We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like staying with family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kleinfontein Farm

Kleinfontein Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kleinfontein Farm
Save
You added Kleinfontein Farm to your Saves list
Bovlei Road, Wellington 7654, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just like staying with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our second time staying at Kleinfontein, and we were welcomed like old friends. The location is spectacular, seeing the mountains lit by the setting sun is just magical. Our suite on the ground floor has everything you could possibly need. So much is included in the price, a very well stocked fridge, plus wines and spirits, laundry and a picnic lunch if you require it. Hot water bottles are put in the huge bed every night, very comforting. Sitting outside for the wonderful breakfast (home made yoghurt) watching beautiful birds feeding is an experience in itself. From Kleinfontein you can easily get to Cape Town, Hermanus or the many wineries close by (Fairview is just a short drive away). Cannot recommend it highly enough. Frances and Ralph G, Scotland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a very civilised corner in a beautiful garden with stunning scenery. This is a small farm with delightful hosts and lovely animals. Vines, cows, homemade butter, and wine...the wine is very good,,..actually surprisingly good. Hard to remember Kleinfontein without smiling. Stayed at much more expensive places but somehow its Kleinfontein I remember.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We chose to stay to Kleinfontein on the personal recommendation of a friend, and it more than lived up to expectation. From the moment Caroline showed us round our suite (ground floor) we realised that not only was everything you might possibly want provided, the house attitude was very definitely can-do rather than can't-do if it should come to providing anything else you might think of ! The setting is delightful, Tim and Caroline (and the dogs) are excellent hosts, and our three nights went by in a flash. We could definitely have stayed longer but given the delicious meals (only breakfast and dinner, but we could have had lunch as well), what would have happened to our waistlines? We will definitely return, given half a chance.

Ivone and Sue Jones
Guernsey, Channel Islands

Room Tip: The ground floor suite has the benefit of a shady stoep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tim spent much of his life as a Chief Engineer on big African infrastructure projects and Caroline grew up in Kenya with all the adventure of the colonial and post independence era. If you want to enjoy the most fabulous stories in a location that is somewhat akin to Paradise on Earth while dining on the most wholesome, healthiest and tastiest home cooked food then this is the place for you. If on the other hand you want to tell them all about your exciting life story then they are brilliant listeners with love and laughter always bubbling up. The verandah setting is an African dream.
Or if you don't want to be sociable then retreat to the cool of your suite, relax by the pool, walk across the fertile valley and soak up the lifestyle. It's not the cheapest destination but it is so memorable that it's worth every penny. And its not just for posh, rich people! If you're half sociable then you'll come away with an education. Wonderful

Room Tip: In the heat of Summer the downstairs suite is beautifully cool with it's massive thick walls and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved Kleinfontein. Apart from Tim & Caroline (your lovely hosts) we loved the food (best during our trip in SA), the view, the animals (3 dogs, 1 cat, 2 cows & 2 horses) and the hot water bottle in our bed (it was chilly in the evening). Your part of the house consists of big 2 rooms, and although it was not very hot I used the pool. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Kleinfontein was wonderful. It is a small farm surrounded by mountains and beautiful views. The accommodation was excellent with a regularly restocked free minibar and the food provided was of a very high standard. Tim and Caroline were very welcoming hosts who were easy to chat to and made us feel relaxed in their home at meal times. They organised our tour of the mountains and always replied to emails promptly. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the magical setting and excellent hospitality. Tim and Caroline were most engaging hosts at meal time, and the home produce and wines made the meals very special. They have created a beautiful home and garden. We made much use of the pool and garden and enjoyed walking in the neighbouring vineyards.

Room Tip: We were glad we chose the ground floor room so we could go straight out into the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kleinfontein Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kleinfontein Farm

Address: Bovlei Road, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kleinfontein is unique amongst other guest houses in the Cape in that it offers a true home stay experience with visitors welcomed as personal guests. Situated in the beautiful and peaceful Bovlei valley, magnificent panoramic views, delightful gardens with salt water swimming pool, two luxurious suites privately situated, Outstanding food using Kleinfontein farm produce, Working farm with vineyard and private cellar, Personalized wine tours, mountain walks, horse riding, bird watching, fishing, golf, cultural tours, scenic drives. The exclusive guest accommodation comprises two double/twin bedded luxurious suites, additional beds may be provided for children if required. Each suite has a spacious sitting room and a bedroom with en-suite bathroom. One suite has a traditional reed ceiling while the second is under open thatch. Breakfast and dinner are served on the verandah overlooking the mountains, meadows and vineyards, weather permitting, and are one of the high points of a stay at Kleinfontein. Haute cuisine farmhouse meals are prepared using seasonal ingredients including organic vegetables, milk, cream and eggs all fresh from the farm and accompanied by Kleinfontein wines. All visitors are welcomed as personal guests and drawn generously into the relaxed life at Kleinfontein, where all meals are taken together, table conversation continues till late and guests connect with the people and country they have come to see. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kleinfontein Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.