We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but moody front of house” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant
Stormsvlei, Just off the N2 on the R317 to Bonnievale | Stormsvlei, P O Box 510, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
+27 79 713 0257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A great place to enjoy locally sourced, freshly prepared food in a beautiful garden setting. A selection of fresh bread, homemade jams, chutneys, sweet treats and preserves are available in the farm stall. We also stock a range of local cheeses, wines & cured meats. We are 35km from Swellendam (on the Cape Town side) just off the N2. Sundays are a very popular day, so we strongly suggest that you make a reservation if you plan to visit. Please note we are closed on Tuesdays.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food but moody front of house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have visited the farm stall in its various incarnations over the years.

While the food is delicious, the service and the attitude of the front-of-house leaves a lot to be desired. During various encounters, the front-of-house was very moody and unwelcoming.

I took overseas guests to the little village of Stormsvlei a few months ago and we wanted to lunch at the farm stall. Having just arrived at Cape Town International, their first encounter with South African hospitality was shocking and rude. Good food is no ticket to be rude to restaurant patrons. Strangest paradox between good food indicating a desire to please patrons and rude service chasing away the same.

The off-sales next to the main entrance are reminiscent of an era thankfully long gone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for the review, which also seems to be a paradox to the other reviews here which acknowledge our help and friendliness. We do try and get it right all the time but seem to have fallen short on your visit. It was a exceptional day when the restaurant wasn't open and a craft fair drew a thousand people to Stormsvlei, therefore we were not operating under normal circumstances. I am pleased that you think the food in general is good when you have visited in the past, but saddened that this is the first time we have not achieved a four or five star review. I would also recommend anyone planning a special trip out or lunch with us ring and make reservation. Especially for Sundays.

Anyone is welcome at Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant and the same can be said for customers at the Off Sales. The only thing that seems to be reminiscent of an era long gone is the reviews comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not quite retro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was recommended this place, heard it was retro. Although the dessert was fantastic, the entrees are a bit dull. The "retro" feel is not retro at all (I think of retro as new celebrating the old), but rather just cleaned up 60s wood-paneling. Good luck you two, you're in a difficult place. You are worthy of a bigger town!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear JennJennUSA,

Thanks very much for visiting us and taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad you liked your dessert.

I'm sorry Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant didn't live up to your expectation of being" Retro " but we've never marketed ourselves as that and whoever advised you otherwise has only conveyed their opinion of what they took away from there visit here.

We hope you enjoyed your time in SA and wish you all the best.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We read about Stormsvlei on tripadvisor and thought it was worth a try. When we arrived outside at 845 on Sunday morning (opening @ 9) we were a bit dubious. But were we pleasantly surprised once the doors opened and we were lead to the beautiful garden at the back. How tranquil! The breakfast was truly delicious! Fresh bread, farm butter homemade preserves! Great cuppacino! A definite must if you're in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Eliska B,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving a review of Stormsvlei Farmstall & Restaurant. Jeanne and I are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve Collinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This farm stall and restaurant are a true little gem- we happened upon it quite by accident and will be forever grateful that we chose to have our lunch there! Beautiful garden , lovely home-made food cooked with great care and a divine chocolate cheesecake - just beautiful. Our traditional stop at the Wimpy at Riviersonderend has just been cancelled forever!!!! Do yourself a biiiig favour - have a meal there and chat to friendly Jeanne - you will keep going back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Don't be put off by the dismal, dark wood paneling and ghastly chandeliers of this restaurant/ bars' interior, the snowy white linen tablecloths and napkins show that this is no run of the mill wayside stop. A short blackboard menu has most of the basics. A well griddled beef rump without a hint of glutonous basting served with once fried skin on chips were surprisingly tasty. Excellent battered fish and chips the same. Beautiful laid out and manicured gardens past the terrace at the rear. 200 meters off the N2 on the Stormsvlei turn off, by far the best wayside stop we've encountered between Knysna and Capetown to date.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.