We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rothman Manor to your Saves list
Rothman Manor
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   286 Voortrekker Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Redditch, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We only stayed one night - January 1st - and when we arrived we found that Andreus had been thoughtful enough to book a table for us at a local restaurant - accurately assuming that we would want to go out for dinner. Apparently only 4 of the local restaurants were open and he didn't want to us to run the risk of not finding anywhere (not sure why they were all shut in such high season - but it's our first visit to South Africa - so maybe this is normal). His thoughtful actions really exceeded our expectations.

Our room was lovely and comfortable and the grounds offered plenty of opportunity to relax for a couple of hours. The only problem we had was that as my husband is well over 6ft tall, he cracked his head a couple of times on the door frame as he went in and out - the house was obviously build for shorter people.

Breakfast was lovely - we sat on the patio in the sunshine. The service was gracious, friendly and the cooked breakfast was delivered with a smile. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
221
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I do not really know where to start. This place is one of the most sophisticated, beautiful & impeccable places I have ever stayed in through out the world. It has everything. They cannot do enough for you. That's it *********

Room Tip: The Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Rothman Manor recently. Everything about the place oozes quality - for example, check out the crockery, cutlery and napkins at breakfast. Hosts Franziska & Andreus are a charming couple, who strike just the right balance between attentiveness and giving one space. Their attention to detail is quite extraordinary. Again for example, noting my interest in bird photography, they raised the sunbird feeder in their private garden (without my asking) so that it showed better over the hedge whilst we had breakfast on the adjacent patio (my photos taken during breakfast attached). One of the best B&Bs I've encountered. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wow, no words can do justice to this amazing Guest House. Rothman Manor combines Dutch colonial elegance with modern comfort in a spectacular setting. They only have a small number of rooms ( I think 6 in all) which are clearly African in style.

If passing along to the Garden Route this is a must stop and stay.

We had 2 rooms opening on to a terrace and the verdant gardens which provide a tranquil setting for relaxing and you can even enjoy their hot tub. The hot tub overlooks their large paddock area where you will find a range of wild life including Zebra and Ostrich.

You can see mountains in the background and a wonder around the gardens is a treasure trove of interesting artifacts.

This is more than a 5 star establishment.

The attention to detail is evident everywhere.

Nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel most welcome and at home the moment we arrived. The service is both discrete with an intimate feel and had a genuine personal and friendly feel. Then the fabulous breakfast has to be experienced.

One really needs more than the one night stop over we had to fully appreciate Rothman Manor and the surrounding area.

Due to traveling for a long time this review is posted somewhat late and if we were ever in south Africa again we would make a point of making sure Rothman manor was on our itinerary.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms in the main manor house which open onto the terrace and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a true delight - felt the charm as the gates opened for our arrival into the property - beautiful grounds; great food and the best of all: owners Franziska & Andreus were two of the most delightful, attentive & helpful hosts we have ever stayted with - definitely a place to unwind along South Africa's breathtaking garden route!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we spent here New Year's Eve. a lovely place, extreme attention to details, rooms furnished with care and taste, jacuzzi with views of the animals of the estate, extremely hospitable areas, breakfast very rich.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

PARADISE !!! never have we stayed at such a stunning place ! you drive along the road to what seems a medium size guest house and think should be ok !! Andreas met us and walked us through what seemed to be 2/3 secret gardens and beautiful pool area to our guest house !!! WOW immaculate , spacious , beautiful ! Gave us our keys with electric gate pass and parked our car ! We settled in and had a walk round lovely lilly pond and spent an hour in the jacuzzi overlooking the zebras etc !! so relaxing ! Andreas and Francisca (very funny and a lovely couple ) booked us wonderful restaurant in town run by a friendly english family ! lovely food ! Breakfast was stunning ! wish we had stayed longer ! Even as i packed our car i thought something was wrong and a young lad had just finished cleaning it !! nice touch ! Stunning place you have with amazing attention to detail !!! will be back for longer !! TIP ! dont book 1 night at least 3 if not more ! thankyou janet and mark x

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrekker Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothman Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.