We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter warmer's delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drostdy Restaurant

Drostdy Restaurant
Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa (Formerly Sabine's Drostdy Restaurant)
+27 28 514 3825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Swellendam
Cuisines: Belgian, Continental, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Winter warmer's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

When it's freezing outside and you are looking for a home cooked meal away from home, this Drostdy Restaurant is the place to go.

Friendly service and an excellent selection of hearty meals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    25
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“had the best time at drostdy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Myself and my friend visited the Drostdy Restaurant for the first time on Sunday 13th of April

Being curious and loving history, we took a walk threw the restaurant, wanting to know more about the history of the building, the food and the beautiful interior with its coke-a-cola display, where the Owners Christo and Rika, were more than happy to answer our million questions:)

We were treated like family by the owners who knew nothing about us, the service and hospitality we received was of utmost excellence, and I will definitely recommend The Drostdy Restaurant to anyone who loves the tranquility of nature, historical buildings, beautiful interior, good food and best service in Swellendam.

Thank you very much to Rika and Christo xxx

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Arriving late into swellendam, most restaurants were either full or closed. Luckily for us Drostdy was open and welcoming. The buildings have a very interesting past, plenty of oldie pics tell the story. Christo's Coca Cola collection is very interesting and covers my years of searching. The food was very hearty... tasty, nicely presented with generous portions and fresh ingredients. Recommend the calamari and also the pork fillet with leek and mushrooms cream sauce. We recommend for a cosy meal although not a gastronomic adventure. A trully good stop to any trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skarhamn, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ratings must be from previous owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We tried almost all main courses. African trio, pasta, meat etc and all we were not at all satisfied. Bobotie was dry, pasta overcocked, the wienersnitzel not tender etc. Not a place you go for a nice meal more or less a place to end utp in when all other restaurants in Swellendam are full.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Credit card stolen by waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

In November 2013 I visited this place to have dinner with my family. After the dinner, we discovered that our credit card had been stolen by the waiter that 'helped' us. R16000 was withdrawn within the next hour. Unfortunately, the owner of Drostdy does not take any responsibility for the actions of his waiter. Not his problem. All money is gone. Too bad for me.

I would therefore recommend to skip this restaurant. There are lots of nice alternatives along the road.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drostdy62, Owner at Drostdy Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Just to set the record straight regarding the stolen credit card
1. We immediately phoned the client to stop their credit card. Their response was "hmm, maybe it is a good idea".
2. We went looking for the culprit and handed him over to the police, they took him for questioning and found some cash on him. However, they let him go due to lack of evidence.
3. This person started as a casual (student for a holiday job).
4. It is every cardholders responsibility to keep his card as well as his pin safe at all times. It is absolutely impossible for any business to be responsible for each and every client's card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drostdy Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Drostdy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drostdy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.