We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation with stunning mountain scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaikou Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gaikou Lodge to your Saves list
Gaikou Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 Berg Street, Swellendam, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation with stunning mountain scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We couldn’t believe how nice this place was when we rolled up the driveway. Absolutely beautiful grounds with a stunning mountain backdrop. The grounds are extensive, with nice grassy lawns in all directions, beautiful gardens, lots of space. The several units on the property are all modern and practically designed – very comfortable and luxurious. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment and were blown away by how nice it was. We didn’t want to leave! The open plan living/dining/kitchen area opened out onto a large covered patio with awesome views of the mountains behind. The bedrooms are huge with very nice bathrooms. The bathtub forms the boundary between the bathroom and the rest of the bedroom – nice views right out of the tub. The bedrooms open out onto the back patio as well. The place was immaculately clean and well cared for and we had a lovely, quiet, undisturbed sleep. Also, the free Wifi internet connection was a real bonus (we generally won’t stay in places that don’t provide free Wifi)

The host, Paula, greeted us warmly and was very helpful and welcoming. There are no evening meals served however there is a good variety of places to eat just a short drive away in town. We opted for some delicious pizza at Woodpeckers – highly recommended. The breakfast at the lodge was great – tasty and nicely presented.

Well done to the Gaikou Lodge! We would definitely recommend this to all other travelers looking for a restful and relaxing retreat in Swellendam. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Lovely place. Beautiful and peaceful. Needs a fireplace though... lovely scenery when its not raining and overcast. Would be nice to have an onsite restaurant. Breakfast good. Environment good. Units excellent. Great stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The moment we got to this place we couldn't believe how beautiful it was. We decided to stay there to break our drive from Cape Town to Knysna in two, as Swellendam is at about half way.
We wanted just a nice place to rest after and before the long drive but we got so much more. The rooms are very large, there being 2 per house. The entire thing is located at the feet of the mountains and there's only nature surrounding you.
Each room is equipped with a flat screen tv, a huge bed, a couch, a bathroom with a shower and a tub in the middle of the room. This tub made a great difference as we could just lie there and watch tv while relaxing.
Breakfast is served in the main house. Standard B&B food - granola, yoghurt, fruit and your choice of hot breakfast. All prepared nicely and cleanly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The peace and quiet was just what the doctor ordered!
Given the picturesque mountain views and harmonious setting, I thought a light lunch on my private veranda would be awesome. I did not feel like going to town in the midst of the hustle and bustle. Unfortunately they do not serve light lunches at the lodge. Which is really unfortunate, because what could be better than enjoying a glass of wine and a cheese/ charcuterie platter on the veranda…and maximise your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way from the west coast to Knysna. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed by Paula on arrival and from that moment on it was like we were home, we chose this spot because my Husband is obsessed with fishing and the lodge has 2 small dams on site stocked with bass. While the fish were not huge they were active and kept him busy for a couple of hours in the evening and in the morning before breakfast. We asked for some ice as we sat by the dam and he fished we were promptly brought a complimentary cheese platter to go with our wine and given menus for some restaurants in town.

Breakfast the following day was amazing as well. We only ate the continental part (fresh fruit salad, croissants, cereal, tea and coffee) though there was a hot breakfast option as well. Our rate was BnB.

The room is large and beautifully decorated with very thoughtful touches like DVDs and a player and blankets on the stoep to enjoy the evening with. We had a great evening, wishing it was longer, I cannot stress how amazing Paula was, taking an interest in us and being completely welcoming but not overwhelmingly so.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The lodges are just beautiful, luxurious, comfortable, lovely patio and scenery breath taking The breakfast on the terrace was excellent and staff very pleasant. On the outskirts of town which onky added to its charm

Room Tip: all lodges lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March 2013! What an amazing place to stay. Outstanding service, breakfast and accommodation. Wonderful facilities. We will definitely go back. Perfect place for children, my older son had a great time fishing with my husband. Staff there are excellent and extremely accommodating to all our requests!

Room Tip: Family room (two rooms, two bathrooms, lounge and small kitchen) perfect for a family. Accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaikou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaikou Lodge

Address: 69 Berg Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaikou Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaikou Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaikou Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.