We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting different jams, liquors, chutneys etc.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebraam Berry Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wildebraam Berry Estate to your Saves list
Wildebraam Berry Estate
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Hermitage Valley S4, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tasting different jams, liquors, chutneys etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were a group of 12 PAX to visit Wildebraam during June 2013. The group was seated around a table and approximately 7-8 products were displayed in front of us including some of the Jams, deli products, chilli products and Liqueurs. An informal talk about the Berry Farm was given and the products were explained to us and were tasted afterword’s. After the talk, we could buy the products from the shop. The tasting session last for approximately an hour and the cost for the tasting was R10pp. It was an enjoyable learning experience. We can recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

3 problems which could be improved on :
1. Car parking area not very practical - A carport would be welcomed
2. Privacy could be improved by placing one way film on bedroom window and kitchen window
3. Door to bathroom fom bedroom not easy to close

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What an amazing weekend. My overall experience from prior to our arrival, during our stay, until now has exceeded my expectation by FAR! Charming accommodation, breath taking views and exquisite products. What made our stay even more pleasant was Kat's outstanding customer service and going the extra mile as if it is part of her daily routine. Thank you very much; you will definitely see us again. Soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a tranquil farm, situated in beautiful surroundings and majestic mountains. A welcome break from city life. We stayed over for one night on our way to Plett and wished that we had more time to enjoy the peace. The little cottage had everything needed for a couple. We have been enjoying the farm-produced jams and liqueurs that we purchased at the lovely shop. Being only 2 hours from Cape Town, we hope to make a return journey. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was a dissapointing experience. Reception not very welcoming. Cleanliness of cottage not up to standard. Bedding and furniture old and not comfortable any more. Will not return. Could have gotten better accomodation for the money spent

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at river lodge. As soon as it was evening, lot of insects started coming inside the house. even though we closed the door there is space under the door which allows them to come through. Later, I had to close the gaps in the door using a towel. I also had to handpick the insects and throw them out. My 2 year old son refused to step down on the floor after seeing the insects.

They should do something about the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The estate located a short distance from town, allowing travelers to enjoy nature and its beauty combined with the tranquility of a country like environment. Although the cottage was actually a relatively old house, it was fully functional, very spacious and the kids just loved the huge rose garden. Although it's designed for families who came for several nights, it was also nice to relax for just 1 night on the way between Cape Town and Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebraam Berry Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebraam Berry Estate

Address: Hermitage Valley S4, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebraam Berry Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebraam offers several lovely units on a youngberry farm in Swellendam. Nestled in the Hermitage Valley, 2 km from Swellendam, all the units enjoy stunning views of the Langeberg Mountains and guests will revel in the tranquil country atmosphere. All units are fully equipped with towels and linen provided. Games and books are also provided.A minimum 2- night stay over weekends is preferred when booking the larger cottages. Wildebraam is renowned for its liqueurs and deli range produced on site and all guests are welcome to join us for tastings in our cellar Mon-Sat. In addition, Wildebraam has a conference/function venue which can host up to 64 people and both corporate and private functions are very popular.ACTIVITIES: Liqueur & deli tasting at Wildebraam Cellar, horse riding by own appointment with DEE HAZELL, birding, hiking in surrounds or in Marloth Nature Reserve (1.5km), mountain biking and berry picking (in season). A 9-hole golf course is 1.5km away and various sport clubs are in Swellendam. Little ones (and older ones!) will love Sulina’s Fairy Sanctuary and Swellendam also has several art galleries and local potters and artists. Well worth visits could include the local Drostdy museum, Bontebok National Park, De Hoop Nature Reserve, Robertson Wine Route-just to mention a few. There are also lovely day trips into the countryside including Barrydale, Montagu, Robertson, Malgas and Arniston. BUT, most of all, lots of RELAXING!! Wine tasting and country meandering are the order of the day.We look forward to sharing our "berried treasure" with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wildebraam Berry Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebraam Berry Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.