We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aan de Oever Guesthouse to your Saves list
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Faure St., Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very good location with an unusual sea water pool, but this was not for swimming. The property was well run, but perhaps too many dos and donts, which no doubt arose through experience on the part of management.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    46
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
113
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aan de Oever. The view of the mountains from the back of the guesthouse is amazing. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. There was planty of choice for breakfast, I'd reccommend the roosterbrood (bread baked in the bottom of the oven). The service was very good, especially the car wash which we didn't expect.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel, the views are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and our Roosterkoek for breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back at Aan de Oever Guesthouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Delicious breakfast, lovely rooms placed in a breathtaking landscape.
+ Our car was washed while we're having breakfast.
Restaurants in walking distance.
Whenever I'm close to Swellendam again, I'm gonna stay there!


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay that was far too short, so we'll have to return. A real haven for any traveller. The flowers added a nice feel of freshness to the room. A real haven for bird lovers. The water stream gives it a real country feeling and vibe. We enjoyed the scrumptious breakfast variety the next morning. A great place to stay in Swellendam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much Salome. Looking forward to your return. It was great to have you at Aan de Oever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What an wonderful guest house. It was a fantastic stay and the staff were all accommodating and very friendly. Although I was inconvenienced by having to stay at another guest house for an evening, the staff went out of their way to make sure that the interruption in my stay was as smooth as possible.
I will definitely refer Aan de Oever to everyone I know and I look forward to visiting there again,. Well done

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aandeoever, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Aan de Oever. It was great to have you here. Hope too welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. The birds in the gargen was an absolute bonus.

The room was clean and very cosy.

The bath was lovely and the gowns in the bathroom were very soft and comfotable.

Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Top class accommodation with lovely special touches like the fresh roses on our pillows. Tranquil surroundings - feels as if you are on a farm. Beautiful birds around. Friendly hostess and hearty, yet delicately prepared breakfast. Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: all rooms lovely, with upstairs rooms quite romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure St., Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aan de Oever Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.