We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night Swellendam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aan de Oever Guesthouse to your Saves list
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Faure St., Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Groningen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice night Swellendam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just on tour, not knowing where to stay and then there is Aan de Oever. Good to spend the night, large room, perfect bathroom, plundge and swimmingpool and nice people to help you around. And... best of all: the advice to go to "De Companije" for dinner. Walking distance and delicious food with personal service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you . What a wonderful thing to say.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    46
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
113
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cabrera Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had only booked in to this lovely guest house for one night but it was a very comfortable stay. The room was private and quiet giving a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was taken on the terrace with amazing views and the breakfast was extensive with something for everyone. Restaurants were within walking distance and Swellendam itself was worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Interesting building, comfortable room, attractive setting, welcoming staff, good breakfast--perfect! Would definitely stay here again, it's the B+B I shall remember from our South Africa holiday and set in a town with many historic buildings


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Only stopped in swellendam as a stopover and could not believe how fabulous this b+b was. Wish we had more time . Room was great, we had been upgraded. Lovely touches with roses from the garden, sherry and robes. Beautiful garden leading to the river, just the best b+b on our trip. Fabulous restaurant field and fork just 3 mins walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a very nice B&B: Old dutch style house with a beautifukl garden located right by the river. You can walk through Swellendam from here. The personnel is very welcoming and willing to help in all requests. The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean and well equipped. Minor points: Some of the rooms are a bit dark - However, since you'll probably be out during the day, this doesn't really matter. Also, the pool is very small.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were "walk in" clients that were lovingly greeted and made feel at home immediately. I can honestly recommend this BB as superior the whole ambiance is stunning. From the very comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens and delicious breakfast on the patio this venue is a must for anyone traveling through Swellendam. To our surprise we could continue our journey in a beautiful clean car as a special treat from the staff and were even given freshly baked muffins for the road. Keep the good work up , you are the best.

Room Tip: Kingfisher has a wonderful view of the beautiful garden and are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Annelie
Baie dankie vir die positiewe kommentaar en komplimente. Dit was lekker om jul hier te ontvang.
Hoop regtig om jul weer te sien gedurende jul volgende vakansie in die Wes-Kaap. !!
Groete
Fienie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suider Paarl, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

On our 4500 km roadtrip around South Africa, this was a delightful and memorable stay. We were welcomed by friendly staff, showed to our suite, where everthing was explained to us, after which they offered to make dinner reservations for. Fragrant roses adorned our room and Lindt chocolates invited us to the huge bed dressed in luxurious linen. After a wonderful night's rest, we were treated to a lovely breakfast outside on the patio, guarded over by the mountain and lovely shade trees. Swellendam, we will be back... As we turned the corner to our mudd splattered Landie, we found a sparkling clean vehicle! What a surprise. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you Mara for the nice comment on Aan de Oever. Was good to have you here. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure St., Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aan de Oever Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.