We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swellendams little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen to your Saves list
Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Wilderness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Swellendams little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

What a treat it was to stay over at Augusta de Mist! Although I had stayed there previously and enjoyed the lodge under the previous owner, I was astounded at the makeover Michael and Henk have given it. The décor shows great individual taste, and clearly no expense was spared in the marriage of contemporary and antique furniture and fabrics. My room had a very comfortable bed with percale bedding; together with a spacious, sitting area and fireplace I could imagine a cozy stay during the winter months. Luckily we had great weather and the swimming pool, set in super gardens, was a real magnet. The guys have planted a large herb garden and all of these are freshly picked and used in the wonderful gourmet breakfasts and dinners. Before the evening meal guests are encouraged to meet fellow travellers on the verandah for drinks and canapes (loved the vetkoek topped with biltong!). Michael’s ease with his guests makes you feel at home and cosseted while Henk's skill in the kitchen is phenomenal. All very special and unique. A definite must when staying in Swellendam and I hope to visit it again!
Moma

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
225
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in Arum Lily cottage, an independent, luxury one bedroom facility with every quality inclusion we could have asked for - fresh flowers (many), coffee, tea (incl Rooibos), port, chocolate and so on. The bed was large and delightfully comfortable. Bath and shower with plenty of towels in a spacious bathroom.

Our hosts, Michel and Henk, were friendly, helpful and encouraging of our interest in the historical aspects of the residence and the community. Breakfasts were varied and we found each day something to tweak our appetites. A real highlight was the wonderful dinner prepared by Henk with traditional flavours and warm, gracious service. A perfect balance of professionalism and friendship. The gardens are extensive and with many birds for us to identify and photograph.

Highly recommended - we look forward to visiting again!!

R & S, Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for one night during a driving tour of SA. Our host was very welcoming and keen to tell us about the history of the property and local area. The property itself has individual rooms set amongst a large, well-tended garden and is within walking distance to the centre of town. The rooms are very private, comfortable and well equipped. There are books and DVD's placed in the room, encouraging you to stay in and relax, which is a lovely touch and makes it feel like a home from home. The home-cooked breakfast was also superb, with fresh, healthy, local ingredients.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had the pleasure to stay at Augusta de Mist last August. What a nice surprise. Our room (rather a studio) was absolutely stunning. Every little details where though about, fresh flower, chocolates on the pillow, fresh coffee with “Bodum” just to name a few. In addition, for the first time in our trip, we had a comfortable King size bed. We had the pleasure to travel with our four daughters, from 11 to 26. They got such a great studio that they did not want to leave!
The dinner prepared by Henk was the best of our trip. His malva pudding is to die for. Would justify the trip back to Swellendam from Montreal Canada just to have it again!
Well, another nice surprise was Michel, who host together with Henk. Not only that he is a fabulous host but he speaks my mother tong, French!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We only stayed at Augusta de Mist for two nights and we wish that we could have stayed longer. Our room was so interesting and filled with beautiful furniture and furnishings. Actually the whole hotel is full of beautiful things you really felt that so much care and attention is put into every aspect. Michel is a goldmine of information and conversation. He was so supportive when I had a problem with the lights in our room. It was all my fault as I did not heed his advice! The breakfasts were excellent, freshly prepared and with so many choices. Thankyou does not seem a big enough word to say to Michel and his team as our stay there was memorable and we did indeed feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife and I decided to break our journey en route to Cape Town and had been recommended to find Henk and Michel at Augusta de Mist. What a wonderful surprise. precise atention to detail, while keeping the atmosphere of all the properties history. Rooms were beautifully spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Did not have dinner there, but the next morning Michel, Henk and their team cooked us one of the best breakfasts i have had in a long while. we have recommended Augusta de Mist to all our friends travelling that way

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Augusta de Mist and have been back three times! The guest house has loads of history and character, and makes for a perfect getaway or stopover if you are travelling alone, as a couple or family. Michel and Henk make wonderful hosts and we will certainly be back many more times indeed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen

