We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for one night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aanhuizen Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swellendam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aanhuizen Guest House
Save
You added Aanhuizen Guest House to your Saves list
6 Van Blommenstein Street | PO Box 522, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ideal for one night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed for one night on our way back to Cape Town. Nicely furnished with the some nice ltouches. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Excellent value for money, clean and beautiful rooms, accomadating owners(special dietry requirement), friendly staff, will be back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I highly recommend it. In addtion to the rooms being very neat and clean, the hospitality was unbelievable! Our stay couldn't have been any better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent just one night here en route along N2 from Cape Town. Swellendam is an ideal distance from Cape Town for half a day's drive and the guest house is situated in a residential area , in walking distance to the Church, Museum and the excellent Dutch restaurant. The swimming pool is a bonus and there are great views from the grassed area outside the bedrooms, towards the mountains. We think another night would have allowed us to see more of Swellendam and its interesting buildings but we couldnt fit it in to our schedule

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed in Aanhuizen for one night while travelling alosng the garden route. It was late when we arrived in Swellendam, we found it hard to find the guest house and had to ring for directions. The room was fine, the bathroom could do with an uplift. Breakfast was fine, again the breakfast room could do with a face lift. We taught it was a little over priced considering it was low season . In our opinion Aanhuizen was basic but does the job.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overberg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We had a wonderfull stay at the guest house. The rooms are wonderful with own entrances looking out onto the mountain. Quite enviroment and nestle away from the busy main street. Close enough to walk to excellent restaurants. Excellent breakfast and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Aanhuizen Guest House for one night at the end of our two week stay in South Africa. We really saved the best until last; it doesn't do it justice to describe this place as a guest house - this place is better than most top class hotels. We stayed in a beautifully decorated chalet style room overlooking the pool in a pretty landscaped garden. We were made to feel really welcome by the owners, who were very friendly and provided a lovely vegetarian home-cooked meal in the evening. Would have loved to have stayed longer - will certainly be back next time we visit South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aanhuizen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanhuizen Guest House

Address: 6 Van Blommenstein Street | PO Box 522, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanhuizen offers you elegance and tranquility in Swellendam. Our tastefully decorated rooms all have TV, tea/coffee and rusks, own entrances and en-suite bathrooms. We are away from the main road yet within walking distance of the tourist centre and excellent restaurants. Let us give you a home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aanhuizen Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.