We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love love the fresh goods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderbraam Berry Estate

Wilderbraam Berry Estate
Hermitage Valley S4, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
27(0)28 5143132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Attractions in Swellendam
Type: Specialty Shops, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“love love love the fresh goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A breath of fresh air with awesome free tastings of all their locally grown preserves, jams, liqueurs and sauces. Loved the vibe, the friendly attendant, the cosy fire blazing in the background and the goods on sale. Bought lotsa fresh goodies to take home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fun tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The farm is only about 2 or 3 kilometers outside of the town and it was easy to find. The farm has a beautiful view of the mountains. We started by tasting the 9 different liqueurs. My favourites were the Guava and Peppermint. Then we tried some of the relishes and chutneys. It was fun to try the different items and we left with a box full of goodies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Berry delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Situated just outside the town of Swellendam - this farm has the most intriguing combination of jams / chutneys / spicy condiments and an assortment of liquid refreshments - all locally produces - left there with a heavy packet of goodies for home

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A Black Berry Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visited the farm with my wife and 11 year-old in Dec. Must say it a great experience for us city folks as we were free to roam around all the berry patches in the estate. Blackberry were in season and you can eat all you want off the bushes. You are only charged by weight for the berries you take away. Spent over an hour eating black berries and bought another 1/2 kg for the drive back to Cape Town. The home-made jams, syrups and liquers are very unique and really tasty. I ended up buying a mid-sized box of them to bring home as gifts.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great family or couple getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can recommend a stay at Wilderbraam Berry Orchard for a small family or a couple. We stayed in River Cottage which was cute, separate from other cottages, very quiet and next to a little river. The cottage was contained with all the requirements for a self-catering weekend away. There is a fire place inside the cottage, in the open plan kitchen area. Wood is supplied. The cottage is walking distance from the cellar. There is dirt road to the cottage, but it is suitable for a normal car, as long as you drive slowly. The shower was very hot and it would have been nicer if it had a shower door and not a curtain. Wilderbraam will be a great to use as a reasonably priced base to explore the Underberg, Swellendam, Montagu, Barrydale, Drew area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderbraam Berry Estate also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Wilderbraam Berry Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderbraam Berry Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.