaring fire. This is as far as you can get from this and still be in a hotel on Planet Earth. The weird golf buggies that run you around the almost empty buildings, the cavenous, gantry like hotel building, the overdone air-con, the room service that has to traverse hundreds of metres to reach you if you are in an out-building,the doubtful looks about using the gym in the deserted 'country club' on a Friday, the distance from the airport....I could go on. Why stay, unless business takes you, in which case it is reasonably OK for a few days - it is safe, the food is edible, the staff pleasant and efficient, and the conference facilities good.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel or face either a long sticky walk anywhere or wait for ages for a 'buggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed report and I am sorry that we failed to make you entirely comfortable during your stay in October.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My stay in The Empire was a great experience. The hotel is amazing and reminds me of Sun City in South Africa. I stayed one night in Seaview Building and the room was perfect, very big, with free wifi, a big balcony, a great bathroom. The entire complex is very nice, with swimming pools, special pool for kids, beach, golf course and a lot of alleys to walk around. I actually did a 10k run around the resort and the golf course. They have few restaurants but depends on the number of persons that are staying in the hotel, if they will have all restaurants open.
As you know, Brunei is a dry country so The Empire is also a dry hotel. You can not serve alcoholic drinks. The breakfast was good, with style and the atmoshpere of the hotel is giving you the luxury feeling and the sensation that you are for a moment a sultan. It is a very relaxing hotel for 2-3 nights and if you want to visit the city, there are just 15 minutes drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you were impressed with your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the future.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Jerudong, Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empire Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.