We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sauvignon Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sauvignon Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sauvignon Country Lodge
Addy Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Wellington B&B and Inns
Lancaster, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just finished a week stay at Sauvignon country lodge and enjoyed every minute. Close to town yet none of the hustle and bustle. Great area to run or bike ride. Our hosts were extremely hospitable to our friends that visited during the day. Modern accommodation with a traditional look on the outside.

Kris and Mariska were wonderful and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

On booking.com this establishment is listed as 4 star accommodation, but I have serious issues with this grading.

1. There is no aircon in the rooms - NO AIRCON! In a town where the temperatures regularly hit 40 degrees Celsius and above in summer. No fans available either.

2. No bathroom door!! I just do not get this. It's an alarming trend in many establishments.

3. No curtains - only a sheer piece of fabric and so we were woken up at 5:30 am.

4. Outright lie: there is no view from the rooms as stated on booking.com - only a brick wall on one side and the parking lot on the other

Sauvignon Country Lodge has done a great job with the decor which is modern and minimalist, but the owners have missed the very important basics. They laid on an impressive breakfast spread which largely went to waste. They should rather focus on the basics that will ensure a comfortable stay.

I will never stay there again and will not be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisV588, Owner at Sauvignon Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the accomodation after your 1 night stay. The temperature in the room was only 21° so we did not put the aircons in yet, but the fan was immediately on your doorstep after you asked, unfortunately you didn't use it. We will take your comment about the fabric of the curtains into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. The rooms are clean modern and have everything you need. Mariska and Kris took care of our every need but also treated us like life time friends. Arrived with welcome drinks on the terrace and woke up every morning to great breakfast. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a beautiful location! The hosts welcomed us very friendly!
The rooms are clean and cosy (with minibar!) Nice swimmingpool, 2 shady terraces, big and beautiful garden.
The lodge is close to the center of Wellington but located in a quiet residential neighbourhood.
Every morning, there is a good breakfast with fresh fruit etc...
We've had a very nice vacation (guided trips to wine-estates; quitness;...) and we will certainly return to this "pearl of a B&B"!
We want to thank Kris and Mariska for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: Well-equiped rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boechout, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a place we will never forget! As soon as we arrived, we felt like arriving in paradise; what a beautiful estate; the beautiful garden, the spacious, clean and light rooms, the great swimming pool, the shady terrace... but over all, the magnificent owners; they immediately make you feel welcome and they make sure your stay is one you will always remember! The breakfast is luxurious, the guidance on trips to wine houses nearby and to beautiful nature and cultural must-sees nearby is excellent... we can only be positive about this little haven of quietness nearby the city of Wellington!

Room Tip: It's a new estate so all rooms are spacious, clean and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice, Beautiful, Clean, Luxurious & Stylish B&B In Wellington

This is only a glimpse on how i would describe my stay in The Sauvignon Lodge Bed & Breakfast in Wellington!

The place is very sophisticated, very refined and excellently decorated.
It is situated very close to the center of wellington but yet it is away from all the city pressure, located in a residential neighborhood you can't tell you are so close to center of town.
as soon as you arrive you feel at home already.
The garden, the terrace, the pool are just beautiful.
it is a very beautiful area, with numerous features that make the place all the more beautiful.
the rooms are very spacious, the shower or bath area is also very nice.
they are modern, contemporary, good build quality and very good finish.
here you have everything you need.
The food is also very good.
I want to thank you for the exceptional stay.

Thank you.

Mehdi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were really impressed with the quality of the rooms. They are beautifully furnished to a high standard and we enjoyed our stay there immensely. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel most welcomed. Breakfasts were excellent. I would recommend this lodge to anyone who was travelling to Wellington. We will certainly return if we travel that way again. It’s situated nearby the centre, but still in a nice and quiet neighborhood. I could not fault this accommodation in any way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sauvignon Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauvignon Country Lodge

Address: Addy Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sauvignon Country Lodge is a 100-year-old classified wine farm in Cape-Dutch style in the heart of the Cape Winelands, renovated to perfection and uniting its beautiful historic features with all modern amenities. The 4 luxuriously appointed suites and the well-fitted self-catering apartment are boasting breathtaking views of endless vineyards, fruit orchards and majestic mountain ranges. Sauvignon Country Lodge features a 4000m² landscaped garden (including swimming-pool, pond, breakfast terrace and braai area) and is located on a rural country road amidst the vineyards, only 4km away from the impressive Groenberg mountains (mountainbikers' paradise!). Still, Sauvignon remains within walking distance from the town center and its university, so very close to shops, restaurants and many award-winning wine estates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sauvignon Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauvignon Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.