We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming break on the Garden Route” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant
Stormsvlei, Just off the N2 on the R317 to Bonnievale | Stormsvlei, P O Box 510, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
+27 79 713 0257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A great place to enjoy locally sourced, freshly prepared food in a beautiful garden setting. A selection of fresh bread, homemade jams, chutneys, sweet treats and preserves are available in the farm stall. We also stock a range of local cheeses, wines & cured meats. We are 35km from Swellendam (on the Cape Town side) just off the N2. Sundays are a very popular day, so we strongly suggest that you make a reservation if you plan to visit. Please note we are closed on Tuesdays.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Charming break on the Garden Route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The seating in the garden is nothing less than fantastic! A beautiful setting for a lunch on the N2.
And even a meal like fish and chips with mashed peas and salad is simply out of the world!

They have a small shop offering delicacies and across the road there's another shop with funny things for interior design - go visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear JeJeWe,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on trip advisor.

We try to make good, tasty food with honest ingredients and are glad you enjoyed your Fish & Chip's Stormsvlei style. Thank you also for appreciating the selection of products we make and source for the Farm Stall.

The little shop across the road belongs to some local Artists. It does indeed have some great stuff!

All the best and hope to see you again.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect gem en route to Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

On our 6 hour drive back to Cape Town we stumbled across this lovely gem. Beautiful simple food perfect for our lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was driving past enroute to George just before Christmas and needing breakfast decided to stop. The ambiance on the patio looking out on the verdant gardens was so peaceful, the food excellent and the service cheerful. We so enjoyed our almost two hour rest and breakfast stop that we decided to stop again on our way back to Cape Town a week later, for lunch, which was equally good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Gillian
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to hear that someone enjoyed their experience so much that they returned for another visit.
We are pleased that you enjoyed both our breakfast & lunch on the different days that you visited us.
All the best for 2013 and we look forward to welcome you back to Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant again soon.
Kind regards
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food but moody front of house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have visited the farm stall in its various incarnations over the years.

While the food is delicious, the service and the attitude of the front-of-house leaves a lot to be desired. During various encounters, the front-of-house was very moody and unwelcoming.

I took overseas guests to the little village of Stormsvlei a few months ago and we wanted to lunch at the farm stall. Having just arrived at Cape Town International, their first encounter with South African hospitality was shocking and rude. Good food is no ticket to be rude to restaurant patrons. Strangest paradox between good food indicating a desire to please patrons and rude service chasing away the same.

The off-sales next to the main entrance are reminiscent of an era thankfully long gone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for the review, which also seems to be a paradox to the other reviews here which acknowledge our help and friendliness. We do try and get it right all the time but seem to have fallen short on your visit. It was a exceptional day when the restaurant wasn't open and a craft fair drew a thousand people to Stormsvlei, therefore we were not operating under normal circumstances. I am pleased that you think the food in general is good when you have visited in the past, but saddened that this is the first time we have not achieved a four or five star review. I would also recommend anyone planning a special trip out or lunch with us ring and make reservation. Especially for Sundays.

Anyone is welcome at Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant and the same can be said for customers at the Off Sales. The only thing that seems to be reminiscent of an era long gone is the reviews comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite retro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was recommended this place, heard it was retro. Although the dessert was fantastic, the entrees are a bit dull. The "retro" feel is not retro at all (I think of retro as new celebrating the old), but rather just cleaned up 60s wood-paneling. Good luck you two, you're in a difficult place. You are worthy of a bigger town!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear JennJennUSA,

Thanks very much for visiting us and taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad you liked your dessert.

I'm sorry Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant didn't live up to your expectation of being" Retro " but we've never marketed ourselves as that and whoever advised you otherwise has only conveyed their opinion of what they took away from there visit here.

We hope you enjoyed your time in SA and wish you all the best.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.