We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rothman Manor to your Saves list
Rothman Manor
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   286 Voortrekker Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
birmingham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“this place is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Swellendam is a fairly quiet small town with not too much going on. It does have a few decent restaurants and is a useful stop over for the Garden Route or a base to visit other nearby locations such as Cape Agulhas or Bontebok National Park. Rothman Manor itself is quite simply superb and impossible to fault. The premises are immaculate, interesting, tasteful and unusual. Our hosts Andreas and Franzine were very welcoming, friendly and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast is equally perfect with extensive choice all of the highest quality. Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful, luxurious, reasonably private location, the gardens, antelope and zebra enclosure are a bonus. Don't miss it if you are in the area, free wi-fi and access to ipad helps catch up on news etc as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
221
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Beautiful B&B with very hospitable hosts. We arrived mid afternoon and left by about 10am the next day so our only regret was that we were not able to enjoy the lovely pool (overcast afternoon) and gardens as much was we would have liked - a 2 night stay would have been ideal. Our room was beautifully styled as was the main house, bed very comfortable and shower also very good.

Andreas had actually booked us into La Sosta before we arrived so when he asked if we had plans for dinner it was nice to hear that he had thought ahead. It was an absolutely amazing meal at La Sosta. We thought it was certainly on a par with the restaurants in Franschhoek and probably slightly better. Having breakfast in the garden was a lovely way to start the day and the breakfast itself was very good.

Having stayed in Swellendam three times now I do think that this is the best place in town - both the manor and the restaurant. Rothman Manor is a lovely oasis on the long garden route drive and we came back with two skinny wood carvings for our walls (Nelson and Winnie), bought from Rothman Manor, which are a fantastic momento.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If I could score this lovely, immaculate, friendly b&b out of 100 it would definitely score 100! It is our recent stay at Rothman Manor that has spurred me on to join Tripadvisor and write a review. The house and gardens are stunning, the welcome is warm and persona, and the hot tub overlooking the b&b's own zebra is just the icing on the cake. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever tasted, with all you could imagine on offer. The owners clearly love their job and have put their heart in to their business, caring very much for each and every one of their guests; nothing is too much trouble. They remembered our breakfast requests and itinerary from day to day and were always on hand with recommendations or suggestions of things to do. If you are looking for a super stay in Swellendam, then this is the place for you! Well done Rothman Manor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here having explored the vine route and in between heading up to the garden route.
Having driven for miles and miles with nothing around we wondered what we would find in Swellendam. Immediately after turning off the main road we arrived at a beautiful building of Rothman Manor. This place really has vow factor with pretty gardens, jacuzzi overlooking the mountains and of course not forgetting the zebras and antelopes in the adjacent field.
The owners really have though of everything and this was the best breakfast that we had on our 14 night honeymoon trip around South Africa. Please take their advise on places and restaurants to visit as we had some lovely experiences.
Great design, great service and very friendly.
Thank you very much for our lovely stay and we wish Andreas and Franziska all the best for the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My luxurious loft suite,complete with beautifully appointed kitchen, bedroom balcony overlooking the gardens, jacuzzi in the bath and spacious lounge, had an inspired, funky cool, retro decor that worked perfectly with the historical surroundings - awesome! Wandering through the extensive estate gardens, I found a number of secluded seating areas and picked one to enjoy the beautiful mountain views and sunshine with a glass of sparkling from my well stocked fridge.
The delicious breakfast, with every imaginable treat, was served under the leafy branches of an ancient oak tree. Franziska and Andreas have created a very special and totally unique oasis, with an attention to detail second to none!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Like a secret garden, the setting of this place was magical. You could relax here for a few days. Lots of interesting things, cats, zebras, ponds, garden features etc. Unique and a lovely place to stay. The hosts were also really really nice and helpful and we would stay here again. Swellendam itself did not seem to have much to offer but worth it for the trip to De Hoop – a definite must see as different from the rest of the garden route.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

What an absolutely amazing find. From start to finish we spent a wonderful couple of nights at Rothman Manor. Our loft suite was amazing, gorgeous bedroom with doors to sit out balcony, a fully equipped kitchen, beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath and huge shower and a very large lounge with great furniture. The garden & grounds were beautiful and we were so well looked after from the minute we arrived until the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble. They even cleaned our car every morning - Thank you to you all at this wonderful find, see you again soon

Room Tip: They all have special qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrekker Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothman Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.