We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That warm feeling of home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennant Wing

Pennant Wing
5 Swellengrebel Street., Swellendam 6470, South Africa
+27285143957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: open Tuesday to Saturday / closed Sunday and Monday
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That warm feeling of home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A friend and I happened to come upon Pennant Wing whilst wandering through Swellendam.

We were drawn in by the friendly smile of Louie and the aromas of fresh pastries. We glanced through their menu and found each option more attractive than the previous, also noting a fantastic display of the pastries which had initially brought us inside.

We had decided to consider our options for a moment, but were back very soon - seated and ordering their chicken wrap, which was delicious, delicately flavoured and affordable.

No time was wasted, though, in moving on to our original purpose:
I enjoyed a "Rocky Road", which was perfectly baked and carefully covered with chocolate and nuts. Their cappucino was fresh, well-prepared and everything that good coffee should be.

My friend enjoyed the most amazing baklava either of us had ever tasted and found their white hot-chocolate to be an absolute treat.

The meal, however, was only a part of what made the experience so special. Both Geoffrey and Louie made an enormous effort to serve and talk to each of their customers - ensuring that everyone was comfortable, warm enough and managing to access their wifi successfully.

We spoke for a good deal and they were probably the friendliest, most welcoming hosts that we have ever had the good fortune of meeting.

The visit made these strangers in Swellendam feel all the more at home and will definitely stand out as a highlight in my "coffee shop tourism" journal for many years to come.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food and hospitality to die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Food that is homely, delicious and made with love served with genuine friendship and style. Almost all the ingredients are sourced and grown locally to add that country touch. Highly recommended. Oh! and the coffee is very hot an top quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestreshire, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent cake and coffee plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were looking in the nearby quality shops and went into Pennant Wing to see they had for sale as it looked interesting and different.In the small shop they had lots of high quality products for the home mostly hand crafted on he premises and many were small enough to take home as unusual gifts. To our surprise we saw that they also served light lunches and coffee, cakes and pastries. These also were home made and when we decided to indulge we were delighted. Service was friendly and we were made to feel like guests. Linen napkins were placed on our laps, the excellent coffee arrived piping hot and the baklava might have come direct from a master chef in Greece-they were to die for. The other cakes looked just as inviting and soooooo tempting. Our purchases were wrapped whilst we were indulging, each package carefully wrapped and tied with its own little ribbon.The attention to detail exuded and was obviously important to Geoffrey and Louis, the proprietors. When the bill it came showed excellent value for money for everything. A great place to call into in Swellandam.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam
1 review
“Best coffee shop with the best people! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Warm, lovely place with the most amazing people! always feels so welcome and special when I've visited. and the food is amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Savoury Muffins & Homemade Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a great place to stop at for a light lunch, the savoury muffins were delicious, or just a drink. There is a good choice of homemade cakes. It is an interesting place to browse around with all sorts of things like cushion covers, table cloths, aprons, soft toys for sale, all made on the premises.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennant Wing also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Pennant Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennant Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.