We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoury Muffins & Homemade Cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennant Wing

Pennant Wing
5 Swellengrebel Street., Swellendam 6470, South Africa
+27285143957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: open Tuesday to Saturday / closed Sunday and Monday
Manchester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Savoury Muffins & Homemade Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a great place to stop at for a light lunch, the savoury muffins were delicious, or just a drink. There is a good choice of homemade cakes. It is an interesting place to browse around with all sorts of things like cushion covers, table cloths, aprons, soft toys for sale, all made on the premises.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You can have your cake and eat it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were staying at Bontebok National Park, enjoying the excellent bird life there. On a slightly grey morning we decided to visit South Africa's 3rd formed town - Swellendam. As it was nearing coffee time how would we choose? We spotted two plump and very happy ladies laughing outside Pennantwing, we thought they were a good advert!
Geoff greeted us with a whisk of his hand revealing the most delicious looking pastries, scones and cakes from under the fly netting curtain. We chose a muffin and chocolate and orange cake and cappuccinos. These were produced on beautiful wooden platters, topped by china plates with the tantalising delicacies. The final flourish was Geoff and Louis flicking their own make of white napkins on to our laps! They helped us with local info, producing books, phoning the local museum and even finding a bird guide for us who came immediately to the restaurant to help us.
When we walked past a couple if hours later the cafe was buzzing with people and delicious looking lunches.
Not just a delicious morning break but a real experience. You must go there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicous pastries & boutique coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As guesthouse owners in Swellendam, we try to send guests to lovely little places that we can feel comfortable consistently recommending. Pennantwing is one of those places. Geoff & Louis hand craft the most delicious pastries, bakes & café-style meals and serve them themselves. Not only do they have a continuous flow of locals, whom they greet by name, but guests that stop especially in Swellendam on their way to Cape Town or the Garden Route. Do give them a try and whilst you're there, shop for lovely little gifts or knickknacks for your home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Good humoured, excellent service, accompanied by extraordinary pastries at reasonable prices makes pennant wings a great find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rare find, gifts, excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Pennantwing in Swellendam is one of those rare finds in the Overberg. This place caters light meals and offer handmade gifts with a difference.
The food is fine dine quality with the service to compliment the setting.
I can highly recomend a visit for the traveler who is looking for something special.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennant Wing also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Pennant Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennant Wing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.