We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oude Wellington Restaurant

Oude Wellington Restaurant
Bainskloof (R303) | Oude Wellington Brandy Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
+27 21 873 2009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: LUNCH AND DINNER John & Susanna Tecklenburg chefs & owners, a well known husband & wife team in South Africa, welcome you with a warm heart to their restaurant set in a authentic Brandy distillery dating back to 1795. Serving country-style contemporary continental cuisine with a South-African twist from a bistro style, ever changing black board. Local, fresh farm produce. Some of the best wines in Wellington features on the wine list. Open Mondays to Sundays.
Wellington, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had dinner here ons night and the food was simply superb - the only problem was unavialablity of a wine list which made it hard to choose the right wine. However, aprt from this little problem it was al good and I can definately recommend the place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant evening spent here. The food was very good and the chef was happy to chat about his menu. Bags of potential to make this place a destination venue.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Authentic South African Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The menu is simple, but each item is prepared to perfection. Traditional food with a dash of adventure and not so traditional presentation.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“John & Susanna, you make a great team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We've know John & Susan for quite a few years, and I think that it's time we give credit where credit is due. I've know John since 42 on Main Restaurant days, back then his Punjabi Lamb and was the dish that reigned supreme. Knowing that John has moved on and teamed with Susan at Oude Wellington, I have many times been entertained and my culinary senses satisfied by this couple.

Over the years I've tried many of their dishes: the Cracked Black Pepper Fillet, a generous piece of Fillet rolled in pepper served with a fanned avo, pommes frit and roasted veggies to persuade any non-veggie eater to eat healthy. Lamb Knuckle with the meat falling of the bone, soft and mouth melting, and of course the Chicken Curry which has left me speechless with satisfaction. Recently tried the Biltong, Port and Blue Cheese soup, a divine combination to fill you up on cold winter days, served with an aniseed bread, freshly baked and still warm out of the oven. Dessert-wise: the baked cheesecake is of orgasmic caliber, the lemon tart creamy and superbly satisfying. Service I cannot find any fault as Susan adds her personal touch and is always attentive.

On our recent visit we were told that John and Susan will be moving to Welbedacht Wine Estate (Schalk Burger Senior's wine estate) in Wellington. We will definitely follow them on their new venture wherever they will go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place has lots of potential. Interesting old wine cellar location right off the barrel room. The menu was diverse and our food was tasty. The service was very poor, snobby is the word that comes to mind. The place was nearly empty, but the staff were less than helpful. There was also a unfortunate sewage smell that wafted in too many times. I would not go back, but I hope they make some changes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oude Wellington Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Western Cape
 
Wellington, Western Cape
Wellington, Western Cape
 

Been to Oude Wellington Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oude Wellington Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.