We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Hilltop Country Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Hilltop Country Retreat to your Saves list
A Hilltop Country Retreat
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
“Wonderful spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for one night (Sat). We had a very warm & friendly check in with an offer to book dinner for us at their local favorite restaurant. The room was lovely, clean and furnished with everything one could need including firewood for the room fireplace, complimentary sherry & risks. The bed linen and towels were high quality and the King sized bed a real treat. It was right on the edge of the mountain allowing for mountain walks and a hop and a skip from Marloth Park. It would also be a great spot for 6 couples to come together as there is a Braai area and so much to do all close at hand.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a very comfortable stay at A Hilltop Country Retreat and we will certainly be back. In fact, we have already made another booking! We stayed in Room 6 with our boys, aged 9 and 11 and found it very comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need but it is fairly small and there is no oven. This was not a problem for us and we understood exactly what facilities we were getting. So, if you are looking for a long term, full self catering facility then it may not be for you. If you are looking for a friendly welcoming into Swellendam and comfortable accommodation with a touch of country luxury then this is it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Would go back here in a heartbeat. Wish we were there longer.
Restful location a short drive from Swellendam town. The rooms are BEAUTIFULLY decorated. There are braai facilities, a little pool to cool off in and efficient staff.

Room Tip: It was a family holiday and we were spread across three rooms. All of which were unique and differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When arriving there, an amount of money had been deducted from my credit card from paybridge accommodation ( www.nightsbridge.co.za ) which is the company they work with. I had reserved several hotels through this system and I thought this was one of them. When enquiring about this situation, I was told that they had nothing to do with nightsbridge!!!???? and that they did not received any money and it was me the one having to sort it out, even though the booking was made directly in their website. I was told that nightsbridge never takes any money, which is not true, they do ( and due to this misinformation I called my bank to block the credit card thinking there could be some kind of fraud ). It all happened to be a misunderstanding but I felt I had to fix it all by myself, not helpful at all.
On the other hand, you have to make your own breakfast, which was something we found out once we were there.
The pool was full of caterpillars and not very clean either.
Nevertheless, the place is nice if you are looking for some tranquility.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHilltop, Manager at A Hilltop Country Retreat, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Jesus booked through Nightsbridge. He booked just a few days before arrival and no deposit was taken from his credit card. Jesus e-mailed us on the 28th of January, telling us he booked 2 guest houses and not sure which one he has paid for. We e-mailed back to confirm that no deposit was taken by us and he can pay on arrival.

On arrival, Jesus didn't want to pay for his accommodation. We tried to explain that no payment was taken by us and that he had to pay in full. His Credit Card didn't work so the person travelling with him had to pay.

We apologized for any inconvenience, but we couldn't let him stay for free as no payment was taken. We keep proof of all payments, and this has never been a problem.

Regarding the breakfast, we have self-catering options available and we offer self-catering accommodation. This is clearly stated on our website. We even have video's of each room on the website so guests knows exactly what to expect. Not sure why he didn'n know....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent a week at Hilltop and totally thoroughly enjoyed it. A FIRST CLASS place to stay, the best service I have experienced in a long time. Rooms are cleaned EVERY single day with clean and fresh towels also everyday. Whatever your need is, the staff try to accommodate without hesitation. Beautifully situated on top of the hillside!
Definitely would recommend it and definitely will stay again if ever in the area. REALLY REALLY LOVELY!

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thank You A Hilltop. Greated by friendly staff on arrival. Amazing rooms, great customer service friendly staff who look after you. Great braai facilities for each room. Small dip pool to cool off. Pool about 1m deep tops. All that is needed. Tucked away very quiet resort. Only 6 rooms. We cannot wait to come back. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiselton, uk.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in November and were very surprised to see a previous negative review and would have to say I found it hard to recognise the place that was being described!
The website clearly shows each room and its layout as well as its position within swellendam, our room was beautiful with good quality bedding, towels and everything you may need for a self catering stay - I particularly liked the fact that the ground coffee and other things were topped up everyday.
The weekend we stayed there was torrential rain but the house had loads of DVD's that can be borrowed.
It would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Hilltop Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hilltop Country Retreat

Address: 7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Hilltop Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star luxury self-catering accommodation on a superb location. A Hilltop Country Retreat is located in the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, yet close to the town centre, where you get the best of both worlds ... 360' views and no traffic. A Hilltop Country Retreat offers a complete experience far superior to that of a mere stop-over. Our rooms are spacious and luxurious featuring finishes and furniture made by local entrepreneurs and artists. The delightful calabash radios, created by South African artist Soloman, are just one of the beautiful, unique and mostly handmade elements we have chosen to enrich your stay. Our accommodation offers great value for money. All the rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and fully equipped self-catering kitchens. You can dine inside or on the patio while enjoying the magnificent and inspiring view of the Langeberg Mountains and the town below. Pick some fresh herbs from our garden to prepare your own special meal or dine out at one of the many exquisite restaurants Swellendam has to offer. Here you can relax and unwind surrounded by breathtaking landscapes in a restful environment far from the hustle and bustle, but convenient to Swellendam's many attractions. A Hilltop Country Retreat treats you to high standards of hospitality throughout, but it's also a great base for trips and excursions. Book today, and come and experience the delights A Hilltop Country Retreat has to offer. We offer guests the option of a fully stocked fridge for breakfast, so you can enjoy your morning meal in the privacy of your own room or patio whenever it suits you. Breakfast includes: bacon, eggs, tomato, toast, butter, jam, muesli, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea, sugar, milk and a variety of fruit. **DSTV now available in all the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your A Hilltop Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Hilltop Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.