We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Field and fork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Field & Fork

Field & Fork
26 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam, South Africa
+27 28 514 3430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Field & Fork derives its name from the culinary vision of bringing locally sourced quality produce from the field to your table. Chef and owner Francois du Rand, serves these ingredients with a great passion for food and a dash of French flair. Field & Fork is located in Swellendam's heritage area and forms part of the Drostdy Museum. Steeped in history and oozing character, this restaurant brings you modern style bistro food with panache.The menu is small and changes often but caters for all palates.Our wines as our food, are only sourced locally from award winning wineries. Welcome to the Field & Fork. Opening hours: Mondays to Saturdays from 5pm for drinks and 6pm for dinner service.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Field and fork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a most fabulous dinner at the Field and Fork restaurant in Swellendam. The service was great and the setting very warm and welcoming. The restaurant is part of the Drosdy Museum building, but is owned by chef Francois du Rand. It's a definite must to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    59
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swellendam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have a guesthouse in Swellendam , and we are very proud of the variety and quality provided by the restaurants in our town. It is important to us that our guests experience the best on offer. We unreservedly recommend this wonderful restaurant; we have been several times and have never been disappointed. Tonight we went to a special (local) wine tasting and dinner - and had a sublime evening. The food is beautifully prepared, cooked and presented, the staff are professional, yet warm and welcoming. The ambience is great, small rooms in a historical building, so it is intimate but not claustrophobic. Well worth five stars, and can match a culinary experience anywhere!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, but please can we have more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

great food and the staff were great! We chose the 3 course set menu and i must say the food was deliscious. Our only complaint was the portions were small, therefor we left hungry. Bigger portions and more value for the price would have meant this would be a 5, instead of a 4.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I ate there in early October 2012 on a reccommendation of the owner of the Braeside Guest house. The reccommendation was not misplaced. The meal was first class as was the service. It was good value for the price. It is located in one of the local museum's outbuildings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We could have been in France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Field and Fork on the recommendation of our hostess at the Aan de Oever Guesthouse and we were not disappointed. We went for dinner.
It is located in Swellendam's heritage district and has a charm of its own. Seating is in 2 rooms seperated by the reception area. This gives a intimate atmosphere to the historic building. The menu is small, but exquisite and decisions are difficult! All food and wines are locally sourced and the bistro style restaurant rightly prides itself on the quality of its ingredients. The menu changes often and you can choose either a 3 course set menu or a la carte. We decided on a la carte and both opted for duck breast.Praying that it wouldn't be overcooked we were delighted to find it pinkly perfest. It was served on a bed of mashed potato, beautifully braised red cabbage, wilted spinach and a blackberry and sherry wine jus. I followed this with a rich, smooth, sinful dark chocolate cup with white chocolate shavings and an almond cookie. My husband decided on hid favourite creme brulee; smooth and rich with a crunchy topping.
In terms of cooking and presentation, the French influence on young chef and owner Francois de Rand is obvious. Despite his name he is not French!
We were served by the delightful Megan, helpful and knowledgeable with a ready giggle she added to the charm of the evening. We decided to return the next evening for our 25th Wedding Anniversary meal.
For our celebratory meal, we again chose from a la carte and decided to have 3 courses. We both started with West Coast Black Mussels, steamed in white wine and served with a lemon cream. These were plump perfection. Next came roasted free range loin of pork with apple and sweet potato, leek and prune fricassee and a mustard cream jus. As good as it sounds. My desert was strawberry yoghurt and Madagascan vanilla panna cotta. Superb. My husband had vanilla ice cream with toffee sauce and toasted almonds. Wicked!
On both evenings our wine was a local sauvignon. Fresh and crisp. After our meal, chef came to our table and we had a foodie conversation.
Thank you Field and Fork. We want to come back and eat our way through all the menu!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Field & Fork also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Field & Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Field & Fork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.