We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the whole family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoone Oordt Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Schoone Oordt Country House to your Saves list
Schoone Oordt Country House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Schoone Oordt in March. At the time we were contemplating whether to take all 3 children, 1, 3, 6. We did end up taking everyone. We stayed in a beautiful family 'cottage' with an upstairs for the children, small kitchenette, did not need anything bigger, it was just to put baby's milk in the fridge etc. We had just come from the Arabella and the small touches and attention to detail at Schoone Oordt were so appreciated, candles, flowers etc. it does not take much, but makes such a difference. Off to the pool area, which is really beautiful, huge grass area for kids to run and big balls and blow up toys in the pool are always a hit. Throw in a gin and tonic and we were all very happy. Wander was cooking dinner that evening and said he had made arrangements for the children’s meals as well- really I had to bring them all to dinner!? Not sure how stressful that was going to be, but sure we would give it a try....The 'conservatory' area where dinner is served reminds me of those colonial houses, with white floor, big palms and ceiling fans that are on all the time. Big windows that make you feel like you are in a green house overlooking the garden, it’s such a lovely space. To my children’s delight Wander gave them medallions of fillet, shoestring fries and crisp broccoli, followed by chocolate cookie and ice cream. They then ventured to the garden to collect acorns and were very happy to run around until we were finished, was the most relaxed dinner we have had in ages! Our dinner was also superb, only downside was that the following evening we had to eat somewhere else! Room was turned down and very welcoming when we got back. Breakfast the next day, was also excellent. Sonette helped us plan some family things to do and by the Sunday, we had had the most amazing weekend in Swellendam. Very fond memories for the whole family and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Oh my! We're so happy and humbled to have had this recent run of really REALLY amazing reviews. Thank you very much, Sasha, ChrBrd & Taryn.

Your words of encouragement and praise mean so much to me, Richard, Wander, Sonette and the rest of the Schoone Oordt family. We're constantly striving to make our little country hotel the best of Swellendam accommodation and your words encourage us to do more and better. Thank you. Thank you.

We so look forward to spending more time with all of you. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    40
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
384
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This has to be one of my best travel experiences in a long time... everything was fantastic, from the reception -- staff waiting with umbrellas in pouring rain -- to the warm water bottle put in your bed during evening turn down. The breakfast was the best I've had in years: a good buffet, and then a choice of excellent breakfast courses. I had the poached pear, served with yoghurt and nuts: sublime. The rooms (little cottages on the grounds of the old Victorian house that serves as restaurant and sitting room) are large and very well equipped, including a fireplace :-) Great bathroom too, with an excellent shower. Free wifi, of course, as well as a beautiful garden and pool. And did I mention the fantastic service... What a great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1 and 2, which were a bit higher up and had great views and the garden and the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What an amazing little gem! So glad I stayed here, it's the little things that stood out, the well prepared fireplace everynight, bath goodies next to the bath etc. Breakfasts are simply out of this world, dinner the Saturday night an absolute feast! I was so well looked after, everyone was so friendly and happy to help, I felt pampered from the moment I arrived, and completely replenished when I left. Well done Sonette, Wander and the team!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a wonderful treat!! From the moment we made contact with Schoone Oordt, via a website enquiry, until we dragged ourselves away back home we were treated like royalty! Every interaction was professional, they were very accommodating and everything just happened smoothly. Sonette and Wander really spoilt us into the ground and Wander is certainly a true master of his vocation. Breakfast will never be the same again – ever! Dinner too was a truly gastronomic experience and the cherry on top of a delightful weekend visit to the lovely, quaint and historic town of Swellendam. We can highly recommend a visit to Schoone Oordt and we certainly cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this wonderful place for 3 nights and its absolutely superb. From arrival to departure it doesn't let you down! The breakfast was the best I've had and the tasting menu was even better. What makes a place is the people! Warm, friendly and always accommodating. We want one in England and we want to go back! Keep up the amazing work! X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As soon as I looked to the hotel facade, I got absolutely impressed. What a fantastic old house. Then, we stepped in and were received for a very attentive staff which offered us an afternoon brunch free of charge, and it was delicious. The rooms are impeccable furnished and clean. Breakfast was also very good. There’s a beautiful backyard with a pool where you can spend a good time. Regarding location, since Swellendam is a pretty small town, everywhere you stay is close to everything. Moreover, they serve a very popular and delicious dinner, so book in advance. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing place, Before we had even arrived Sonette assured me she would have everything covered to make this a night we would never forget. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, Neatly tucked away at the lower end of the property closest to the river bank. On arrival we were welcomed by a cheese platter served to our room by one of the friendliest people i have met! Sonette suggested a full body massage for my bride the afternoon of arrival. Great suggestion My wife thoroughly enjoyed it. Wander invited me up to the bar lounge to enjoy a beer while the wife got pampered. awesome idea! On returning form supper we were welcomed to our room with a Beautiful warm fire burning away. The room was made up Beautifully with rose petals, candles and a bottle of bubbly nicely set out, Creating the perfect atmosphere! and don't forget the warm water bottle in the bed, Best surprise ever! Our breakfast was amazing! My wife is gluten intolerant, and they baked a bread specialty for her. Really they went completely out of their way. I would recommend Schoone Oordt to anybody i know and even to you the people I don't know. Thank you Schoone oordt Family for you amazing service, hospitality and friendliness. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Hugo
What a fantastic review! Thank you so so much for taking the time to write it. Thank you too for choosing to spend part of such a special holiday in Swellendam. Sonette & Wander LOVED getting to know and spending time with you both and so look forward to your return visit. Perhaps for your first anniversary?
With love from all of us at Schoone Oordt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schoone Oordt Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoone Oordt Country House

Address: 1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schoone Oordt Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schoone Oordt Country House is one of the top boutique hotels in Swellendam with a heartfelt passion for people, for food, for wine and for the environment. Our luxury country hotel offers romantic & intimate as well as family friendly accommodation in Swellendam, South Africa. The emphasis here is on warmth, care, elegance, quality and love and we aspire to make this evident in every aspect of your time with us. We do hope you feel as though you’re visiting with the best of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schoone Oordt Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoone Oordt Country House Hotel Swellendam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoone Oordt Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.