We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alice through the Looking Glass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Save Saved
You added Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alice through the Looking Glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the moment you walk in here you know you are in a special place. I kept thinking elves would come out, the garden is so lush. It's a magical controlled mayhem. Indigenous plantings fighting for survival. The first morning we found several porcupine quills. We thought we heard an oink in the middle of the night! Fortunately we spent two nights. All the other rviews here mention the food, so I don't need to say more than what you have here. Listen, don't risk your 50/50 chance of eating here as they only cook every second night. Make sure you stay for two nights and you will leave refreshed, tummies full, and happy. And yes, they do live next door to Alice! Special treat? The have their own wine, and a great story to go with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
202
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Swellendam has a few choices for the discerning traveller but the best of all has to be Augusta de Mist. The property is just beautiful and the constant efforts of all the staff and owners really raises this place a notch above most places. It is a true retreat. After leaving we reflected on what it was that we enjoyed so much, but we could not pinpoint one aspect infavour of another. It just all works beautifully. Book dinner and try the wine. It is awesome...

Room Tip: I had a good look around and there are no bad rooms. Some are more isolated for greater privacy whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We staied with our 6 year old daughter at Augusta and all loved the peaceful lush garden. The cottages are very tastefully decorated, with lots of loveable details, but without unnecessary fuss, just as we like it. Everything is very well looked after, but still very relaxed. You feel welcome and at home from the first moment you arrive. Henk and Michel are perfect hosts. Great breakfast (homemade muffins). Don't miss dinner!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Augusta de Mist is a real retreat; Michael and Henk went the extra mile every time to make sure we were comfortable and relaxed. Arum Cottage where we stayed was perfect. Henk's cooking was great and the staff were lovely.

You cannot get better than this.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely ; we stayed in Arum which is at the top of the garden and is very private a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in Augusta de mist for two nights on our 3 week tour around SA. It was probably the best place we stayed in, out of 10 different locations!
We arrived early, but our room was ready. The room was huge, and beautifully decorated, it really felt like you were walking into a well decorated house, rather than a soul-less hotel room.
I think the real highlight was the level of service and hospitality receieved, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing, only bettered by the amazing dinner served! The dinner price was brilliant, and every single one of the four courses was delicious, and in my opinion better than serendipity in Wilderness. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaSwellendam, Manager at Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello Nathalie, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you found our place the best of your whole stay. We are also delighted you stayed with us in Swellendam for two nights, and that you had dinner here too. I hope we will see you again, if not in Swellendam, then in Beijing! Michel and Henk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We opted to stay at Augusta de Mist for the last two nights of our trip to South Africa and couldnt have hoped for a better way to end the holiday. It is rare to find somewhere where the facilities, service, and food all come together so well. The rooms are beautifully laid out, perfectly balancing style and comfort with many little extras. Whether it be through the exceptional food, or advising guests on places to visit, Hank and Michel provide a faultless service which reminds a traveller what being a "guest" should really feel like. A sincere thank you for a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaSwellendam, Owner at Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Rich. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in South Africa and of course your stay with us in Swellendam. Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate that you enjoyed the decor and everything else about Augusta de Mist. We strive to be the best we can. Henk and Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulbagh, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed over at Augusta De Mist in Swellendam with my partner and Augusta De Mist was the highlight of the road trip. This is the third time that we have wanted to stay, but the guest house has always been fully booked, testemony that Michel & Henk are doing it right. The cottage was beautiful and located in the lush gaden. We felt like we were in the middle of a manicured forrest, although the rerturant was only 70m away. The detailing was impressive, with everything very clearly though out. We had a wonderful dinner, made by Henk and his kitchen team. We would have loved to stay longer, but once again the establishment was full again the next day and so we had to move on.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage and never saw the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaSwellendam, Owner at Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Jayson. We were also glad we finally had rooms for you to be here with us in Swellendam, and we are also glad that it appears to have been worth the wait. When a small place like ours had just the 6 units, we often are full in summertime. I do hope you spread the word, and wish you well. Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, the wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Dinner is served by the team at ‘Augusta’s African Kitchen’, with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Certain portions of the menu focus on the Karoo kitchen and others on food from the rest of the continent. Says Henk, ‘Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied after dinner. Dinners are served over three courses and we prepare one menu selection a day. We want you to eat like it’s your birthday.’ And he is not joking. The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. ‘The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,’ Michel says. ‘The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.