We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Excellent Remote Getaway. Totally recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Hilltop Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Hilltop Country Retreat to your Saves list
A Hilltop Country Retreat
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A+ Excellent Remote Getaway. Totally recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Thank You A Hilltop. Greated by friendly staff on arrival. Amazing rooms, great customer service friendly staff who look after you. Great braai facilities for each room. Small dip pool to cool off. Pool about 1m deep tops. All that is needed. Tucked away very quiet resort. Only 6 rooms. We cannot wait to come back. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chiselton, uk.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in November and were very surprised to see a previous negative review and would have to say I found it hard to recognise the place that was being described!
The website clearly shows each room and its layout as well as its position within swellendam, our room was beautiful with good quality bedding, towels and everything you may need for a self catering stay - I particularly liked the fact that the ground coffee and other things were topped up everyday.
The weekend we stayed there was torrential rain but the house had loads of DVD's that can be borrowed.
It would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just had overnight stay at Country Retreat and enjoyed the whole experience. We had a large well equipped airy room with lovely veranda. Lots of cooking facilities fridge full of food for breakfast. Towels were datasheets. Large comfortable bed all in all a superb stay in delightful setting beautiful views.
J & H. York. England

Room Tip: We had a garden family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

First and foremost , a big shout out to Jane, who went out of her way to make us feel welcome after such a long drive . Weather was not great , however the room was warm and comfy and had everything we could ask for , DVD's , magazines and books were provided to make up for the weather . We had great breakfast the next morning , and spent most of the day under the covers , which in all honesty is exactly why i came down to Swellendam in the first place .

Thank you so much for making us feel welcome and making our stay so pleasant ( even tho the weather did not help )

Definitely coming back again , feeling so relaxed and peaceful today at work ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The website indicates this property is a retreat in a. Secluded location, it is on a hilltop, but in a residential area. It's advertised as luxury self catering, but there is little in the way of luxury and the self catering facilities are basic and ill equipped. The room is tiny and houses the bedroom, dining and kitchen facility. The bed linen is good quality, but the other soft furnishings are generic low cost and have no style at all. The bathroom is cute and rustic, but badly designed, the wet room style shower head is placed above 2 steps, if you stand in them it's too high if you don't you have to twist your body to be under the shower head. They leave only two one tiny towel per person. The tv only has basic Chanel's. The kitchen only very basic facilities, impossible to cook a meal. We paid extra for the 'fridge to be filled with breakfast' it was over priced and mean, for two there were 4 slices of bread, 4 small pats of butter, 2 tomatoes, 4 slices of bacon (such poor quality we decided against eating it) 2 low cost small yogurt and some granola in a plastic bag. It was how I imagined rationing was in the war, not what I was expecting from a so called luxury retreat! The only good thing about the whole experience was the housekeeper Jane, who was charming and helpful. We won't be returning, we felt totally ripped off by an overpriced commercial enterprise. We stay in guest houses in South Africa to get a personalised experience this was a dreadful let down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHilltop, Owner at A Hilltop Country Retreat, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We regret that this guest was unhappy with the stay at our facility. We pride ourselves in offering value for money.

Unfortunately the weather was poor due to severe rain and floods which we suspect impacted on most people visiting Swellendam.

Location: Our website clearly indicate our location in a residential area on the top of the hill in the last street of town.

The units: We recommend guests always look at the photos and videos of the units before booking as it clearly shows the open plan layout of the unit. This particular unit is 8 x 4.5 meters in size (excluding the bathroom and walk-in cupboard). We would gladly have upgraded the guest to a bigger room if we knew the unit was too small for her.

The bathroom: the steps are to make it easier for a lady to shave her legs and to place any additional personal bathroom items on. We have not had a complaint about this particular showerhead being too high but will follow up on this issue.

Towels: we place a hand towel per guest as well as a bath sheet per guest. Guests can request additional towels at any stage should the provided towels not be adequate.

Cooking: Guests normally use the braai facilities for cooking but this particular weekend due to the severe rain it was impossible to use the outside facilities. Any suggestions on how to improve it would be most welcome.

The breakfast: guests can always request additional items. We support local suppliers that mean we are reliant on products stocked by them. Our bacon is prime cut and top quality. Muesli used to be stocked in beautiful glass containers but unfortunately many guests took these with them and we had to replace the glass with a sealable ziplock bag.

The TV: all rooms have a DVD player and we have a wide selection of DVDs and books that guests can use at any time. We are currently investigating DSTV as an additional offering. Note: we do not advertise DSTV as being available.

As a principle we always try to support local artisans and manufacturers – this means various handmade items that might not be to everyone’s taste.

The guest is welcome to contact me directly (owner) and we will gladly offer her one night free stay in one of our bigger rooms on suitable date
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location, with great views and removed from the bustle of a busy life. In sun or rain, there is no better place to unwind. Comfortable and tastefully designed rooms, as well as great service makes this a gem in Swellendam.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at A Hilltop Country Retreat was a real 'treat'. The welcome from Jane on the Friday evening when we arrived was nothing but warm and friendly and, when she showed us our room, we were absolutely taken back by the rugged yet charming decor and comfort. All the necessities that we required were at our fingertips. The e-mails to and from Lana to arrange our weekend away was also friendly and efficient. We loved our stay there and will definitely be returning in the very near future. A truly lovely establishment!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - we had a look for our next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Hilltop Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hilltop Country Retreat

Address: 7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Hilltop Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star luxury self-catering accommodation on a superb location. A Hilltop Country Retreat is located in the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, yet close to the town centre, where you get the best of both worlds ... 360' views and no traffic. A Hilltop Country Retreat offers a complete experience far superior to that of a mere stop-over. Our rooms are spacious and luxurious featuring finishes and furniture made by local entrepreneurs and artists. The delightful calabash radios, created by South African artist Soloman, are just one of the beautiful, unique and mostly handmade elements we have chosen to enrich your stay. Our accommodation offers great value for money. All the rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and fully equipped self-catering kitchens. You can dine inside or on the patio while enjoying the magnificent and inspiring view of the Langeberg Mountains and the town below. Pick some fresh herbs from our garden to prepare your own special meal or dine out at one of the many exquisite restaurants Swellendam has to offer. Here you can relax and unwind surrounded by breathtaking landscapes in a restful environment far from the hustle and bustle, but convenient to Swellendam's many attractions. A Hilltop Country Retreat treats you to high standards of hospitality throughout, but it's also a great base for trips and excursions. Book today, and come and experience the delights A Hilltop Country Retreat has to offer. We offer guests the option of a fully stocked fridge for breakfast, so you can enjoy your morning meal in the privacy of your own room or patio whenever it suits you. Breakfast includes: bacon, eggs, tomato, toast, butter, jam, muesli, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea, sugar, milk and a variety of fruit. **DSTV now available in all the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your A Hilltop Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Hilltop Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.