We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosje van de Kaap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roosje van de Kaap to your Saves list
Roosje van de Kaap
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Roosje really was an oasis to visit. Very calm in a beautiful enviroment. The owners and thet staff make sure you have pleasant stay. They prepared a very nice 3-course dinner since everything else was closed due to the holidays. I strongly recommend it. Anders, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    64
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful Stay !
Unfortunatly too short ! Would have liked to have stayed longer !
A delightful , elegant place !
Dinner was delicious and the atmosphere gracious and relaxing
Will be back
Thankyou !
Beverly Brockman

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was a great stay with all good services of perfect location and host which we not only expected but also enjoyed. Even at X-Mas, when everthing and everone is hectic - we had a great silence time - Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is unfriendly, and volatile. With the owner screaming at his staff or whoever, at the top of his voice. Coupled with a general dull atmosphere. The breakfasts are also sub standard.
I do not recommend it, at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreerkBrandsma, Manager at Roosje van de Kaap, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
This person spend the night with us short before Christmas, we gave him a very good price for a single Garden room (25% below the Christmas week price). The next day he came to breakfast at 11.15am, breakfast is served till 10.30am, but we didn't make any problem. After that he waited in our lounge the whole day for the bus to arrive at 17pm, this despite the fact that our lounge only opens for our guests at 18pm (with exceptions for sport events) and 12 noon is our check out time. He was laying on the couch watching television from morning to late afternoon. He didn't show any form of appreciation for the privileges granted. All this time there was no argument with any employee what so ever. The remark about top of the voice he took from another negative review, not very original and clearly mend to hurt us. The remark about our breakfast is in line with this, we serve a good breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Spa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were just breaking our journey on the Garden Route from East to West and came across this gem online. Booking was simplicity itself and secure, the welcome first class (tea outside our room in the garden), and the room clean and functional. Our host and hostess also provide dinner in their delightful small restaurant. The service was smiling, willing and efficient. As for the food, I would seek out this element even if you were not staying there - delicious with far eastern flavours, nicely presented and very good value. We would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A very personal and familiar atmosphere created by the two hosts. Great food, with an asian influence, if you wish! The rooms a little houses with an own terrace. The house in walking distance to the center von Swellendam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We were desperately looking for a place to stay after we decided not to stay in Witsand on the coast, so we drove up north to Swellendam, which is one of the oldest cities in SA. To be honest, we didn't expect that much, but we've been surprised by the beauty of the town and the beautiful, budget-priced, victorian little bungalows at the Roosje Van De Kaap. We also enjoyed dinner at this place where the owner is the cook at the same time. As well as the friendliness of the staff. Recommenable!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roosje van de Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosje van de Kaap

Address: 5 Drostdy Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roosje van de Kaap 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Swellendam's main road you see the jewel of the towns' legendary buildings: The Drostdy. Behind this historical complex our 13 room guesthouse-restaurant is located. The view of the Langeberg Mountains from our pool and lush garden is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roosje van de Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosje van de Kaap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.