We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very luxury but also very empty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Empire Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jerudong, Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Very luxury but also very empty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is just Super!

You feel yourself as in a fairy tale land! The Palace!

Here is VERY calm. ..Brunei itself is very calm country with NO alcohol at all!
Nice refrigerator with soft drinks.

Just few people in the hotel area. Everything is automated: excellent rooms, carpets on the floor. Big size marble bathroom. Cleanliness is perfect! The staff is friendly. The food is good, especially if you take the club room. Always fresh exotic fruits.

Large swimming pools with sea water.

Once you have to visit Brunei, the mosque and the jungles ..the Royal Palace, the Mosque.

After the Brunei MUST visit Singapore..from the dream up to the bright real life!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jekaterina_Tallin,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at The Empire Hotel & Country Club and secondly for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and Brunei.

The Empire Hotel & Country Club and Brunei itself has a wonderfully calming effect on all our visitors. This is attributable to the beautiful lush green landscape, our beaches and of course the people are very warm and friendly.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back in Brunei in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    230
    64
    25
    18
See reviews for
153
199
41
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Former president bill Clinton stayed here, as well as other Hollywood stars. It's the place to be. Marble ceiling and pillars...it's a big wow. If you are staying with a bruneian its best to have them book the room because they will be given an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Henry L,

Thank you for your kind words and I was delighted to read that you described the hotel as ‘the place to be’. I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The place looks great, impressive, and the location, beach, countryside is all you could wish for.
But behind the looks are a number of flaws that should be improved.
After check-in, which took an eternity, I had to wait for one hour so they could prepare the room. Upon arrival in the room I could spot a number of leftovers from the previous occupant. Unacceptable. The cleaning on the rooms is insufficient.
Staff is not sufficiently service-oriented. For everything there is pointing to someone else to do it instead. Does not give me the right feeling but can be improved.

Room Tip: Seaside, what else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Frans M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

I was very pleased to read that you were impressed by the hotel but I was concerned that you highlighted some gaps in our service which I can assure you I take most seriously and that I have already begun to address. I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to review The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room are spacious and the bathroom are huuuge - but they need to be upgraded or at least maintain consistently - in the bathroom you may notice chipped tiles, or stained cushions seats - during our stay, it looked like blood stained (yuck!)

Pools can be easily crowded especially the kids pool because the pool is small for the amount of kids swimming in it and you don't see any lifeguard around!

Currently, constructions are going on for the pantai restaurant so trucks, pick-up are in the vicinity of the hotel. I am not sure if there are suppose to go in.. so don't let your children run around alone!!!! its very dangerous!!!!!!!!! even the shuttle buses are around and I thought only their buggies are allowed - i hope the managment looked into this very seriously

Room Tip: If you are getting room in the main atrium, avoid the 5th floor becasue it is the same floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Maya O

Thank you for your review and comments following your stay with us. The work on our new Pantai restaurant is nearing completion and we look forward to opening the restaurant later this month. It will be a wonderful addition to our hotel. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping department. The hotel is definitely spacious and spread-out with views overlooking the sea that add to its charm. I hope that one day I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Kind regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed there a couple of times and found it to be a fabulous luxurious place to stay, the staff are efficient polite and friendly, service is good making for a stress free holiday. Sure there are ongoing maintenance issues in certain areas but considering the size of the place it's not that surprising. Pool area is great bar service and buffet are excellent. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the sea are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear cintraNewZealand,

Thank you for a very kind and concise feedback following your recent stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club and please let me know when you next plan to return as I would personally like to welcome you.

Kind regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tons of money has gone into this hotel, but sadly, maintenance and service seem to have slipped from the grand beginning concept.
On arrival, a load drip within the ceiling. Called, and fixed. Next day, grand shower flooded the bathroom - clog I guess. A tray in the hall from room service was there for at least one day. We told worker ther, but it remained!
We stayed here to go golfing which was another disappointment. They have recently lost the status to be a Jack Nickalous course presumably because not kept up to this standard. NO caddies, which is nearly unheard of in Asia. We were no alone in our experiences. We booked tee- time on Internet and never got a response. Had to search around the place to find anyone to pay and get set up. Shack was closed where you get started and had to circle back to find someone...
Waited ages for taxi back to hotel. Would have been quicker to walk.
Very expensive ( golf and hotel) over all.
Italian restaurant Spaghini ( or so)... No spaghetti!
They say new mgmt is on the way ( for hotel +). Good luck!

Room Tip: On the bay and away from family pool time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear TerriL

First of all, thank you for staying with us at The Empire Hotel & Country Club and secondly for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. I take your comments most seriously and I will address all the points raised in your review.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I reside in Brunei and decided to enjoy a luxurious weekend away.

The hotel is grand and impressive, the food is a good standard but the staff stand out for me as multi lingual, polite and efficient . They make it a great place to stay.

The gym is good, empty but air conditioned and clean. The running machines are top spec but the ipod connectors need looking at.

The pools are great but unfortunately the grand Lagoon pool is under maintenance.

We tried room service, buffet breakfast Italian and Chinese restaurants. In the Uk you would pay far more for food of lesser quality and taste.


For some reason we had two doubles when we chose our ocean view room online for just two of us. The net curtain was stained, but generally ok.

In all we will be back as it is a great venue to unwind and indulge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear R and T G,

Thank you for your kind words and I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and you especially appreciated the staff for providing excellent polite and efficient five star service.

I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again and often while you are in Brunei. It remains for me to thank you and wish you all the best from The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Thank you

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Jerudong, Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empire Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.