Address: 3 Human Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful guesthouses in Swellendam, on South Africa's Garden Route. Experience stylish living on a large country retreat. It is the biggest dilemma you are faced with when visiting Augusta de Mist: where do you sit? The pool area is perfect with a large willow tree and the kind of privacy that encourages you to shed the layers and have a cocktail. But then privacy is even greater in the small fynbos forest at the top of the property where you can climb a hand-hewn stairway to a fine view of the Overberg. Of course just the thought of all that hiking on the grounds makes the fountain on the front lawns quite a good bet for a good old sit and much more civilised. Speaking of civilised, you may as well take tea on the stoep while sitting and take in the lawns, rose bushes and giant trees. Or just sit on the lawn. But what about the picnic clearing in the fynbos forest, the wine cellar or even just the lounge in your suite? Such is life in the country. There are not enough days on the average visit to sit in all the available spaces and congratulate yourself on a perfect choice. Augusta de Mist is a 4-star retreat set on 1.5 ha of eclectic fynbos. The country estate in typical Cape fashion boasts a deeply romantic 1802 Cape Dutch National Monument with more original features than you can shake a stick at. The shutters are yellowwood and the ironmongery original, as are the reed ceilings held together with 200+ year-old mud and clay. This manor building forms the social hub of the estate housing both the guest lounge and dining rooms. It also plays host to a Heritage Suite which pays homage to Swellendam history and references South African iconic images and items. The bed is crowned by a cupola inspired by the Eastern style of the local church, while the reading room in the suite teams Afrikaner quilts and World Cup makarapas, which are pure township art. Wander past the pool, over seasonal streams or by the kitchen herb garden to stumble upon the garden cottages. On first glance, the allure is obvious. Simple white structures, the bridal suites are reminiscent of the historic cottages of this region, with reed ceilings, shuttered windows, bucolic views and indigenous or water-wise planting that welcome you. As you step inside the suites, you discover even more country romance in the stylishly appointed interiors, which mixes the eclectic African, South African and European heritage. In reflecting the architecture, each of the suites features subtle and unique decor. The finishes are chosen for comfort and have a lived-in feel. Vintage pieces and antiques have been selected with care, adding to the homegrown spirit that pervades. Unique African art punctuates throughout. Crisp yet plush bedding comforts you through the night while the bespoke lamps provide a source of warm and cosy lighting. While the cottages are meant to tell the old stories of Swellendam each also has its luxurious touch. Every suite has its own lounge, large bedrooms with similarly large en-suite bathrooms living areas and private gardens. Almost all of them have their own fireplaces. Dinner is served by the team at ‘Augusta’s African Kitchen’, with its focus on pan-African cuisine. Some of the dishes are Afrikaner while others are Cape Malay. Certain portions of the menu focus on the Karoo kitchen and others on food from the rest of the continent. Says Henk, ‘Our kitchen is not professional. Nor do we open our doors to the public. Unless they beg. We cook because we love the flavours of Africa. It is the food we know and grew up with. We love the fact that Milktart can be made in a different way depending if you are Afrikaans or Muslim. So whether you like koeksisters or koesisters, we want you to be satisfied after dinner. Dinners are served over three courses and we prepare one menu selection a day. We want you to eat like it’s your birthday.’ And he is not joking. The team specialises in sourcing the best they can find in the area and it is all too easy to say yes to every morsel. I saw a petite young Belgian woman work her way through four koeksisters and assistant Melanie laughs as she tells me about the German group of nine, who interrupted the flow of dinner and demanded a second serving of Biltong Soup after which they gave rapturous applause. It is this focus on quality that had Henk and Michel develop a small range of wine with Andrew Barns of Mischa Estate. ‘The wine is something that we take great pride in. Drinking a wine of quality is a responsibility we take seriously. We chose to make a signature wine with someone who loves making wine, and who does not do it as a business venture but as a vocation,’ Michel says. ‘The wines we made are artisanal and of the highest quality. We know Andrew and Rachel very well and we are very proud to serve this small range’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta de Mist Country House & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.