We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5/5. What else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen to your Saves list
Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5/5. What else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed elsewhere before in Swellendam and although nice enough the location near the busy intersection was noisy.
Agusta is in a different class. The location is great. The gardens are amazing and the food is truly exceptional. Henk & Michel are kind & thoughtful. Swellendam doesn't have much to offer but you don't come here for the town. You come here specifically for Augusta de Mist. And Augusta is putting Swellendam on the map.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
225
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights in a cottage at Augusta de Mist and thought the place was lovely. Our cottage was well equipped from the bathroom to the kitchen. The cottages are distributed amongst a wild garden with an abundance of birds. If you are lucky enough to be there when they are offering dinner, you will be in for a rare treat, otherwise there is very good choice of restaurants nearby. Breakfast is excellent, everything is home made. The service is very friendly and Michel and Hank are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the joy of spending two nights as guests of Hank and Michel. We've been inspired and spoilt and I cannot recommend staying here highly enough.
As the other reviews rave about, the details here are beautifully considered and executed. From the home baked bread and croissants for breakfast, to the unusual and delicious jams, the spontaneous carrot cake at tea time, the bed linen, the decor, the art, (you guessed it, the list goes on and on).
If you get the chance to have dinner, grab it. 7 divine courses, with home label wine. Our best meal in SA.
Thank you Hank and Michel for a beautiful, fun and inspiring two days.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Augusta de Mist is situated just near the center of the small town Swellendam which is not really on the garden /wine route but really close and a very nice alternative route as well. Route 62 seems to be upcoming and is nice for a change.
The Augusta de mist is situated in a very large and lush green garden. The main house is a historical Dutch house which houses the kitchen and small restaurant area as well as a nicely decorated living room completely in style but with a very humoristic and funny modern twist which you can also see at their website.
The 6(?) rooms/ apartments you may call them are spread throughout the beautiful gardens. Our room had a very nice living area with fireplace, a bedroom with a very large nice bathroom with bath and separate shower. We even had a second bedroom with double bed and our own parking place near our house. The linens are very nice and the room looks great and very comfortable. A really nice decoration and antique collection makes every room very personal and you feel right at home!
The Minibar is filled and free of use, sherry is ready for you upon arrival and the jar is filled with homemade cookies. What a great gesture!
Every 2 evenings Henk is cooking for his guests a home cooked, African inspired dinner. WOW…. We never have had such a great dinner and such good and special food! BIG compliments to Henk and his kitchen staff. This dinner was the most memorable dinner we had in our 3 week journey through South Africa. You are surprised with a 5 course dinner in very nice small dishes which are made and decorated very delicate. High quality and the most special and tasting flavors. We are quite spoiled travelers and restaurant eaters but this was truly a gem and super special. We also suggest their own wine: Tant Pis! Good work guys we miss your cooking every day! The breakfast in the garden is also very special. I would suggest to just try all options on the a la carte menu for the breakfast if you can….
The gardens also have a very nice small pool with sun chairs. Don’t miss the home made carrot cake which Michel presented to us as a surprise at the pool.
Every morning we also had a very nice surprise that our car was washed for us!
Michel and partner Henk do everything to make your stay memorable and they succeed in doing this very easily and naturally! Really… all the great and small things make you feel very, very welcome. Special guys…..Thanks for a wonderful stay which we will never forget.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay in a beautiful and very spacious room (you could better describe it as our own little house), decorated into detail. We received the best service you can think of from the moment we arrived. Henk cooked us a fantastic dinner in their African kitchen and in the morning we enjoyed a state of the art, freshly baked and cooked breakfast. Highly recommended. Looking back, I wish we would have stayed longer.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You could be in the middle of a tropical forest, but in fact you are minutes away from Swellendam main street. This old house is unique in its character which has been 'restored' by the current owners, who clearly love this place. The food is carefully crafted and more than enough for the hungriest appetites. Every detail has been considered for their guests and it shows in the room accessories....

A lovely respite and tranquil surroundings even for the shortest of stays.....don't miss the opportunity to sample this establishment

Room Tip: Every room is different! Some in the grounds, others in the main house. If you want to be absor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I seldom get the urge to review as i work in the industry and have high standards. What Augusta de Mist shows so clearly is that its really all the stuff that you secretly hope for that end up making all the difference. Excellent linens, wonderful decor, scrummy food, details, amazing gardens and the list goes on. Anyone can rent out a few rooms but very very few places can do it with such precision and passion. And heart. Don't miss out on this place - on my visit several couples were repeat visitors and a number of people adjusted their schedules just to be able to get a room here.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, the wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Dinner is served by the team at ‘Augusta’s African Kitchen’, with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Certain portions of the menu focus on the Karoo kitchen and others on food from the rest of the continent. Says Henk, ‘Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied after dinner. Dinners are served over three courses and we prepare one menu selection a day. We want you to eat like it’s your birthday.’ And he is not joking. The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. ‘The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,’ Michel says. ‘The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.